A lot of walking.

I got a phone call from the garage owner on Wednesday afternoon and that’s never a good thing the day before one has an appointment there 🙂 We have a problem he said. Turns out that Peugeot has three different timingblets on the same model of car and that the garage owner must have the motor number to be able to order the right one! Well I didn’t know it and I sure couldn’t find it when looking at the motor and I even had a work friend who has had a garage once to help me look for it.

 

A few of the flowers in my garden right now.

The garage owner managed to solve the problem in the end, he simply borrowed the different kinds and used the one that my car needed and shipped back the others. Si I was at the garage at 7am and started to walk towards Falköping and an allotment area I always see when driving to Falköping but I’ve never understood how to get in to the place. It really was perfect weather vice because it was slightly cool and cloudy but still rather bright with a weak wind that cooled me down when I got a bit warm. I had brought three cameras with me and brought two when walking towards the allotment area but only old cameras so it’ll take some time until You’ll see any of those photos 🙂

 

I had been thinking of bringing the dogs but it was a good thing I didn’t because here in the countryside there are now pavements so the cars, even if all drivers really kept the distance, comes a bit too close if having a car crazy dog like Albin walking with me. It was around 8km (5 miles) to the place so it took some time to reach it. I walked close to the railroad tracks and lots of trains passed by which was a bit odd I later realised since a fire south of our capital had stopped almost all train traffic south almost all day. I was thinking of walking by the bigger expressway on my way back because there’s a cycle path all the way back but there’s very little to see to be honest so I took the same way back again and photographed things I had missed before.

 

I let Albin run free in two places now, hee needs to be able to run around like the others two and get rid of some energy.

Nova usually rather walk around by her self.

I came back to the garage a bit too early so I left the two cameras I had because they just weigh too much. It was the Hasselblad camera which weigh 2kg (4,6 pound) and a smaller Zeiss wich weighs almost 1kg (3,3 pound) 🙂 instead I took the Minolta I have in the car if I find anything interesting while driving to work every morning. This time I walked on the pilgrimage I walked the last time I was at the garage. I didn’t go far though. I hadn’t been annoyed even a single time by flies when walking to the allotment area, now it was quite different 🙂 So I went back to the abbey ruin and took a short break before getting back to the garage. I had been out walking for almost five hours 🙂 and walked around 20km (almost 5 miles).

 

The Dianthus barbatus thrives in my garden.

Turns out that my Peugeot was fairly easy to change the timingbelt on, they only had to remove the right front wheel and the plastic protection stuck to it and a few things in the engine room. Some cars need much more things to be removed even before they can see the place where the timingbelt is 🙂 🙂 Still this is no cheap thing to change but it is cheaper than having to get a new motor just because the belt broke. Now I can drive for 6 years or 120 000km (74 564,54 miles), which one of them that comes first, before I need to have it changed again.

 

More from my garden.

We’ll have mostly cloudy weather today and later on we’ll get some rain too, rather normal weather when we celebrate Midsummer here 🙂 I did see a lot of small kids and new immigrants dance around the midsummer pole yesterday but I didn’t photograph it. Unknown men photographing small children aren’t especially popular here 🙂 🙂 I’ll write something about how we celebrate Midsummer here in tomorrow’s post.

 

I have some pretty big dog rose bushes in my garden. The biggest one is 3 meters (much the same in yards) high and twice as wide 🙂

Have a great day!

 

Rosa rugosa.
12 thoughts on “A lot of walking.

  1. Underbara sommarbilder! Synd om ni får regn, här varnas det för att det “kanske” kan bli lite molnigt framåt kvällen – och då sover säkert jag. 🙂
    Har nämligen varit uppe sen sju och förberett lunchen vi ska ha klockan tolv. Det gäller att vara ute i tid så att man slipper laga mat när gästerna är här. Jag vill ju också umgås! 🙂 🙂
    vilken jättefin bild på Albin! 🙂 🙂 🙂
    TREVLIG MIDSOMMAR
    Susie

    Like

    1. Hejsan Susie!

      Mig gör det inget om det regnar, jag firar inte midsommar. Ser ingen anledning till att fira att vi går mot kallare tider igen. Dessutom blir det ju alltid mycket lugnare om vädret är kasst, polisen har ju tillräckligt att göra som det är.

      Klockan sju hade jag redan varit uppe i tre timmar 🙂 Vaknar alltid på mornarna.

      Ha en trevlig midsommar!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer!

    That’s alot of walking around!! I would have come home and gone straight to sleep for a rest!!! I can’t wait to see those photos and to hear about the midsummer celebrations. I love midsummer!!

    Lovely photos of the flowers today! Those roses are massive bushes! I have never seen them grow that tall. Very lovely!

    We have been cloudy and cool and rainy – not great weather. I wish it would warm up a bit. We are only getting to a high of 13 tomorrow. Not nice weather for garden growing!

    Have a good day!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      I came home and took a walk with the dogs 🙂 I did however take a rather long nap today instead 🙂

      Photos don’t do them justice at all, they are huge 🙂 I’m very happy that they don’t spread thoough 🙂 The Cinnamon rose spreads via its roots and now I need to cut it down and dig up some roots befaore it spreads everywhere 🙂

      The rain has started and it’s a good thing because the midsummer celebraters tends to calm down when it does, this is usually a very busy holiday for the police so anything that calms people down is a good thing. Rather warm here though, over 22C almost all day today.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Hi Christer,
    That was a lot of timing belt confusion. It should be easier. Three different timing belts for the same engine type? Too over-complicated.

