We walked back again.

The mountain still had some sunshine when we went out on our walk this morning.

 

Yesterday was supposed to be cloudy, cool and rainy and today is supposed to be sunny and clear. Is anyone surprised if I say that yesterday was sunny and really warm without any rain? ย Today has started cool and cloudy so I wouldn’t be surprised if we get rain too ๐Ÿ™‚ I mowed the entire lawn yesterday, even the parts where the grass really hadn’t grown especially much. Today I only have one chore and that’s the laundry and I’ve already started with it.

 

I only took these four photographs this morning ๐Ÿ™‚
But since we walked the same way yesterday afternoon You won’t notice any difference. Well it was sunny and nice but that’s it ๐Ÿ™‚

The one leasing the ground from the castle owner has cattle in the field beside the beekeepers and to join that field with another one, so that the cattle can roam as they please they occupyย a part of the road that makes it impossible for anyone to walk around like we usually can. Ok, we can walk through the pastures if we want to but coming close to a cow and her calf is dangerous because she wouldn’t hesitate to try and kill us if we come too close. ย I couldn’t see the cattle in the field yesterday evening so I thought I would try and pass while they were elsewhere.

 

Turns out they all were just where the road is occupied and cattle are curious so it looked like all of them came to look at us when we reached the electric wire fence ๐Ÿ™‚ One of the bulls came too and I have to say that even if he just looked at us I still didn’t want to stay even close to that fence while he was there ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ We walked the same way this morning and were lucky, half the gang were close to the beekeepers and half out on the big field close to the road (where we walked all winter). Still it isn’t easy to pass through those gates with three dogs who are deadly afraid of those wires ๐Ÿ™‚

 

I didn’t see any other cows when we first reached the gate.
Then her calf arrived.
Suddenly they all came ๐Ÿ™‚ With them lots of biting flies came too.
Too bad flies don’t suffocate in dusty air ๐Ÿ™‚

I better continue with that laundry and after that I’ll water some pots in the garden. Only one tomato plant is flowering yet so I doubt this will be a good tomato year.

 

Then one of the bulls arrived. A bull this size knows how dangerous it is so it doesn’t have to do anything else than to show up. I know him since long and he’s one of the “big guys” when all the bulls are in the same pasture. We looked at each other and then we turned around and walked back the same way we came ๐Ÿ™‚
Three photos from the old Agfa Ambi Silette.

The only animals this old fox trap ever caught to my knowledge was my dogs ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ They put it out to catch fox with scabies, a terrible thing for fox’s to get, they scratch themselves to death. The thought was to release the fox if it was healthy. They had to close it since my dogs always were caught in it instead ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a great day!

4 thoughts on “We walked back again.

  1. Hi Christer,
    The bit about the fox trap made me laugh. It somehow figures that it would be your dogs in there. ๐Ÿ™‚

    It looked like you were in the middle of that herd. Forget the bull. The clouds of biting flies alone would have made me turn around. ๐Ÿ™‚ Wicked good photos, too. I can almost smell the dust and cows.
    At least those animals look as though they get handled by people on a regular basis. The cows my barn owner had rarely were. They were meat cattle so they got fed and watered and had their shelter cleaned but that’s the only human contact they got until someone came to shoot one of them. They were out there with the coyotes, too, so all their instincts were intact. Needless to say they did not hold humans in high regard unless the human was carrying food.

    It’s still early here but the weather looks iffy. Solid cloud deck. It’s probably going to be hot and humid again today. Yesterday looked like it might break out in thunderstorms. It got dark and windy but then decided against it.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      Free food has always drawn my dogs and there were lots of goodies in that trap ๐Ÿ™‚

      There was only two thin electric wires between us so it felt as if I did stand beside them ๐Ÿ™‚ I wanted to take one more photo but then the bull took two steps towards me ๐Ÿ™‚ I felt it best to just walk away while I still could ๐Ÿ™‚

      They are almost neer handled by humans. They even hire a real cowboy when the calves must be marked with those ear thingies. He only has a few seconds to do it ๐Ÿ™‚ They never walk in pastures where the catgle walks, instead they use quads so they can get away fast enough ๐Ÿ™‚ They are curious though and often come to the fence to see what we are ๐Ÿ™‚

      Very windy and cloudy here and just below 68F. It is hard to decide if I should wear a sweater or not when we’ll go out for a walk again ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Christer,
    I remember walking on the Indian Trail with my dog Shauna when the black flies were biting. I protected Shauna by using her leash to swat the flies. I, meanwhile, was getting bitten, and was crying by the time we got back to the car. It was the worst walk I’ve ever taken with any of my dogs.

    The only place where cattle are kept here is the old farm owned by the town. They stay away from the fence section where people stand to watch them. They are shaggy cattle and are huge.

    I am sitting in air conditioned comfort. It is hot and there is barely a breeze. Gracie was panting in the house which is always an indication the house is too hot.

    I have nothing to do except water the inside plants. It will be a lazy day.

    Have a great evening!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      Our black flies, the midges are truly nasty too. They are tiny but show up in the thousands and bite us. Thankfully we don’t have many here and they seem not to like me so I can be outside without noticing them while others suffer ๐Ÿ™‚

      We have cattle and horses everywhere here and now days rather many sheep too. The cattle are huge ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s a good thing they don’t understand how dangerous they can be ๐Ÿ™‚ We had lots of Highland cattle here before but I haven’t seen a single one this year.

      I can’t say that it is cold here but it’s certainly not warm. It’s been cloudy all day with stronmg winds, a perfect day for lots of napping ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

