The rain started early.

It’s not at all as nice today as it was yesterday. They say we won’t get it any warmer than 16C ( 60,8F) and there’s a raw feeling in the air. Windy too and the rain that was supposed to start falling in the afternoon has already arrived. Not much, mostly a few drops or as much as a light drizzle as worst. I had the kitchen door open for a while but the chilly rawness quickly filled the cottage.

 

Bertil still follows us on our walks but it does look like he’s embarrassed to be seen with us many times because he keeps his distance 🙂

I wouldn’t mind especially much if it kept the flies calm though but it doesn’t 🙂 but the wind seems to get stronger and stronger so tat I like 🙂 This is one of those “I won’t do a thing” days or slappardag as we say 🙂 I will do the rest of the laundry, I did half of it yesterday but besides from that I think I’ll watch a dvd as most. I bought two last weekend but I can’t remember which ones so I guess I really don’t have high hopes about the quality of them but they were cheap 🙂 🙂

 

My favorite bird, the Jackdaw.
Caryn, it looks like I still have one vicious rose left but it can only be seen from outside the garden 🙂
The siberian Hollyhock still comes back every year.
I think this is some kind of perennial sunflower. I brought it back home after a plant swapping day.

They never came to empty the food garbage bin this Friday as they were supposed to so now the entire bin is filled with maggots and it smells pretty nasty close to it 🙂 🙂 Isn’t it nice that they force us to have it and then actually don’t do their job and empty it 🙂 It’s the only time I’ve actually used it because of the unclosed freezer door and then it doesn’t work as it should. Well I guess that if it stays like this for another week it will stop smelling and all the maggots will be hatched and then we have even more flies in the area 🙂 🙂

 

Aaron’s rod love this area and behaves much like a weed here but they are easy to remove if they spread too much.

The Angel pelargoniums flower a lot now but they don’t grow fast or big.

I guess I better start with the laundry, it isn’t one of my favorite things to do so the earlier I’m done with it the better. Tomorrow’s the last day before vacation starts 🙂

Have a great day!

 

6 thoughts on “The rain started early.

  1. Hi Christer,
    I love the first photo and the last one. Great texture in the wood and lovely color. Also very efficient use of a downspout. 🙂

    The vicious roses never give up. I cut one down to the ground so many times that it finally stopped putting out new growth. I should have dug it out of the ground but it was big and I figured it was dead. But no. It took a few summers off and now it’s throwing out new stems. Back to cutting, I guess.

    Maybe the garbage guys figured since you never use the thing, you probably didn’t use it this time either. Did they not come for the rest of the village, either? I remember when we used to have a garbage only collection. The pail was in a cement casement in the ground which had a cast iron lid. I still have the thing in the ground but the barrel that goes in it is missing. It always smelled and the collection truck smelled even more. And the raccoons stomping on the foot pedal of the lid at 3 in the morning were annoying. Clang! Clang! Clang!

    Today is sunny and warm. Back to summer.

    Enjoy your slappardag. 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      I do like those two too and I thought they would be perfect for first and last photo. I have water barrels instead of a pitcher 🙂

      I had several vicious roses but all but one died 🙂 Our winters are longer so if they aren’t totally healthy they can die 🙂

      They always look down the bin when they come but thios time they didn’t come at all. I wonder if it was because it’s vacation time? It is rather stupid not to comebecause of that since food tends to smell nasty in warm weather 🙂 🙂

      Yes back in teh days they really smelled nasty, now days they just smell a bit bad 🙂 I’m so happy we don’t have raccoons here 🙂 🙂

      Mostly misty rain so far and that’s good because the ground won’t be so dry that the coming rain just won’t run off, still no nice weather to take walks in. I think Albin might have to do with the garden fort the rest of the day 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. i hate it when i miss a garbage day! you can pour some bleach on it which will help with the smell until next week. i am looking for a nice climbing rose that flowers all summer and has a good smell. i am ripping out the wisteria this fall and i want roses on my pergola by the pool!

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      It smells really nasty 🙂 I think I’ll spray down some bleach tomorrow. I really don’t care if they come any more and I doubt there’s much left of the food 🙂 🙂

      You have a much bigger variety of roses than we do and since roses tends to have different names in differnt countries it’s hard to recommend anyone I’m afraid. I have a wisteria too but it usually freeze down every year so I never see any flowers 🙂 I’ve been thinking of digging it up but the leafs aren’t bad to look at either 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Typiskt, när gråvädret till slut kommer till oss finns det bergis inget vatten kvar i molnen! 😦
    Jag vattnade inte idag förSMHI lovade regn inatt, men jag vet inte hur många gånger jag gått på deras gissningar om vädret så jag vet inte varför dom skulle ha rätt den här gången. 😦 😦
    Idag blev verkligen en “slappardag” här också. Det enda jag gjorde var att vattna på altanerna och i växthuset. Men OK, det tar nästan en timme. Sen har jag lagat frukost – alltså brett några mackor, fixat lunch (sill & potatis) och middag (förkokt spjäll som jag sen grillade) – så lite nytta har jag gjort. 🙂 🙂 🙂 Men sen var Formula One och ikväll blir det 5 timmar Nascar….. Yes!!!
    KRAM
    Susie

    Like

    1. Hejsan Susie!

      Det var inte mycket vi fick här och det som skulle kommit nu på kvällen lär inte komma, vi har haft det soligt rätt länge nu. Vet inte om jag fått någon lön om jag varit lika dålig på mitt jobb som de är 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Jag har väl gjort mycket detsamma, fast istället för vattna har jag tvättat tvätten 🙂 och dessutom åt jag kyckling som jag hade i kylen 🙂 Formel ett och naskar är inte min grej så jag kikar nog på film istället 🙂

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

