Lots of ticks around.

It is a bit chilly here this morning. Grey and cloudy most of the time but the sun does peek through the clouds every now and again. There’s a rather strong wind blowing as well which makes it feel a bit colder. I don’t mind that when being out walking because the wind and cool weather will keep the flies away from me 🙂

 

I could see some gaps in the clouds close to the village.
Where I walked though it looked like this and it isn’t a hazy morning, that is rain.

There are a lt of ticks now though and I’ve been bitten twice now. I have of course every symptom there is for both the lyme disease and meningitis 🙂 The thing is though that I would have had them anyway since working in that heat at work gives me headaches, makes me tired and all that water drinking does make me feel nausea too 🙂 The red dot where the first tick bit me was a bit large but it faded away after a few days but now I must check so it doesn’t come back again and I’ll have to do that for four weeks. There has been no reports of any meningitis cases close to here so I’m not that worried to be honest but someone has to be the first one 🙂 I’ll call the health care center tomorrow and ask if I should go there to be checked.

 

 

I saw this tip on Fb how to remove ticks from our pets (and I think someone else told me that earlier as well). You know these rolls with sticky paper that You remove hair from Your clothes, the tip said to use it on the pets after they’ve been outside. So I bought that yesterday and it works really good! It would most likely work even better if the dog doesn’t shed its fur like Nova does now though 🙂 but I’ve already removed over four ticks from the dogs!

 

The sun did shine through even over me for a while.

Blackberries are flowering now.

I was going to mow the last parts outside my garden today but the predictions says it will rain on and off all day so I guess I’ll have a rather nice and relaxing day today. I must do the laundry though but nothing besides that. I ordered the dog food for hyper allergic dogs two days ago. I’m not sure I’m giving Albin all the nutrients he needs by just giving him boiled chicken and rice, to be honest there is very little else he can eat but he can eat fish and this food is mainly made from salmon and krill and some other things I hope he can eat.

 

It is time for me to make something to eat and after that to start with the laundry.

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “Lots of ticks around.

    1. Hi Joyce!

      I don’t dare to give either Nova or Albin anything since they both are allergic and Albin especially. The sticky paper only takes those walking around on the fur, if they already have crawled in to it it will be much harder to reach them.

      I do hope that too, he just never gain any weight and he eats way more himself than the two others together.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  1. Hi Christer,
    I keep meaning to get one of those lint rollers to get ticks off the dogs but, of course, I forget when I’m in the store. Rocky and Piki Dog get poisoned once a month for ticks anyway. Usually, when I find ticks on them, the ticks are already dead. Sometimes I wonder if the topical treatment they get rubs off on me when I’m petting them and, if so, is that a good thing? Probably not. 🙂

    I may have found a solution to the problem of bunnies eating Little Quincey every time it grows new leaves. A full dog poop bag changed out every couple of days and augmented by letting the dogs pee on the little fence once in a while and letting them chase every bunny in the yard. The quince has grown a lot of new leaves after having been nibbled again. We shall see.

    Sunny and warm here, today. Humidity is gone, though, thankfully.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      It works really well with Albin and Nova but Sune has such a long fur that the roller tends to get stuck in it 🙂 Nova rarely walks in high grass but I’ve catched five ticks on Albin in just two days now. I don’t dare using any of those anti tick drops since both Nova and Albin has allergies.
      It most likely rub off on You but if it is bad or good I can’t guess 🙂

      That’s one way to keep them away 🙂 🙂 I’ve heard that absolutely fresh ferrit poop works really good but it would most likely smell like food for dogs 🙂 🙂 I’ll hold my thumbs so the bunnies stay away from it!

