They were kind enough to save it for me.

I got a tip yesterday to watch a site we call FASS (it tells us all we need to know about our medicines) because there it also showed what pharmacy had the particular medicine I wanted. Back in the days when there was a monopoly on pharmacies we always knew that we could get the medicine we needed and it was also much cheaper and even those living way far more at the outskirts of the world wouldn’t have too far to a pharmacy. Now they have loads of pharmacies in the cities and very few in the countryside. The politicians said it would be so much cheaper for us and just as easy to find medicines if we just skipped the state monopoly on pharmacies. We and they knew it was a lie but they did it anyway.

 

We had mostly misty rain when we went out early this morning.

Anyway I checked the site and the only place reasonable close to my home was the other one in the village where I was yesterday. I called the company to check and they were kind enough to save it for me just because I had such a distance to drive. My vet is really good but not especially modern so I still get the paper prescriptions and not the internet prescriptions almost all other vets use now days. The pharmacy was kind enough to keep my paper prescription and they’ll order both the medicines Nova needs and I’ll just have to go there and pick it up when I need it. They said they could ship it home to me but I said that since I’ll have vacation by then I just as well could drive there anyway.

 

It looks like my neighbor the farmer will fence in a small field and that’s actually rather good for me because there I can let Albin run free when there are no animals walking there. Albin is terrified of the electric wires around the fields so no matter what he might see on the other side of them he won’t try to run through them πŸ™‚

Nova wasn’t happy about me putting anything in her ear but didn’t make a sound even though I had to get it as deep down into her ear as I could. She had stayed in the cottage while I drove away but the two others were in te dog house/ yard. I thought she needed some calm and quiet because she’s not especially well. She had refuse to eat her food this morning but I placed it in the kitchen when I drove away and she had eaten it and kept it when I came home. Now I’m not sure how to do because this medicine can make her throw up these first times (that should stop after a while though). Should I give her food before the pills or after? It takes around an hour before it happens so I guess it would be better if I gave her the pills after she had eaten?

 

I brought my camera with me when I drove away but it has been raining so much that I didn’t want to go out of the car πŸ™‚ I did however stop at a garden center to get something to have on the entrance stairs. Most was of course sold out but I found some nice Impatiens, we call them Flitiga Lisa (Diligent Lisa) but I think they are called Busy Lizzie in English. I would rather have had her cousin Lyckliga Lotta (Happy Lotta) New Guinea impatiens in English because it grows much higher which I like. Both are easy to sow so perhaps I should do that next spring and have a flower bed with both of them, they don’t like direct sunlight but I have plenty of shade here.

 

Valeriana of some kind.

Albin is annoyed with me because I won’t make it stop raining πŸ™‚ It is mostly heavy showers and short periods with almost sunshine in between. I really dislike this weather because it just makes the ticks and flies happy. I do hope we soon will get a draught again. I know many wells are dry now and those who has one loves this rain but I’m just so tired of flies and ticks now. I’m now almost constantly walking around wearing a mosquito hat, I rather do that than go insane πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

Normally this Saturday every year I would shout “Finally Vacation” but not this year. I’ll have to work one more week before I get it. We are three painters at work and it was my time to take the later vacation this year. The factory will be closed three weeks and I’ll have one week after it opens up again. I will actually work on Monday week 29 too because I’ll wash the paint box with heavier stuff to get it as good as possible this autumn. Normally I wash it once a week with distilled water but every six months something much stronger is bΒ΄needed. This time I’ll use thinner so I brought my breathing mask from the neighbor factory because no work is worth melting ones brain with fumes πŸ™‚

 

It is time to make myself something to eat, I think I’ll have Wiener sausages and french fries today. I was thinking of buying a hamburger when I went to get the medicine but 10:20 am is just too early for me to have something like that.

 

Albin is like a vacuum when it comes to wild strawberries πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
It is faces like this that I remember when they are older and gone. I’m pretty sure that I’ll remember this little bull if I ever see him as grownup.

Have a great day!

13 thoughts on “They were kind enough to save it for me.

