Everything looked fine.

We’re having a sunny and just enough cool morning (so the flies don’t fly around and annoys me or all the farm animals) today. They say we’ll have sunshine all day today and around 22C (71,6F), rain is predicted for tomorrow and since we do need it I won’t complain too much 🙂

 

Their wings showed where they were and they were everywhere.

I could hear a few cranes in the distance when we were out walking but nothing much else. I looked out over a field just as the sun rose above it and suddenly I saw loads of resting dragonflies! They were everywhere and it was their wings that revealed them, they shone like silver in the early morning sunlight. Most of them were unfortunately too far away and Albin learned the hard way a few weeks ago that they still have electricity running in those wires even if they don’t have any cattle walking there now, so I didn’t try to get over the wires to get closer 🙂 It is a good thing I do have a good tele-photo lens 🙂

 

So I went to the hospital yesterday and the doctor said my x-rays didn’t show any difference to the ones taken earlier and that’s a good thing. I gave some blood for a few blood tests and if they don’t show too high amounts of metal ions in my blood I won’t have to go there for a checkup again for three years. It was fifteen years ago I got my first hip implant and seven years ago that I got my second one, time just flies away!

 

I remember when I came here the first time, I must have been around 12 years old (so that would be around 41 years ago) and people still lived in this house.

This is a Bautasten (Bauta stone I guess would be a good translation). It marks the grave of a man and has no markings on it. There are lots of Bauta stones in this area.

I stopped at the big field, Ekornavallen (link to Wikipedia in English), that is filled with old tombs on my way to the hospital and realised I should have gone there on my way home instead because I had to sort of rush through it since I had the appointment at the hospital. There are tombs from the stone age to iron age in the same field which is unusual. Lots of them were covered by grass now though so they were difficult to see and some are on the other side of a road and I didn’t go there. I don’t think there’s especially many more tombs there than we have here in my village area but they are closer together and more easy to see.

 

This I think would be where a woman is buried. If I remember the text and picture right there should be a round stone on top of the pile of stones and a round stone marks the grave of a woman.

After I had come home again and been out walking with the dogs I started to shiver something nasty and felt really sick. At first I started to wonder what I might have brought home from the hospital but then I realised I really hadn’t eaten anything since 5am (and by then the clock was around 5pm 🙂 ). Well I had bought a delicious cinnamon roll and a coffee at the hospital but that was it 🙂 So I made a  few sandwiches, way too big and after that I went in to some kind of food coma 🙂 🙂 I just sat in my sofa in front of the tv and couldn’t do a single thing 🙂 I even went to bead much earlier than usual so that’s why I didn’t write any post yesterday 🙂

 

This is the most well known tomb of them all and it is huge. Back in the days it would have been covered with lots of smaller stones.
Like this one and the ones we have here in this area where I live.

Today I’ll do some laundry but nothing else besides that. I do need to buy a new chain to my electric chain saw but the place where I usually buy them don’t have the kind I need, they had to any other kind that brand has made but not mine and it didn’t sound as if they were interested in getting it either. So now I need to find out where I can get a new one. We have lots of places that might have it since this is a rural area with loads of stores selling all kinds of machines we might need out here 🙂

 

It is huge and these stones are higher than I am and I’m 180cm high (6 feet).

Have a great day!

 

8 thoughts on “Everything looked fine.

  1. Dom här gravplatserna är verkligen imponerande! Tänk viket jobb för dom som la upp stenarna. Inga lyftkranar då inte….. 🙂
    I förrgår kom det hela 10 mm´s regn, första på evigheter så då var jag lycklig. sen blev det strålande sol igen igår – och idag är det mulet och så ska det komma mer regn. Härligt! 🙂 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    Like

    1. Hejsan Susie!

      Ja vilket arbete det ligger bakom, dessutom har de ju flata stenar vilket måste tagit tid att göra dessutom! Man kan inte annat än känna respekt för dem!

      Vet inte hur mycket regn vi fått, men det kan inte vara mycket då inte ens bägge vattentunnorna blev fyllda till brädden. Mer är ju påväg dock om de gissat rätt i prognoserna 🙂

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer!

    No wonder you felt so ill – your blood sugars were probably in your boots!!! Sometimes it takes a bit for you to recover so going to bed early was probably a very good thing!

