It has to be hot enough.

It has been a slightly chilly day and a weak wind has helped to make it even colder than it is. It has however been rather easy to avoid the wind so it has been rather nice, especially since the sun has shone quite a lot as well. Not that the sun gives away especially much heat but the mind is great in playing tricks with us, isn’t it 🙂 Still that doesn’t help much indoors so I have a fire burning in the stove.

Song swans or as You call them Trumpet swans.

                                                                                                                           

My Yule cards have arrived and the first ones will be mailed on Monday morning. Can’t remember when I actually was doing this in such good time before 🙂 The motive was an easy choice this year so that’s the main reason I can start already now.

 

I haven’t thought about what christmas present I’ll give myself this year. I don’t want another old camera because I like to use all I’ve bought and it is hard enough with the ones I already have 🙂 🙂 I’ve never bought one just because I like how it looks and to be honest I really don’t have any space to place them if I had wanted to do like that, they would only be covered in dust pretty fast 🙂 (the joy of using a fire stove 🙂 ).

 

I actually didn’t see those Roe deers when I took the photo 🙂 I didn’t notice them until the photo had been downloaded into my computer 🙂

I could of course buy something I need but I would do that anyway and that wouldn’t be especially fun either 🙂 Well I still have time even if it is less than one month to Christmas eve which is our big day at Christmas. I did see this big box of my favorite candies from Quality Street, it weighs 1,2 kg (2,6 lb) but that might be a bit much even for me 🙂 🙂 🙂

 

Today I’ll make pancakes but the stove needs to be hot enough and that takes some time. I might even make some rice porridge or gnome porridge as we also call it later today if I still have a fire in the stove, that takes at least  minutes to do so it’s always best to start early. It works perfectly to save that porridge till next day just in case one isn’t hungry when it finally is made 🙂

 

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “It has to be hot enough.

  1. Yes, if you read books about using wood in a stove none of them seem to mention the constant dust! I love my stove, but I’m trying to think of a way to keep the dust down a bit.

    Like

    1. Hi skyeent!

      Yes it is odd that they tend to forget that 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I’m not sure there is a way to reduce the dust, we’ll just have to live with it I guess 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Christer,
    Lovely photos of frosty weather. 🙂

    I think I haven’t got a good photo for Christmas cards this year. I still have leftovers from previous years so perhaps I will use them again. I’ll have to think on it.
    But I’ve started my Christmas shopping. That’s a step in the right direction. 🙂

    Christmas is for stuff you want not stuff you need. Unless you really want the stuff you need. That’s okay.

    Today was very sunny with a slight breeze. Quite nice to be outside. It didn’t help in the house, though, so I turned the heat up a degree.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      It was rather nice even though it was a bit chilly 🙂

      I wish I had saved some of my old christmas cards from back in the days, they were rather popular 🙂 I use older cards if I can’t find a new photo, after all they tend to cost a lot so why not use them?

      I agree, why buy something one must buy later anyway unless as You say it is because one really want it. That candy box is still on the top of my list 🙂 🙂

      I started a fire in the stove now this morning but not for long, I’ll save that for the evening instead. It is a raw feelöing in the air today and a fire takes car of that 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Skulle beställa julkort i veckan, men det visade sig att jag inte hade nĂĄgot bra kort. Det jag hade tänkt pĂĄ Santos hade alldeles för fĂĄ pixlar, sĂĄ nu mĂĄste jag ta ett nytt! SĂĄ det var bra att jag blev pĂĄmind….. 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    Like

  4. Hi Christer,
    We haven’t had a frost yet. When I do, I love how the blades of grass have a frosting of ice and how they crunch when I walked on them. I do hate having to clear off the windshield and side windows.

    This time of year I have been told by my two sisters I am to buy nothing for myself . They are always looking for gift ideas for presents to buy for me. I feel the same way about them. I have asked for ideas of what they might like but haven’t had any answers yet.

    I think I’m close in finishing my shopping but I won’t know until I write everything down. That is my first and only task for this week.

    I hope you have a great Monday!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      I don’t think they even have been close to frost in my old home town either since it is just by the ocean. It is a totally different world up here and sometimes it is hard to believe it’s the same country (in so many ways 🙂 🙂 ). I like frost and fog when I don’t have to use the car 🙂 🙂

      We have so different taste in my family and we are so lousy in guessing what everyone else wants so I made us stop buying presents for Christmas. It’s better we spend that money on things we like for our selves instead.

      Have a great day.

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.