Tomorrow I’m off to Skövde again.

More and more cranes are gathering in the fields to eat as much as they can before the move south.

It has been a rather pleasant day so far, a bit chilly in the morning though so I turned on a radiator in the livingroom. It wasn’t cold to be honest but the humidity was high and the air felt cold and raw. Now it feels a bit warm instead and the radiator is turned off and I’ve had a cross draft in the cottage. We’re waiting for the rain to start and with it possibly some thunder.

 

It wasn’t the nicest of mornings but the sun did break through after a while.

The thunder did pass way west of us yesterday and it hit a soccer field when they were out playing and ten players were hit to the ground. Three were taken to hospital but no one was seriously injured. The lightning can actually hit long before clouds arrive and I guess that was what happened yesterday.

 

Half my vacation has passed now and I really can’t complain about the weather. It has mostly been just enough warm nad very little rain. We haven’t had any heat wave this year though, during my vacation that is. The warmest period was already in May and even if we can get a heat wave then it’s never as hot as it was this year. I’m however happy that it hasn’t been that hot now 🙂

 

I have however missed our cool nights and mornings. Last summer it rarely was above  7C (44,6F) when I woke up, now it has been mostly around 14C (57,2F) and in a fly infested area like this that means flies have already started to fly around and they will find anyone who is out walking and I just hate flies that annoys me. There isn’t that many left now but those still hanging around sure do their best to annoy us.

 

Tomorrow I’ll go to the doctor in Skövde, He has now looked at the x-rays and I think everything is as good as it usually is. I really don’t want to have to get new hips again, at least not yet. Then again, I would be at home for a couple of months with my dogs 🙂 🙂 🙂

 

Have a great day!

 

The Monkshood beside the dogyard is in full bloom, the ones in my garden struggles to survive the draught.
10 thoughts on “Tomorrow I’m off to Skövde again.

  1. Hi Christer,
    This two horses always look so beautiful in morning light.
    The first cow is quite an attractive one. She has very regular features. Nice level horns. 🙂 I don’t know if that’s a good thing or not.

    I’d rather stay home for a couple months without the complications of new hips. 🙂 I used to hate the month of February and wished I could take the whole month off. But it was the start of peak season at work so that wasn’t going to happen. Well, one winter I got pneumonia and ended up spending the whole month of February recuperating from it. Another case of being careful what you wish for because you might get it. 🙂

    Today is sunny and a little on the cool side. I guess it sill get warmer in a couple of days.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      They look beautifl in any light 🙂
      I’m not sure how the bull look at cow beauty 🙂 but there are actually some really uggly cows out there 🙂 They have nothing symetrical at all and googely eyes too 🙂 They are truly ugly but rather charming anyway 🙂

      I had no complications at all when I had my hips done and I’ve only heard one having problems afterwards. To be honest, it was like having a long vacation 🙂 I was home three months the first time and two the second and felt robbed of one month 🙂 🙂

      I woke up from a nap when the first shower arrived and ran out to the kitchen to close the open door 🙂 🙂 After that it has mostly been a nice summer rain.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

    1. Hi skyeent!

      I think the only free rainging animals we have here are reindeers and thopse live way up north 🙂 The ditches and verges aren’t cut down until the flowers have let go of all the seeds late in August 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Christer!!

    I hope your doctor’s visit went well and that your hips are happy and not needing replacing. Although a few months off with the dogs would be good – just not in the context of anything medical! 🙂 You need to win the lottery, just like me!

    We are having a nasty heat wave. Yesterday with the humidity it reached what felt like 38 degrees celcius. It was so disgusting outside I could not stand it. And the flies are ridiculous!!! But the weird thing this year was few to no mosquitoes. I don’t understand how that happened. We usually get inundated with them for a good long while so I think I have seen 2 this year. So strange. And I put our house on the no fog list and they didn’t even have to come out and fog. Suits me just fine!

    Soon I will get my holidays and I cannot wait! 3 more weeks and then peace! 🙂

    Have a good evening!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      The x-rays looked good so now we’ll only wait fornthe blood test results to come back. If they don’t show any higher amounts of metals I won’t go to the doctor again for three years. So I will still have to hope for the lottery 🙂 🙂

      We have unsually few mosquitos too because it has been sio dry this summer. They can still make a comeback if the rains really start to fall but so far so good. We don’t have many biting flies either because of the draught and that really makes me happy. Still I have a few bites here and there and they do itch badly 🙂

      I have this and the next week before I have to go to work again, still time to win the lottery and not have to go back for especially long 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. hi christer! i hope you got good news from your doctor! when will the cranes start to leave? i noticed that my sycamore leaves are turning yellow and some are starting to fall. august already!

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      Yes I did get good news, no changes when they looked at the x-rays but we still need to see the results from the blood tests, if they don’t show any higher amounts of metals in my blood I won’t have to go there again for three years.

      Isn’t that a bit early, to get yellow leafs where You live? Here we have plenty of trees turning yellow but only because of the draught, normally they stay green until September here.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. Christer,
    My favorite photo is the one of the road with the flowers on each side. It is beautiful and makes the road look so inviting.

    The dampness does make me feel chilled as well. During movie night the other night, we all wore sweatshirts and one of my friends had on a hat and put his hood over it. The night was 57˚ by the time the movie was over. I was glad to get into the warm house.

    I just came inside after taking Gracie to the yard. It was cooler than I expected, cool only by comparison to the daytime.

    Gracie gets hot easily. Boxers do with their smashed in looking faces. When she starts to pant, I usually turn on the air conditioner to cool her down. If it is cool and she pants,I know she wants to go out. I speak dog!!

    Have a good day!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      Our roads do have that typical countryside look 🙂 We can thank the EU for that because most farmers here want to cut ithe road sies as soon as possible and the EU want the flowers to grow 🙂

      Dampness either make the cold colder or the hot hotter, it never really helps the other way 🙂

      I do like our cool nights and mornings but it isn’t nice to be outside without thick clothes 🙂 Normally we have to think about mosquitos too because they are really active then. This year has been too dry so far so not many of those around 🙂

      Albin can’t take heat at all to be honest, he’s much better with really cold weather. He gets tired and grumpy as soon as it gets warm 🙂 No air condition to help him here but I do have that fan now days 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