    It was also a lot of walking but at least that was pleasant. Not the buggy part but the rest of it. I look forward to the photos.
    A strange man taking photos of kids is also not a popular thing in this part of the world. But if he’s on public property and the kids are out in public, there’s nothing that can be done.

    Maybe you should take only Albin on training walks along paved streets with cars. He might get used to cars after much exposure and positive reinforcement (AKA, dried chicken treats). 🙂

    I love your dog roses. I have vicious multiflora Japanese ones. Maybe if I planted a lot of Rosa carolina or Rosa palustris, they would crowd out the vicious roses? No, probably not. With my luck they’d interbreed and become something even more vicious but pink. 😀

    Tree man came yesterday to trim up the Old Man black walnut and the sugar maple. There were a lot of big limbs hanging over the roof. He also took down a sickly box elder and another small black walnut that was right beside the house. I saved a piece of that one. Don’t know what I’m going to do with it. There’s a bit more light in the back yard now. Maybe some grass will grow. Maybe those dayflowers will actually have flowers.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      It is a French car so nothing else was to be expected 🙂 🙂 My guess is that there also were three different water pumps going withthose belts, they change those every time one change that belt. One can’t but love french cars 🙂 🙂

      I do like to walk around in that area when waiting for my car at the garage so I didn’t dare to take any photos 🙂 🙂 They would never forget me, especially since I had the huge Hasselblad camera 🙂 🙂

      I have been thinking of that but I’m not sure how he would react, he’s used to this calm place and he might flip out if there suddenly are lots of things going on 🙂 He would most likely scare people to death since he get so happy when he see people and then start his rather odd howling 🙂 🙂 🙂 A howling pitbull might look and sound rather dangerous 🙂

      I do like them too and now they are so big that I think it might be dangerous to take them down, they do have rather nasty thorns 🙂 🙂 I actually thought one of my roses were a R. carolina, the flowers look just the same but mine is way higher than the 6 feet it says they can grow too, perhaps twice that hight 🙂 I do wonder what could crowd out the Japanese rose 🙂 I’ve read that it is forbiddenb in many states in the US just because it crowds out everything else. Here the climate has kept it calm but niow when it’s changing who knows what will happen.

      I had to check what Dayflowers are and it turns out we call them Heaven flowers.I know that we have some species in our gardens here but they aren’t common, very beautiful I think. It’s always nice with a bit more light around the house ands my walnut is still too small to shadow especially much but it is alive and growing 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. I wrote the wrong thing. I meant day lilies. Hemerocallis. The ordinary orange ones that grow on the roadside. There’s a big patch back there but it’s shaded all the time. I have Asiatic dayflowers (Commelina) too. For some reason they prefer to grow where the sun kills them. The only ones that survive are growing between the trash barrel and the house or under an overturned bucket.
        The Japanese roses are very invasive. If I were to stop mowing the big side lawn, it would be Japanese roses inside of one summer. To kill them, I have to chop them down to a stump multiple times until they give up.

        Like

      2. 🙂 I have an old one that stopped flowering when the sun couldn’t reach it but mine is more brownish red. I moved several of them to a more sunny spot and now I hope they will reward me for that with at least some flowers next year. They are grumpy though and hates to be moved so I might have to wait a few years 🙂

        I do wonbder why some flowers seems to like places where they tend to die 🙂

        I wonder how they’ll react to our warmer winters here, as it is now japanese roses behave rather nicely here and I think my last one died this winter 🙂

        Like

  4. those roses are really something! everything looks so pretty! it is pouring here today from the tropical storms making it’s way up from the gulf of mexico. no watering for me today!

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      They are huge and always tries to injur me with their thorns when I mow the lawn 🙂 🙂

      No watering needed here either, it has been pouring down fore a couple of hours now but our weather is calmer than that storm.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  5. It’s always great to see all the colorful blooms in your garden, Christer. You did a really nice job showing us these. Glad the car was repaired OK and you certainly did a LOT of walking. Today I have done about 3.4 miles and I have managed to do 5 miles a couple of days last week, but it sure is a lot of walking! I bought one of thos fitness trackers and now it reminds me to get up and move, even when I can’t because of being in a car or simply don’t feel like moving.
    I agree that it can be tiring to carry around several cameras, and one Hassleblad would be more than enough!

    Like

    1. Hi Beatrice!

      I’m glad You like them 🙂

      The problem was that we didn’t know if I actually needed to get that belt changed because we couldn’t find anything that told us when it was done the last time or if it had been at all 🙂 Now at least we know when to change it next time and what kind it is too 🙂

      I do walk around a lot with the dogs but this was so much longer 🙂 It was actually twice as long as I used to run back in the days 🙂 but then again I ran six days a week 🙂

      I do like my old cameras but oh how heavy they are 🙂 🙂 It didn’t feel like I was carrying anything when I changed camera to the old Minolta 🙂 🙂 and that one is still a bit heavier than my digital Nikon 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

