I only took a few photos this morning but I have loads I’ve taken earlier.

We’ll have much the same weather here today as we had yesterday but it’ll be warmer and we might even get to see the sun they say. The wind is just barely strong enough to make the leafs in the apple tree move some. It is actually quite nice outside right now and the sheep keep baaaing but I have no idea why.

 

I did some laundry as soon as we came home from our morning walk and it is now hanging outside to dry. According to the swedish weather site we’re having a very low humidity but I have to say that it just feels the opposite. I have no hurry to get the clothes dry though so it can hang there for several days if needed.

 

I really should mow the lawn today but why destroy these last days of vacation when I can skip it and do it next week instead πŸ™‚ The grass grows very uneven, some places it hasn’t grown at all despite all the rain and in other places it has grown a lot. Looking out over the fields when being out walking I see that it has barely grown at all but it does look much more green now.

 

I have a yellow Phalaenopsis orchid (I read that it is called Moth orchid in English and we call them Bride’s orchid here in Sweden)that needed to be replanted in a bigger pot and this time I found a rather ugly but practical hanging flowerpot. We always see the flower stalks growing upwards but in nature they’re always hanging down. This hanging flowerpot is made for hanging outdoors so it has lots of holes in the bottom to let all excess water out, just like orchids like it and since I always dip the pot in water for twenty minutes I’ll do the same here. This will either fail miserably or if it works I’ll have a magnificent orchid in a few years πŸ™‚

 

Four taken with the Contaflex. Sometimes I’m not sure what it is I found interesting enough to photograph πŸ™‚

It is time for a pot of tea and after that a little nap I think. Sooner or later the dogs will want to go for a walk again so I better take the nap now before they start complaining πŸ™‚

 

Four taken with the Contessa.

Poor Nova, her eyes were itching so badly this spring before I changed her food, now they don’t itch at all πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

6 thoughts on “

  1. Hi Christer,
    I love the photo of the single poppy glowing in front of the shovel and the lovely blue-ish wall. The colors and textures and the one glowing poppy really make the photo. Also, that’s a magnificent looking thistle. All mine just grow in single stalks.

    The photographs that make us wonder why we took them are probably ones we took because there was a quality of light in the scene that we tried and failed to capture. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it. πŸ™‚

    I have three phalaenopsis orchids but only one is flowering. The flowers are strait-jacketed on stakes in the pot. They’ll have to be that way because I have no suitable place to hang orchids. The other two orchids are growing leaves and air roots. If your orchid survives and thrives, post some photos so we can see how it should be done.

    Bits of my grass got weed-whacked yesterday and this time I remembered to do the area that bothered me. Yay me! πŸ™‚

    The weather here is blah. There was something I wanted to photograph in the yard but, of course, I did not do it yesterday when I saw it. I was too busy. This morning the light was really awful. Lesson learned. Do it when you see it. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the tea and the nap and the rest of the day.

    Like

    1. Hi caryn!

      I’m so glad that he hasn’t moved that shovel yet, helps a lot to get those photos πŸ™‚

      I must admit that I do like those thistles, at least as long as they don’t grow in my garden. The thorns break easily and are alomost impossible to remove again πŸ™‚ They are easy ti kill though, I just pour half a teaspoon with salt right in the middle of them while they still are small, they’ll die within six days πŸ™‚

      I’m going with that explanatio too πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I have one hook in the entire cottage that works with a hanging basket πŸ™‚ I’ve only seen how those flowers hang down in tv and it looks rather great so I do hope this one will survive, I have a tendency to kill them when replanting them πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Congratulations to remember to weed-hack that place πŸ™‚

      It has been a meh day weather wise here, no wind, no sunshine but no rain either.
      Yes one should always do it as soon as one see it, for some reason one will never get the right light again πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. I had an orchid that I bought for very cheap money in a big box store. It was planted in a half gallon plastic ice cream tub. Very cheap. πŸ™‚ It bloomed repeatedly for several years but then the roots split the plastic tub open. I had to repot it. I used the orchid medium and put it in a nice pot with excellent drainage. It thanked me by croaking. 😦 May you have much better luck with yours.

        Like

      2. I don’t know why but they do often give up after repotting. It doesn’t matterif one does it axactky as one should, they just die πŸ™‚ This time I just put the clump of roots and medium in the middle and poured the new medium around it, so now all I can do is to hope for the best πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. Christer,
    My sister is Colorado is having strange weather. Usually this time of year everything is brown, but this year everything is still green. They have had really hot days and really chilly days and more rain than usual. I think we are having a chilly August.

    I have some cedar window boxes and several clay pots on the deck. They are mostly annuals in the clay pots though there are some perennial herbs in a couple of the boxes. I have planted catnip as it repels mosquitos but this year we haven’t had many mosquitos. Basil, lavender and chives are also in the deck boxes.

    My lawn gets cut and the edges are weed-whacked. They also blow the deck clean which I love as it makes the deck perfect for movie night.

    Have a great day!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      June, July and August is usually our most rainy months and it has been the opposite this year and even last year as well. It’s only because of these last rains things still are green here. We’ve had more or less the same temperature all summer and the heatwave we had was already in May, very odd πŸ™‚

      I have mosly tomato plants in my pots but also a few pelargoniums and a few small citrus trees. None of them have liked this summer’s weather. Like You we’ve had very few mosquitos, instead we got zillions of flies.

      It has been so dry here that the grass didn’t grow πŸ™‚ Now it has but only in spots here and there and naturally the most towards the gravel road πŸ™‚

      Hasve a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

