It is still burning, beneath the surface.

Not much water running in the creek now.

Yesterday wasn’t an especially good day for me and I’m not talking only about the fire πŸ™‚ It started in the morning when I walked across the kitchen and thought the floor was pretty cold in one spot. I walked back and forth until I realised that the door to the freezer was open. I hadn’t closed it properly the day before it seems so a big part of the morning I had to save what could be saved and toss the rest in the garbage bin. It’ll smell wonderful there in a day or so πŸ™‚

 

I also realised that I didn’t have enough chicken to give to Albin already the night before but thankfully I could save some fish so he had fish and chicken plus some of the new food I’ve bought for him πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Everything went well at work though and I had planned on buying food on my way home from work but then came that text message so I just jumped in to the car and drove home. I really should have stopped at the store because I had almost nothing to to eat last evening and now this morning πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

There wasn’t that much smoke to be honest. I think the wind was too strong and spread it over a big area instead.

We took a walk yesterday evening when we knew that we would be safe from the fire, the wind had changed direction and they had finally reached it out on the bog after three hours. I didn’t want to go in to the forest so we walked by the fields and came to that spot where we had to walk through the pasture. There weren’t a cow nearby so we walked in and when we reached the other side I stopped to take a photo. I was pretty sure I would hear if the cows were coming so I relaxed and suddenly I heard a voice saying my name πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

In my garden right now.

Sand cherries and lots of them this year.

I got so scared that I almost fell to the ground and I must admit that I wasn’t far from peeing in my pants πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ One of the beekeepers were out running and I hadn’t heard a thing πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Today I walked in to the forest instead πŸ™‚ The flies were behaving insanely and there were more than ever. I guess it has to do with the fire or perhaps thunder is on the way? I’m so glad I had my mosquito hat with me and I wish I had had something for the dogs too because even they were unhappy with all the flies.

 

It is time to get something to eat and today I have plenty πŸ™‚ I knew I wouldn’t have to rush home if the fire would start again because my neighbor the farmer texted me yesterday that he would take care of the dogs if things turned bad. I have the most amazing neighbors!

 

Have a great day!

8 thoughts on “It is still burning, beneath the surface.

  1. Hi Christer,
    I’m glad things turned out well though it’s too bad the bog is now burning underground. That can pop up anywhere if they don’t keep an eye on it.

    It’s good to have neighbors you can count on. Mine are nice and willing to help out but they have to be asked first.

    Today is our national holiday. Independence Day. No aliens, though. Well, maybe one or two. πŸ™‚ My town has a big parade this afternoon and fireworks later on this evening. So far the neighborhood has been quiet. I expect the neighbors will be having cook-outs and some will be shooting off their own fireworks. Thankfully, my dogs don’t have noise aversion issues. They’ll bark now and then but that’s all.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      I do hope tey managed to stop it yesterday because today we’re having rather aggressive thunderstorms here and funny enough the lightning hit exactly where the fires had been πŸ™‚ Another one is clsoing in on us now but it looks like most of it will pass south from here.

      I’m so lucky to have neighbors like I do, I never really have to worry about the dogs because I know my neigbors keep an eye on them all day long.

      Yes You do know how to celebrate Your national day! We almost never have anything of that here.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer!

    I am glad the fire is relatively contained, even if it is still burning. Do they know what caused it? I hope it wasn’t human.

    Ach, dogs and food! Its a source of constant conversation in our house too. Hunter has had issues since day one. We have him now on a salmon only dog food called Boreal (maritime formula). Its incredibly, ridiculously expensive – 25 pounds for $90.00 and he blows through that in about 3 weeks or so. His issues seem to have gotten a bit better but now we have the fun to ascertain whether its the protein that is causing him grief or the grains. This food has salmon, peas, alfalfa, and so many more good things but this really is beyond mind boggling. Why are dogs SO sensitive these days? When I was growing up you fed them crappy brown kibble and table scraps. Ugh.

    I hope whatever could be saved from your freezer can be cooked up and put in the fridge. That’s such a horrific feeling to discover the freezer open!

    Have a good evening and stay away from the fire!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      So far they have no clue and I do hope they managed to put it out yesterday because today we have thunderstorms and at least obe lightning hit the exact place where the fire burned πŸ™‚

      This dog food is also based on salmon and there’s also krill in it. It costs 78 Canadian $ for 27 pounds. I’ll give it to both Albin and Nova so I’ll have to have an order on all the time πŸ™‚ I’ll see if they have bigger sacks so I can order more seldom. I guess my two together will eat slightly more than Hunter (he is a big dog isn’t he?).
      WE have actually destroed our dogs with inbreeding and a modern lifestyle I’m afraid. Even mixed breeds have these problems because once they were pure bred and the problem follopws them too I’m afraid. Most of my dogs have been able to eat anything though and Sune is like a grabage bin, everything works πŸ™‚

      I could save some and I did clean it out at the same time πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Glad that the bog fire is under control and not a threat to your home or pets or yourself, Christer. I know the despair of leaving a freezer or refrigerator door open and having things go bad as it’s also happened to me. But this refrigerator makes a warning sound if the door is not closed within a certain number of mnutes and it really startled me the first time it went off. The flowers in your garden are lovely as always.

    Like

    1. Hi Beatrice!

      The funny thing is that the lightning hit the exact place today πŸ™‚ I do hope those firemen weren’t there any more. We’re having rather aggressive thunderstorms today so who knows, it might start again.There’s a rather bad tempered thunderstorm passing south of us right now and the flies inmy home are insane πŸ™‚

      My freezer has a little light that shines so I would most likely have seen it when I went to bed if I had looked that way, I really wish it had a signal too so I’ll make sure next one has!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. Christer,
    The worst thing about a bog fire is it can smolder for so long and produces so much smoke.

    I’m glad your neighbors thought of your dogs. Having good neighbors is a wonderful thing. Mine are great neighbors. The ones across the street have lived here almost as long as I have. He has Alzheimer’s. She is nearly 80, but she is doing great. We keep an eye on each other’s house.

    The house next door is a summer rental so no one is there most of the year. My friends Tony and Clare live down the street. We have had three new neighbors in the last year, but I don’t know them well. Two of the new neighbors have dogs. Now we have 11 dogs on the street in 8 houses.

    Hope your day is a good one!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      True and it’s even worse when it doesn’t smoke but the fire continues beneath the surface. It looks however as if they managed to put it out totally but we do keep our eyes open and smell in the air just in case we can smell fire πŸ™‚

      I couldn’t have better neighbors than I do! They are amazing. It is rather differnt on the other side of the village though :-)We ook after each others homnes and pets whenever someone goes away for a few days and perhaps even more important, we bring in the mail too. Nothing says being away as good as a full mailbox.

      We had7 dogs in three cottages here when there were as most dogs and four of them lived with me πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

