She’s better now.

We’re having a cool, windy and sunny morning here, just perfect for morning walks. Normally I would have liked wind free so that the dew had stayed on the plants and sparkled in the early morning sunshine but You know about me and flies by now 🙂 🙂 so windy is just perfect to be honest 🙂

 

I can notice a big change in Nova now, her head still looks a bit lopsided by the swelling but she had no problems walking today and was like always a bit ahead of us when we were out walking. She fights even more when I’m trying to give her the pills 🙂 So glad to know that I’ll have to do that for at least three weeks if not more as the vet said. I don’t care for how long I must do that as long as she gets well again.

 

I don’t need to mow the lawn this week 🙂 The grass hasn’t grown at all this week, well it might have some but I can’t see it. We have had rain and quite a lot of it when the thunderstorms passed by but that doesn’t seem to have helped the grass a lot. I don’t mind though,mowing isn’t one of the top ten funniest things I know to do 🙂 I still have the laundry to do though and that doesn’t end up on that list either strangely enough 🙂

 

I have four young clementine trees that I sowed two years ago and since they live by the window during winter they only grow towards the light. So when I finally can place them outside they tend to fall since they all lean very much towards one side 🙂 I had hoped that placing them outside and in a wa that they had to grow the opposite direction would help them to look more normal but that didn’t happen 🙂 So now I’ve started to do like they do with bonsai trees, I’m forcing the branches to grow like I want them too with the help of wire, You know the kind they use when the make floral arrangements. I have plenty left from my old garden center 🙂

 

It looks like I’ll get rather many lime fruits this winter too. I have the lime tree by the entrance door right now, it doesn’t get enough sunlight there though since the sun only reaches it in the early morning and after 4pm but it looked so sad after this winter that I wasn’t sure it would be able to survive the full blast of the sun if I placed it on the other side of the cottage already in the beginning. I doubt I’ll ever get any clementines though, if they ever will flower they must survive for at least fifteen years and I doubt I’ll manage to keep them alive that long 🙂 So now it’s only 13 years left until it can happen 🙂

 

This is not a plant You want in the garden, Ground elder. It is very hard to get rid of and as long as there’s even a single piece of root left in the ground there will be new plants. It is edible though and one way to get rid of it is to tire it out by constantly picking what grows above the surface. Can’t say it is delicious though so I would get tired of it fast 🙂

These weeds are much nicer though. This is the weed flower bed in my garden.

It is time to start with the laundry and after that a nap in front of the tv I think 🙂

Have a great day!

 

This is what’s flowering in my garden right now.

Alstroemeria on one side of the flower bed.
Sweet William (Dianthus barbatus) on the other side.

This wild rose just keeps on flowering, all the others have fewer and fewer flowers now.
Some of the impatiens I bought yesterday.
18 thoughts on “She’s better now.

  1. Skönt att höra att Nova är bättre – men vad jobbigt både för dig och henne att behöva ge henne medicin så länge. Men vad gör man inte för att dom ska må bra! 🙂
    Igår regnade det, jätteskönt för då kunde man vara inne hela dagen och vila ryggen. Men…idag blir det väl lite hårdkörning med början klockan tio. Jag har bestämt att jag måste sätta strikta regler för mig själv exakt när (och hur) jag ska jobba i trädgården – annars blir det för mycket och för länge och jag får fruktansvärt ont i ryggen igen. 😦
    Idag skiner alltså solen igen vilket betyder att gräset växer som ogräs! Alltså åker man nog på att klippa en del igen. I förrgår var det gräsmattan runt rosenspaljén samt runt garaget, så nu är det förmodligen innertomtens som det är das för. 😦 😦
    Dessutom ska jag rensa lite till i “långrabatten” som Rolle tog för någon vecka sen. Ska också hinna med att se Formula 1 på TV samt leverera lite grejor vi sålt på nätet.
    “De e mycke nu…..”
    KRAM
    Susie

    Like

    1. Hejsan Susie!

      Jo det är skönt att det redan går åt rätt håll men det kan komma bakslag om vi har otur.

      Vi fick riktigt skönt väder på kvällen här och idag är det anny bättre, kan bara hoppas att det håller hela dagen. Är väl ingen risk att jag skulle jobba för mycket i trädgården 🙂 🙂 Skulle nog behöva strikta regler för att göra tillräckligt istället 🙂

      Gräset har tagit det ovanligt lugnt med växandet här och jag klagar då inte. Det verkar inte som om det skall bli regn nästa vecka heller så med lite tur kommer det inte att hända mycket då heller 🙂

      Ha det gott och stressa inte med allt du har att göra!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer,
    I’m happy to read that Nova is getting better. I suppose, as she improves, getting that pill into her will be even more of a struggle. 🙂 She won’t take it hidden in cheese or a piece of chewed chicken?

    The photo of the herd of cows off in the distance is lovely. It gives an excellent idea of where you live.
    It’s nice to see the toad house again, too.

    I got a cordless weed whacker recently so that’s what I did yesterday. The lawn guys won’t come until Friday but the grass is looking shaggy in the front of the house so I whacked it. Handy thing to have.
    Laundry is still hanging around. Laundry always grows no matter what the weather.

    Today is sunny and lovely. No breeze but it’s cool right now so that’s okay.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      It does feel nice but one never knows with bacteria, it can hit back so I’ll keep a close eye on her all the time and yes she will put up an even worse fight the stronger she gets 🙂 🙂 I’ve tried to put pills in treats but she never falls for it. Too bad she isn’t like Albin, he chews even the worst tasting pills as if they were treats 🙂 🙂 🙂

      The Toad house will move back to its original place soon, it should already stand there since it would be useless to have and burning candles in it this time of year 🙂

      Are those cordless weedhackers any good? I’m about to buy one myself but doesn’t trust that the battery driven ones ar strong enough.