    What fantastic pictures today! You live in such a place that is steeped in history – how amazing and beautiful! And those stones! I bet they have a few stories to tell…

    Poor Albin – how shocking for him to experience the electric fence!! 🙂

    Yesterday we got to 40 celcius with the humidity. It was so wretched out no one could stand being outside for more than a few minutes. And we have the Canada Games going on in each province. I felt so sorry for the athletes yesterday, especially those who are not used to the humidity.

    Have a good day!!!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      Or just beneath 🙂 🙂 I was totally exhausted so the choise was between sleeping on the couch iun front of the tve or go upstairs 🙂

      Even if the photos don’t show it there were lots of people out there yesterday, I guess they wouldn’t have been if the weather had been better though 🙂 Too bad I never know when there’s fog there, photos always get better in fog, especially if they show tombs 🙂

      That was nasty hot! It is bad enough just being outside in those temperatures, I can’t even imagin how bad it would be competing in them. I’m pretty sure it’s dangerous too and I hope they all drink lots of water!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Hi Christer,
    I noticed a sign in the field near the empty house. Is it part of the tombstone site or does the house itself have some significance? It’s too bad nobody lives there anymore. It looks like it once was a nice place to live.

    Great shot of Theodor.
    I guess I’ll have to get out really, really early to see if I can find a field full of dragonflies. That’s a sight I’d like to see.
    Those tiny insects I spoke about that hover in the air doing some kind of dance with each other have begun to show up. They zigzag back and forth as they rise up and then descend. As usual, the big dragonflies are also showing up to feed on them.
    At the lake the small brownish orange dragonflies have been patrolling the shoreline for a month or more. Two weeks ago the big dark brown ones showed up. They patrol farther out over the water.

    Remembering to eat regularly is a good thing. I have a tendency to forget that and then when I do eat I’m ravenous and eat too much. Food coma ensues. Also extra weight gain because sleeping off food coma doesn’t really burn all those calories. Not good. 🙂

    It’s sunny, warm and humid here.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      That sign belongs to the tomb field and it stands at some distance to several bauta stones. There are signs close to every tomb but I managed to not photograph them most of the times 🙂

      It was amazing to see all those dragonflies but it didn’t work as a photograph, they all were so small that they didn’t show especially well.I wonder if those tiny insects might be some kind of mosquito, the none blood drinking kind. I know they can behave like that and the dragonflies must love them being so easy to catch 🙂 Like a fly smorgasbord 🙂 🙂

      I think we have the biggest dragonfly that we have here in Sweden flying over our fields but they never sit still so it is impossible to photograph them. Too bad because they are really beautiful colored in blue and yellow.

      I had had so much to do yesterday that I forgot that I was hungry 🙂 I was looking for a hotdog stand but they seems to have closed most of them. Now days we only have hamburger places like McDonalds, Burger king and the swedish Max.
      Food coma isn’t nice at all 🙂

      We’ve had a rather pleasant day here, just enough wind to keep most flies away 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. Christer,
    I find the stones fascinating especially that their configurations indicate the sex of the deceased. The stones in the old graveyards here are quite thin. They are covered with names and dates which become difficult to read over time. We have some of the oldest cemeteries in the state but none anywhere as old as yours.

    I can’t remember the last time I saw a dragonfly. I think it has to do more with me not wandering around enough and the deck is not an insect haven.

    Seldom do I go to a store for one thing and come out with only that one thing. I see stuff which catch my eye, and I buy them, especially at the store with all the specialty shops inside including a place that sells ready made food, a fish market, a butcher, a dessert shop and a place which sells pizza and Mexican food. They are small little open shops but all are inside the one market.

    I’m glad all is well with you physically!@

    Have a great day!!🐿

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      I’m surprised they managed to get those huge stones as thin as they did since they are made in the stone age and they only had stone tools 🙂 It is interesting that men and women had different kinds of tombs!

      Last year and this one have been full of dragonflies. I guess they might have evolved faster since their waters mosty dried out. I wonder if that means we’ll see fewer next year becayse they do grow for several years in ponds most of them.

      We have very few stores like that here. We have the big supermarket that has most things but otherwise we have lots of smaller ones and not always close to each other. Still I tend to get far more home than I had planned 🙂

      We still have to see what the blood tests says but I’m pretty sure they are ok 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