      Sunny, warm and very windy here today 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. I used to know a ferret named Rasputin but he must have crossed the Rainbow Bridge by now. He’d be a very old ferret indeed if he hasn’t. No fresh ferret poo from him.
        I’m not sure if it’s the smell of dog poop that deters the bunnies or the fake lavender scent infused into the plastic of the poop bags. Either one would be enough, I think. Both together may be the money combo. 🙂

        Like

      2. Good name for a ferrit, one can never really trust them 🙂 🙂

        I didn’t know there were plastic poop bags that smelled lavender 🙂 ours are just black and smell free but I guess that smell can scare away anything 🙂

        Like

  2. Ja, det är vansinnigt med fästingar i år. 😦 Och efter att tydligen haft åtminstone en fästing på mig, så fick jag borrelia för en månad sen. Jag märkte dock aldrig fästingen. Dom brukar inte gå på mig, utan på min gubbe så jag är lite förvånad. 😦 😦
    Fast å andra sidan så har Santos fästinghalsband och då kryper dom av honom och förmodligen på oss istället! Santos har minst en fästing somkryper omkring varje dag spm vi ser, men han har bara haft två som har sugit sig fast. 🙂
    Jag såg dock ett foto på facebook av en av mina STA-vänner (i Sverige någonstans) som hade fotat dom fästingar som krupit på hennes hund efter en skogsprommis; 43 stycken!!! Hu så hemskt! 😦 😦 😦
    Alltså får man vara glad att man har en ljus och korthårig liten sak som gör att dom syns bra. Penny såg man inget på, så hon fick massor av fästingar som satt sig.
    KRAM
    Susie

    Like

    1. Hejsan Susie!

      Det är otrevliga djur de där. Nu måste jag kolla i fyra veckor så att fläcken inte dyker upp. Jag vågar inte pröva de där olika fästingmedlen/ halsbanden eftersom både Albin och Nova är allergiker och Sune badar ju så fort han kan så då rinner ju medlet bort 🙂

      Jag har tagit fem stycken på Albin med den här klibbiga rullaren, Sune har lite för lång päls så den har en tendens till att fastna och trassla in sig 🙂 🙂 Albin är ju vit på stora delar av kroppen men jag har missat några ändå.

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Christer,
    Gracie hasn’t ever had a tick. Boxers have such short hair that ticks and fleas are easy to find. One of my dogs had a flea she was gnawing at as she had no idea why g=her foot itched.

    My backyard is all wild. The only thing I’ve done is take down some dead trees. Luckily, though, there is no tall grass so I doubt there are many fleas.

    Gracie is eating a small can of food and a larger can each day. The small can is an addition to help her gain some of the weight back she lost. She chows both of them down as if she isn’t ever fed.

    Mosquitos are the insects I hate the most. I have been known to scratch until the bite bleeds. I have planted a few herbs on the deck which mosquitos hate. Two of my boxes have basil, another has catnip and lemon balm. They worked well last year so I’m hoping the same for this year.

    Have a great evening!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      Albins fur is as short as Gracies but he still get the occasional tick, the chance is bigger when living like I do with lots of high grass and animals who spread them everywhere. Flees however are still very rare here thankfully but I guess the warmer and shorter winters will make them more common.

      I’m so happy that Gracie finally eats again 🙂

      I don’t mind the mosquitos that much even though they are annoying but this year is a great year for the forest flies, long time since we had so many. They don’t bite or anything, they just annoy by trying to get in to my nose and ears :-)I get immune fairly fast towards the itching but I do scratch the first bites until they bleed, it sort of feels better with the pain than the itching 🙂 🙂
      I’ve ordered some pelargoniums (most of You americans call them geraniums) that are said to be mosquito repellant. To be honest, I bought those just because they didn’t have any red ones left 🙂 🙂 Herbs hate me so no use in tryuing those 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. Ticks are also a major nuisance here in NH, which is why I do not go off trail if we take a walk through the nearby city park. It must be really difficult to try and keep the dogs from running through tall grass and wooded areas as nearly all your photos show them having such fun, Christer. I have only ever had a couple of ticks on me once in all the years we lived in VA, thankfully. I like the small deer, bird and dragonfly…all lovely images.

    Like

    1. Hi Beatrice!

      I really can’t stop the dogs from running around so I must go through their fur every time we come home. I think the cats are worse when it comes to spreading ticks in my home though.

      I have had a few ticks in my life and they are truly disgusting animals! I guess we need a really cold winter or a very dry summer so most of they will die.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