  1. Hi Christer,
    That is a distinctive bull face. Very cute right now, too. πŸ™‚

    It’s probably best to give the medicine after Nova has eaten. Food in the stomach absorbs some of whatever it is that’s triggering nausea. For people they say to have smaller, lighter and more frequent meals to lessen the chance of nausea. I don’t know if that works with dogs.

    My mother always called impatiens “Patient Lucy”. I remember them as the plants we kids got from the church on Easter Sunday. We each got 2 inch pots with a Patient Lucy in it. Ours were always dead within the week. We were not very horticultural children.
    This all makes me think it would be appropriate to plant some impatiens around my mother’s bike which is spending it’s time leaning up against the trunk of The Old One. It’s shady enough and impatiens is juglone tolerant. Thanks for the idea. πŸ™‚

    It’s cool and breezy here right now but the sky is hazy. It’s supposed to get into the 80’s and maybe there’ll be thunderstorms later on.

    Vacation anticipation is a good thing. Especially if it’s only for one more week.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      Yes he’s very cute πŸ™‚ I hope I’ll get the chance to see him several years from now so he doesn’t end up as hamburger meat.

      I did as You suggested and gave her the pills after the food and so far everything’s just fine and it’s almost two hours since they ate. We were just out walking and I think she might have some problems with her balance, not strange since it is the ear that’s infected (well half her face really but it started in the ear). Sometimes she walks very slowly but suddenly she’s fine and is ahead of us like she always is πŸ™‚

      I do like patient Lucy but they do need a lot of water and rather little sunshine, not always easy to find in a garden πŸ™‚ We always had them when I grew up but suddenly they were out of fashion, now they’r popular again πŸ™‚

      We’re having a really pleasant evening here, sunshine, just enough warm and enough wind to blow flies away πŸ™‚

      One week is just too much πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. poor nova. i hope he gets better soon. teddy can’t hear very well anymore and it is so sad. i whistle to her and she walks in the other direction. she sleeps a lot too. i guess it’s old age and hot humid weather.

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      She is doing a little better already. She ate her food and followed us on our walk. I think she’s having some problems with her balance but that’s not strange since it all started in her ear. She walks very slowly long periods but then she gets better and is suddenly ahead of us like always πŸ™‚

      Hot humid weather always make me sleepy so I can fully understand Teddy πŸ™‚ Most of my dogs have gone deaf with age so ittakes its time to reach them πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. I managed it from the WP reader site. There is a manage button next to the followed sites button, and an option to search for new sites to follow. I typed in “cranelake” and you popped up straight away.

        Like

    1. Hi skyeent and welcome to my blog πŸ™‚

      I lnow there should be a button somewhere but I just can’t find it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I get the announcment that I have a new follower every now ad again so there must be one somewhere πŸ™‚

      Have a great dasy and welcome back!

      Christer.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Christer,
    When Fern was sick, I got her medicine from on-lione. It was a company which changed pills into a liquid so it could go into her mouth more easily. It was so much better that way. Gracie gets her pills at the vet’s office. I just call for a refill. She is down to three a day for her recent issues and another one for the nighttime peeing.

    Our flies only last about a month or less in the late spring, early summer. Luckily they stay far away from Gracie and me. She did get a tick from the yard, but that is totally unusual.

    All the caterpillars are now moths. There is no more caterpillar poop on my deck. I also think there are no more mice in the kitchen. The trap has been empty for four days. The vermin must all be gone.

    Today was a great day in the shade but hot in the sun. I am glad part of my deck is in the shade and is always breezy.

    Have a great day!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!
      I do wonder how it would work with a liquid? Never heard that they do like that.
      Vets here rarely have any pills at all in their offices. I think Nova is the only dog that ever has gotten pills at the vet station. I’ve always wondered why they don’t have the most common ones so one can cope until one can reach a pharmacy.

      This is fly paradise I’m afraid. Each kind ΓΆasts a month or two but there’s always a new one to take over πŸ™‚ It is very different in bigger villages, towns and cities though, they can be almost fly free.

      Mymice have moved to their summer homes but I know they’ll be back again as soon as it gets chilly πŸ™‚

      Rather nice day here but mostly cloudy. I’m happy as long as it doesn’t rain though πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

