Almost vacation :-)

Much better weather today to bring a camera with me in the car on my way to work.

Finally the last normal work day is done before vacation, now I only have Monday left and I’ll only do maintenance work then. We’ll only be five people in the entire factory so no one will come around and disturb us with thing we don’t feel are important πŸ™‚ I’ll leave work as soon as I’ve done what I’ve planned so it can be an early start on the vacation too.

 

White and pink Musk mallow growing beside each other.
View towards Bjurum church and the lake.

The weather today has been perfect. The morning was cool, around 5C (41F), the sun was rising and we had some fog as well, so today was a much better day to bring the camera in the car. Not many more photos though, it takes some time to jump in and out of the car and also finding the right spot to take the photo πŸ™‚ The fog rose fairly quickly and the rest of the day has been mostly sunny and around 21C (69,8F). It was of course much warmer in the sun and the dogs showed that by panting all through the walk πŸ™‚

 

The little rain we got the other day didn’t last for long, I now need to water the pots every day but I’m not complaining because I won’t need to mow the lawn this weekend either πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It stopped growing at the exact right height and it looks actually rather nice πŸ™‚ It’s not the same with the weeds though πŸ™‚ They always grow even if the rest of the garden dies because of lack of water πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

I’m thinking of buying some tayberry bushes. If winters stay as they have been lately they will survive but if we get normal winters again they’ll freeze to death. They have them on sale on an online business I often buy plants from, like my lime and lemon tree. Two problems though, they tend to spread like wildfire and I’m not sure where to plant them πŸ™‚ I’ve heard that they are rather delicious so it would be fun to try them. Talking about berries, Albin loves berries and so far he’s only eaten ripe ones, like the strawberries in the forest. A few days ago I watched him eat my not even close to ripe blueberries, he was like a vacuum πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ He has also eaten most of my quince fruits, also far from being ripe πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β 

It is time to start boiling chicken again. I’m giving Albin more and more of the new food and so far so good so I hope that my chicken boiling days soon will be over πŸ™‚ Nova will from tomorrow only eat that new food and she loves it πŸ™‚

 

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “Almost vacation :-)

  1. Hi Christer,
    It looks like a beautiful day there.

    Does Albin get a bad stomach from eating all that unripe fruit? Unripe quince must be rather tart, too. Although I’ve seen the deer eating unripe quince so maybe it’s not so bad.

    Tayberry is a new one to me. I had to google it. I thought you meant bayberry. Smells lovely but I’m not sure I’d eat it. πŸ™‚

    Half days at work when nobody else is there are like a mini-vacation. Especially when you know you have the next four weeks off. Yay!

    My lawn is growing like crazy. It needed mowing two or three days ago but I wasn’t going to do it in that humidity and heat. The lawn guys came this morning so I don’t have to. Bet the grass grows back in a week, though. It’s been very good grass growing weather this summer.

    Today is cold and damp again. No sun. It’s murky, too.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      It has been all day and the evening is just as nice but perhaps a bit chilly.

      Not as bad as one could think he would πŸ™‚ Unripe quince must be like wood πŸ™‚ The ripe ones are tart as they are so unripe must be even worse πŸ™‚ I had hoped to get so many that I could make jelly from them, soo tasty πŸ™‚ but now I’m not sure he’ll lkeave a single one to mee πŸ™‚

      Bayberry πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I can just imagine how it would be to eat that πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ but they use it quite often instead of hop to brew beer.

      Yes it couldn’t be much better really πŸ™‚ I think I’ll even celebrate with some ice cream when I’ll drive home πŸ™‚

      No rain predicted here until next Thursday, just a little and loads on Friday. I hope the little rain will soften up the ground so that the water sinks down instead of just run off and I do hope it doesn’t mean more nasty biting flies will hatch. The grass will start growing though so I guess I’ll have to mow the lawn next SAunday πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. how long will your vacation last? we had more rain this morning with more coming later. this is the most rain we have had in years. it was 76 degrees when teddy and i went out at 3:00 am this morning. just awful weather. i hope the fruit doesn’t make albin sick!

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      I’ll take four weeks now and I’ll save one week for around christmas time.

      We’ve had unusually little rain here. June, July and August are usually the rainest months of the year here.
      I that early!

      I do like our cool almost cold mornings here, I would not like to have 76 that early in the morning or perhaps until the afternoon πŸ™‚

      His stomachs get a bit wobbly but not too bad πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Dogs are all different characters aren’t they? Douglas isn’t too keen on fruit -nothing too acid, but Dyson will happily help me pick wild strawberries and raspberries. He sits there good as gold and I give him the less than perfect ones that are may be a touch over ripe. Luckily he doesn’t pick them himself (yet). They’re both keen on helping with the vegetables. They love Turnip (Swede) bits, and calabrese stalks are an evening treat.

    Like

    1. Hi skyeent!

      All my previous dogs were great berry and fruit eaters but they did at least wait until they had ripen properly πŸ™‚ None of my dogs have ever been sitting good as gold though, they’ve taken it from the bushes or out of my hand instead πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
      I’ve never tried Swede on my dogs though, perhaps I should πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. When I’m preparing it they come to see me, and I cut the top and bottom off for them. They really love it (but I guess every dog is different so yours might not).

        Like

      2. I must admit that I tend to avoid Swede, that was one of the few things my mother actually could cook and we had it too often πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ She’s now at over 80 able to cook two or three more things so they are edible πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Maybe you should consider putting some sort of fencing about your berry bushes to prevent Albin from eating everything, Christer. As much as I enjoy the clear day photos, I have to admit that the ones with fog and clouds are very nice and I can appreciate how much more you enjoy these days. It’s good that your last day of work on Monday will be a quiet one, a nice way to start a vacation.

    Like

    1. Hi Beatrice!

      Well, he doesn’t get sick and we have lots of berries everywhere in nature here so I’ll get something too πŸ™‚ He has at least so far left all berries higher up in the bushes πŸ™‚

      Fog always make photos more interesting and if the sun helps it’s hard to fail with them πŸ™‚

      I do like those days when I can do more or less as I please and don’t have to hurry because new things are on the way to become painted πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  5. Christer,
    I haven’t ever heard of a tayberry. I don’t know if I’d like it as I am not a fan of raspberries. I do like blackberries. When I was a kid, we used to pick them from wild bushes.

    None of my dogs have ever liked fruit. I hope that they won’t bother Albin’s stomach. It’s good that Nova is back too eating regular food.

    The pictures looking across the fields are my favorites. I love the fog and in one picture the plot of trees almost looks as if it is an island in the ocean.

    My guys mow once a week. It has rained the last few days so my grass is growing but still isn’t all that high. I also have an irrigation system which waters the flowers in the early morning. I guess it is my fault when the grass grows.

    How wonderful you have only a half day of work left.

    Have a great Saturday!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      I have no idea how they taste or if the kernels are like the ones in raspberries or in black berries. I better buy a plant so I can tell You πŸ™‚ They taste however is closer to raspberries than blackberries I’ve read.

      All my dogs have loved berries and by the looks of it he doesn’t get any stomnach problems. I did however forget to boil chicken yesterday so he had just a little chicken and lots of that new food plus rice so I’m not sure how his stomach will be later today πŸ™‚

      I dolike that photo too! I hope it’s similar weather on Monday morning so I can take a few more photos down by the lake.

      Very few have irrigation systems here and normal years we really don’t have to have them since June, July and August are the rainiest months of the year but that seems tohave changed a lot. Nowdays it’s warm and dry instead.

      I do like those days πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

