Soon I’ll have vacation.

The woodshed door.

Sunny and nice today which only made the day go slower since I don’t have many days left till vacation. I really don’t count Monday since it won’t be a production day, just a maintenance day and I’ll do things I normally don’t so time will pass fast.

 

I brought my camera with me to take some photos on my way to work. Previous days have been great for photographing, either foggy or cloudy with sunshine coming down here and there over the lake. Today the weather was just too fine even if it was quite chilly so I didn’t stop especially many times 🙂

Nova just love that new food and eats it really fast for being her 🙂 She does pick out bits and pieces and chew them for some time and then continues to the next piece 🙂 She has however ache in her ear again but I’m not sure if she has had that all the time or if it is new. She has two medicines, one for the big and dangerous infection which she now takes with smelly cheese and one for a fungus infection in the ear. The one fighting fungus is a gel that I put in her ear once a week and I’ll do that tomorrow. I think it is the fungus infection that gives the pain in the ear but I’m not sure.

 

She’s still not free from the swelling she had though and it is hard to see if it’s the same, smaller or bigger. Her appetite is good though so I’m taking that as a sign that she at least isn’t getting worse again and she does walk ahead of the rest of us when we’re out walking like she always do, she barely followed us last Friday. I guess I won’t stop worry until the vet says it’s over and that will at least take two, most likely more, weeks until he says that.

 

The wild raspberries are about to ripe, still a bit sour though 🙂
One can still see some swelling beneath her right ear and I’m not sure I could do that before but then again she was so swollen last Friday that her head was round on that side.

It is time to make something to eat. Nova and Sune are sleeping in the livingroom but Albin goes in and out of the cottage even more times than the cats 🙂 He also insists on me opening the entrance door to let him out even though the kitchen door has been open since I came home 🙂 🙂

 

By the way, have You ever seen a Swedish Sandwich cake?

 

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “Soon I’ll have vacation.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Lol, no I never have seen a Swedish sandwich cake. I see salad on top of potato chips but I can’t see what else is there. What’s it built on for bread? Flat bread?

    I love the woodshed photo. Nicely composed. Your woodshed? And I also like the close up of the swoopy power lines gleaming in the sun.

    Vacation! Yay! How long?

    Today is cold and damp. I have the windows open so the cold and damp can get inside. Yesterday was so brutally humid it was like living in a tropical swamp in summer. Horrid. I’ll take cold and damp over that.

    I hope Nova’s infection goes away quickly and doesn’t come back.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      The potato chips were new to me 🙂 Never seen that before and they didn’t tast much thankfully since I don’t like them 🙂

      Here’s a link to Wikipedia which explains how it is built: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Smörgåstårta
      They did however forget that tuna now days is quite common as filling too.

      Yes it is my woodshed. The key tothe door is long gone and that’s why I have a screwdriver there to lock the lock 🙂

      I’ll have four weeks and I’m so longing for it to start. Monday won’t feel so bad since I’ll do all the things I normally don’t have time for so the day won’t feel long. We’ll only befive people in the entire factory so no one will come down and disturb us either, it willl be an effective day 🙂

      Really nice weather here today and they say it will continue like this for a while but I don’t trust them at all 🙂

      She’s happy and hungry and I see that as a good sign 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. I didn’t realize it was a layer cake of bread slices with different fillings in between. Interesting. I would think all the flavors would fight with each other, though. They should leave the chips to be added by the person who is eating. Chips get soggy when they sit around on sandwiches for too long.

        Like

      2. Hi Caryn!

        The flavors compliments each other and it is just delicious but it should be in the fridge for at least one day before one eat it. The chips weren’t soggy to my big surprise! Have no idea how they managed not to be but then again they didn’t taste much at all.

        Like

  2. Hi Christer!

    I hope Nova feels better day by day. Eating is a very good sign so hopefully that will continue on!

    LOVE the sandwich cake! I laughed out loud at that! And potato chips!! Wow I am impressed! Looks delicious!

    I wish I could say its close to my vacation too….I go the last 2 weeks of August. I let everyone else take theirs first and by then I am completely burnt out and don’t enjoy mine. I never learn…

    Hunter goes to the vet Tuesday. We need to find the cause of his not sleeping. He’s getting better but at 9.5 months he SHOULD be sleeping past 4 a.m. He does not. The weekdays are no problem, but its the weekends. Its getting to the point where we are tilting towards exhaustion. So let’s see what the vet suggests. Something has to be figured out – and we will leave that to the professionals.

    Have a good evening!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      She’s happy and hungry so I see that as a good sign 🙂 but she avoids me every time she think I’ll put something in her ear 🙂

      The sandwich cake is delicious but the potato chips were new to me 🙂 Normally it’s halfed tomatoes and sliced qucumbers as decorations or halfed grapes.

      The factory close down fopr three weeks so everyone has to take at least those weeks off as vacation. We always share when it comes who can take early vacation or late so now I know that I can take an early vacation if I want to the coming two weeks.

      Albin is the same and he’s on his fourtteenth month now but since I am an extreme morning person it doesn’t disturb me éspecially much. I guess he won’t start sleeping longer until he’s an adult and the bigger the dog the later that happens and Amstaff’s even if they are pretty small are late with becoming adults, two to two and a half year 🙂 🙂 I do hope the vet has a solution for his early mornings!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. i have seen swedish sandwich cakes but have never made one. they sure look good! somehow i have not been getting notices about your posts? i wonder what’s happening? it seems i’ve missed a lot.

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      If they have the right fillings theyt are truly delicious otherwise they’re just yummy 🙂

      Blogger does that sometimes. I have an old Blogger blog whith a list of blogs I read and I always look there first to see if blogs are updated but I don’t trust it so I always click on the link anyway 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

    1. Hi skyeent!

      Yes it is popular in Finland, Estonis and Iceland too. It’s always best if the cake stays in the fridge for at least one day, preferable two, like a really good chilli 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Christer,
    I’ve never seen or even heard of a Swedish sandwich cake, but that one looks great. It would be perfect for movie night as we could all make our own sandwiches.

    I had to laugh about Albin making you accommodate him. I swear all my animals think they are entitled. I am here just to serve them.

    It is chilly and damp. We had thunder showers today. I have closed all the doors and windows. Tomorrow will be even chillier. We’ll be back to summer next week.

    Looking for ward to vacations is such fun.

    Have a great evening!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      Well itä’s kind of messy to make sandwich cakes, lots of mayo and thick fillings so it is actually easier to make one big.

      I always wonder why he can’t go out through the kitchen door because he has no problems with going back in that way 🙂 🙂 🙂

      We’re having a really nice weather today, just enough warm, half strong winds and a few clouds in teh sky 🙂

      I must admit that I rather have vacation that look forward to it 🙂 I have workfriends though who think looking forward to vacation is better 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  5. I too had never heard of a sandwich cake before reading your post and checking out the link. It’s way different than the sub sandwiches here in the U.S. I’m not entirely sure if I would enjoy it as much. Glad to read that Nova is doing better and hope she continues. You do have a long vacation and I hope that you have a great time whether staying close to home or maybe a couple of day trips (our favorites).

    Like

    1. Hi Beatrice!

      Ths sandwich cake is nothing one eat especially often, mostly we have it at big birthday parties or holidays. A subway is after all just a big sandwich.

      Nova is much better and gulps down her food so I have high hopes 🙂 I will stay at home, too much trouble with one sick dog and two food allergic dogs to travel around 🙂 If I do something it will most likely be close to home.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

