The bog is on fire!

This will be a short one today.

I got a text message from my neighbor saying that my dogs were a bit worried because of the smoke from the fire. I was to be honest rather surprised because I didn’t know there was any fire at all. Si I left work early just in case we have to move fast. The cottage can be rebuilt if it comes to the worst but my dogs can’t. It has started down by the little lake and the wind is both strong and blowing more or less this way. It looks as if it still is a rather small fire but since we have gale force in the winds that can change quickly, especially since the bog is so dry as it is now.

I’ll tell You more tomorrow since this is all I know for now.

18 thoughts on “The bog is on fire!

  1. oh my goodness – will be thinking of you and hoping for the safety of all your household. a reminder of how fragile things can be in an instant. –suz in ohio/usa

    Like

    1. Hi Suz!

      They hadn’t reach ther fire after three hours of trying, the fire started in the worst part by the lake. So now they use a boat to get there. I have no idea how they’re doing but the wind seems to have changed direction slightly so if it spreads we shoupd be safe from it. The laws about drones are a bit tricky here so I won’t say much but I have seen where the fire burns and how it spreads since a preson had a drone and could film it with its camera 🙂

      So sdo far so good 🙂

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Keep us posted Christer. I hope its a small one that can be put out easily. Thank goodness for good and watchful neighbors.

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      I’ve no idea how the firemen are doing now but they hadn’t reasched the fire after three hours after the alarm came, now they try getting there by boat. Most of the smoke smell is gone though and it looks like the wind has changed direction slightly so we should at the moment be safe from it if it spreads.

      Yes I’m very glad I have neighbors checking my dogs during the days 🙂

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Hi Christer,
    I hope everything goes well. Forest fires are tricky and can change drastically with no notice. My father was a firefighter and he always said forest fires were most dangerous. He didn’t like working them. He’d rather walk into a burning building.
    Keep us posted if you can.
    I’m holding my thumbs for you.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      As long as it just burns close to the lake we’ll be safe, it is if it spreads to the trees things can get nasty and so far it seems to be stayinbg close to the lake. I actually just saw a documentary about firemen only fighting forest fires and they were always prepared to not survive the next fire!

      I’ve read the local news and they still have no idea when the fire will be put out, they hadn’t even reach it three hours after the alarm 🙂 I can feel the smoke every now and again still though but as long as the wind doesn’t come from west-north weast we’ll be out of reach for it.

      Christer.

      Like

    1. Hi librall and welcome to my blog!

      Thankfully it isn’t but the fire is now continuing underground so they have people there spraying water all over the place.

      Have a great day and welcome back!

      Christer.

      Like

    1. Hi Cindi!

      The fire above ground is now put out but it is still burning beneath the surface so there will be people out there until they know it won’t start again. Everyone here in this part of the village had collected what they wanted to bring just in case 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

    1. Hi Birgit!

      Thanks!

      The fire above ground is over now but the one benath the surface is still burning. Thye have firemen out there until they know it’s safe again. I think that the showers that came missed the bog 🙂 🙂

      have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

    1. Hejsan Susie!

      Som tur var nådde aldrig elden träden utan det var mest gräs och låga buskage som brann. Elden ovan mark är släckt nu men det brinner fortfarande under ytan så de kommer att ha folk där tills de vet att elden är släckt för denna gången.

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      Yes we’re all ok 🙂 The fire above ground is under controll but it is still burning beneath the surface. No worries here though, they will have firemen there until they know it’s safe again.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. Christer,
    I think fire is just so scary. It often rages out of control, and if the flames don’t get you, the smoke might. I think enough of my neighbors know about Gracie and Maddie. I used to have a sticker on my window alerting the firefighters to the animals but when I got new windows, the sticker was stuck on the old.

    I’m glad the fire went in the other direction.

    Enjoy your day!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      Fires are scary and if it gets big enough it sort of fuels itself. It dries out the surroundings and them spread fast.

      I wonder if I could find stickers like that here? It’s a good thing even if my neighbors know all my animals.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