      Yes isn’t it strange that laundry always grow, doesn’t matter if it is warm or cold outside 🙂 Sometimes it’s even worse on real hot weeks 🙂

      We’re having a really nice day here and it looks like it’ll continue like that next week. Too bad I don’t have any vacation 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer

      Like

      1. I got a Black and Decker LST420. Here’s the link with description. I don’t know if it’s sold in Sweden but there might be something comparable.
        https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HXCPC6K/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
        It came with two 20 volt batteries but only one charger. They charge in about 5 hours so I guess that’s okay. I’m running out of outlets for chargers anyway. 🙂

        I used the weed whacker to clear out Piki Dog’s poop yard which is about 6 feet by 10 feet. It was covered with pyracantha vines, privet, box elder and maple seedlings, pokeweed, and raspberries. They were all two feet and under but some were quite woody. The weed whacker didn’t have too much trouble. I had to hit a few of the weeds in stages from the top down and some of the pyracantha vines were long enough to get wound up in the head but it cleared easily. So far I really like it. I found out after I bought it that a friend has the same one and she really likes hers too.

        Like

      2. I think I saw that one last Time I was at the super market. I’ll take a look at it next time I go there. I only need it for grass so I guess that one would be enough.

        Like

  3. I wanted to share with you how I get my dog to take her pills. She was on 2 twice a day for 2 weeks. I simply put them in a bowl and pour some broth over them and let them dissolve. I put a bit of meat in it as well and it has been easy! Hope it will work for you.

    Like

    1. Hi Dee!

      Yeah, tried that one too. Nova just walked away and I had to fight Albin so he didn’t take it instead 🙂 🙂 🙂 I think that Nova always eat antibiotics that smells just awful and it goes through anything so she can’t miss it. Thanks for the tip anyway.-

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

    1. Hi John and welcome to my blog 🙂

      I have actually never tried wet cat food with Nova! Thanks for the tip!The cats who I have here now refuse to eat anything else than gry food and only from one brand too 🙂 It is worth a try!

      Thanks!
      Have a great day and welcome back!

      Like

  4. Hi Christer,
    I am so envious of all your beautiful flowers. I am also envious of how much you know about grafting and growing plants. My knowledge is totally limited. I go to the garden store with a list of flowers I read about in a magazine or on the web. If people want to know the flowers, I describe them by colors.

    I am so glad Nova is getting better. It is so awful when our pets are sick. I compensate as much as I can for Gracie’s head tilt. There are treads all over the house, and I help her upstairs by standing behind her.

    Everything looks so green in your pictures. That is one of the best parts of summer-how lovely everything looks. The trees are so full and wild flowers cover meadows.

    Have a wonderful evening!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      I do after all come from a family with lots of gardeners and it was my occupation too for a while 🙂

      It looks very good for Nova at the moment but one never knows with bacteria so I won’t shout hi until we’ve passed the creek as we say here.This will go on for at least three weeks but probably longer the vet said.The balance problems were gone now when we went out for a walk, yesterday evening I walked behind Nova when we went upstairs because she was quite wobbly. So it looks really good so far.

      This would have been close to paradise in summer if it hadn’t been for the flies 🙂 🙂 I killed at least four horse flies on our walk after work and there was a big black cloud of flies around my head. Thank god for mosquito hats 🙂

      have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  5. wow christer! your gardens look great! good news about nova too. i’m sure she must be feeling so much better. we have tried everything to get teddy to take pills. the only way we get them into her is limburger cheese. it smells so bad that i guess it masks the smell of the antibiotic.

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      Nove is much better today so it looks like it’s going the right way 🙂
      I remember laughing out loud when I read that You hid her pills in limburger cheese 🙂 🙂 🙂 I’m pretty sure Nova would love that but I’m not sure I can find Limburger here, Havarti might be agood substitute 🙂 I think I’ll try that one 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  6. Hi Christer!

    Such good news about Nova! Have you considered giving her unpasteurized goat’s milk? This is what we put Hunter on when his yeast flares up. It helps with their immune system and we also have been cleaning his ears with diluted apple cider vinegar. Only pet stores can sell the goats milk because of the unpasteurization and its not cheap but it beats having to put him on constant antibiotics. He seems to respond well and quickly. Just a thought. The brand that sells it is called Primal. They are USA based.

    Your gardens and flowers are amazing!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      I can’t find a single place selling any kind of goats milk unless theyhave made cheese from it 🙂
      The vet think this happened because Nova scratched her ear and got those bacteria in the wound and just because I cleaned her ears too often I didn’t notice what was going on. So far however it looks like I haven’t killed her which would have been the result if I hadn’t come to the vet in time.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  7. We sometimes put unpalatable medicine in cheese (cheddar) for our dogs. They think they’rd getting a treat. Followed by an unadulteratd ball of cheese.
    Try ground elder cordial. Picked very young when the leaves are still glossy, 1 litre leaves, 500g sugar, 500ml boiling water. Pour over water and stir occassionally for one day. Tasty and aromatic – dilute with water to taste. It’s supposed to be particularly good for gout and other inflamation.

    Like

    1. Hi skyeent!

      Cheese seems to be the most effective treat and knowing Nova it would most likely work best with a really smelly one, I’m thinking of the two Danish varieties Danbo and Havarti. Both smell like something has died but taste rather nice 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

