It’s meh weather again.

It’s meh weather today, they say we might bet some sunshine but mostly just cloudy and windy and we’ll most likely not reach 20C (68F). It would have been nice with a sunny day but I’m ok with this too.

 

We’ve had an unusually cool and dry summer this year, perfect for me I must admit 🙂 but it has been anything but good for my tomatoes. So far I can see two small green ones and that’s it. Summer isn’t over yet but I doubt that it’ll get much warmer in what’s left of it. It is a good thing that one doesn’t need pollinators to get tomatoes, just shake the flowers and they’ll do the job themselves, so that means that I can take them down into my cool cellar and turn on the greenhouse light, it’s strong enough to keep the temperature up down there (and no I haven’t started to build my greenhouse, I have the things but never comes around to it 🙂 ).

 

and then he saw us 🙂

I can see more and bigger flocks of both cranes and geese flying around now, they fly between the lakes and will most likely stay for as long as there is food enough and not too cold. They’ve seen at least one Black Stork by the lake this summer, they aren’t too common here but we did have two nesting couple some years ago but I haven’t heard if they ever came back here to nest again. I’ve heard that the White stork has made a comeback again, mostly because a big breeding program down south. The biggest problem wasn’t to get the storks to nest but the new ones didn’t understand that they had to move south for the winter. I guess they’ve solved that problem now days.

The cattle had broken in to the horse paddock yesterday and the horses weren’t happy about it.

 

I was thinking that I should clean up this mess I call home today but I think I’ll do tat tomorrow instead. I can’t have Nova in the cottage if I’ll use the vacuum (She’s a rescue and was beaten and tortured her entire first year with mostly the vacuum) so since I’ll go to the supermarket tomorrow morning and has to have the dogs in the dog yard anyway I can clean up here when they still are there anyway. Albin will complain loudly but that’s something he just has to take 🙂

 

I had decided not to use the old cameras so much here at home since I always photograph here anyway with my digital one, so naturally most photographs taken with these old cameras are from here 🙂 Here comes four photographs taken with the Contaflex.

It is time to make a pot of tea and after that we’ll take a walk again. We have lots of raspberries everywhere here so we’ll never run out of energy 🙂

 

Here are four taken with the Contessa.

Have a great day!

6 thoughts on “It’s meh weather again.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Strange to see people in your photos. But if the cows have invaded the horse pasture, people would have to be there to fix that.

    Nice cat. Unusual markings. He has an odd conformation and a bit of a snarled up lip, too. He looks disapproving. 🙂

    The photo of Albin in the garden is lovely. Minimal grass, I see. Good planning. 🙂

    The weather here is beautiful!. Sunny skies, cool breezes, low humidity. It’s only 64ºF. Perfect. For me anyway.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      I usually avoid photographing people but here they were the thing to see 🙂 I actually met a calf on the gravel road now when I was out walking, it seems the electric wires don’t work as they should and none of us have the number to the one owning them 🙂 I wouldn’t be suroprised if we have cows everywhere tomorrow 🙂

      Not so much planning freom my side, nature has helped a lot this summer 🙂 🙂

      I think we might have reached 68 today but it is so windy that it’s hard to tell and I can’t see the thermometer from here 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. hi christer! we are cool and cloudy here…my kind of weather! there s a big boat regatta on the river below me and the noise last night was awful. i’m sort of dragging today. i have had the worst tomato year ever and i am not sure why. i don’t think i amended my soil enough. i better use all new soil next year. did you hear that mona died?

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      I can imagine how noisy they were, regattas always are.

      Tomatoes are one of the few plants that loves to grow in cowmanure, the kind one can buy in bags. Unlike most plants they flower and give more fruit if they grow in very rich soil, other plants just grow till they die 🙂 Here it has been too cool and I was a bit late to be honest.

      No I didn’t know about Mona!I’ll miss the lady!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Först; Varför kan inte kor och hästar gå i samma hage!? Det är en fråga jag undrat över länge, men konstigt nog inte kommit mig för att fråga någon bonde. Jag har dock sett det en eller två gånger under åren, så totalt fel kan det inte vara – eller…..? 😦
    Just nu får jag minst ett tiotal tomater mogna varje dag, men tomatplantorna som växte i den stora odlingslådan längst in i växthuset (dom pyttesmå Bumble Bee) och bar mest har åkt ut. Hela plantan var totalt infekterad av bladlöss – men nu är dom borta! 🙂 🙂
    Istället kommer dom att dö av torka för vi ska på semester den här veckan. Är borta i 6 dagar och det grejar dom inte. Om det inte blir en regnperiod förstås! 😦
    Tomaterna i växthuset håller jag på att få till den automatiska droppbevattningen för – och dom kommer må riktigt bra. Men alla mina små krukor blir övervattnade, så idag måste jag göra något drastiskt. 😦 😦
    Jag ville börja med droppbevattningen redan för 14 dagar sen, för det tar lång tid att få till den. Men Rolle bara sköt på det hela – och jag förstår varför för det tog timmar att få upp den. Men…nu är den på plats och jag ska ut och försöka justera in den! 🙂 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    Like

    1. Hejsan Susie!

      I dettav fallet är det nog så att korna inte tillhör gården och trampade in på hästarnas revir. Men det är ju så att vissa djur inte gillar varandra, hästar och grisar är inte bra att ha intill varandra till exempel och det finns inte vildsvin i närheten av hästhagar till exempel. Men det går säkerligen att lära dem om man börjar när de är små.

      Jag har inte en aning om vilka sorter jag har, de lapparna försvann fort 🙂 Jag hoppas att du kan ställa in vattningsanordningen ordentligt innan ni ger er iväg! Det är väldigt ovanligt med bladlöss på tomater, det är nästan en bedrift att få det 🙂

      Jag håller tummarna för att du skall fixa till det bra!

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

