Suddenly it poured down.

The rain was pouring down yesterday evening and all the sheep could do what to stand there hoping for it to stop.

I don’t know why but Albin allowed me to sleep until the alarm started this morning 🙂 I was just as tired anyway so it didn’t help much to be honest 🙂 The sun shone for a while when I drove to work but after that it must have rained most of the work day. The sun came back when I drove homewards again.

 

The Magpie sat on the sheep and I think it ate all the insects it could find. This time the sheep seemed to like it 🙂

So we went out on our walk as soon as I came home and I actually thought I would be able to walk all the way without getting wet from rain but how wrong I was. Halfway home a shower suddenly passed and it poured down. We managed to get some cover in the Portal until the shower had passed. After that the sun has shined with its absence and it has mostly drizzled since then.

 

Suddenly the rain started to pour down.

The wind is rather strong today and it does reach my cottage but it is from the right direction so the door stay open even if the wind blows. Albin goes in and out, mostly looking at Magpies and takes his tour round the garden and checks that nothing who doesn’t belong here has come in to his little kingdom 🙂

 

It’s so nice when the camera decides that it must be the smaller Rowan trees I want it to focus at instead of the huge cow 🙂

I’ve boiled chicken, minced meat and rise so now I have what the dogs need for at least two days and now it’s time to give myself something to eat as well.

 

I now have two small Blackberry plants (we call them Bear berries). They are suckers from a wild one that has very small thorns that doesn’t hurt.

The weed flowerbed will soon be filled with blue flowers.

 

Have a great day!

6 thoughts on “Suddenly it poured down.

  1. Hi Christer,
    My whole yard is a weed flower bed. 🙂 It’s mostly vicious roses but it’s okay. I slice them down now and then. They recover.

    “The sun has shined with its absence.” Not sure what that means except perhaps, bright clouds? It’s a lovely phrase.

    I hate when the camera won’t focus on the thing you’re aiming at. It doesn’t matter how many of those little focusing squares are all over the view finder, either. None of them ever seems to land where you want it. Happens when I’m trying to focus on something small and close, too. Then the camera chooses the far thing instead. I have to stick my finger up to the object and lock the focus in. Of course, my very white finger screws up the exposure but apparently we can’t have everything.

    Today is sunny and very hot again. I haven’t put the AC unit in. Of course, we haven’t done very much of anything that involves moving around, either. I took the dogs out at 5AM this morning. It was cool. There was a deer in front of the door. She looked a bit uncertain. Kind of like she just realized she had stayed out ALL NIGHT and now had to walk home in broad daylight with the whole world staring at her. 🙂 Poor girl. I hope she made it back to wherever okay.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      Most of myy vicious roses died one cold winter a few years ago and have never really recovered from that, I think there still is one that lives 🙂

      It is a saying we have here. For instance if the predictions said sunny all day and it is cloudy instead we say that all the sun shined with was its absence 🙂 (and not its rays). Today was quite the opposite, at least in the village where I work, mostly rays all day 🙂

      My camera can decide that it isn’t the gigantic moose just in front of me that I want to photograph but instead focus towards a tiny stone on the ground 🙂 Today it behaved Like You say, it shows it is focusing on something but still the photo is blurry just on that spot 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Just as I write that we’re having sunshine it starts to drizzle 🙂 🙂 🙂 They say that we’ll get warm weather during the weekend and sun as well 🙂 I’ll believe it when it happens 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer! I wish Hunter would let us sleep until the alarm – but nope! He has not done that since we got him. Its beginning to make us wonder if he will ever sleep past 5 a.m.!!! I hope he does. I don’t really like getting up that early on weekends.

    Today we are pleasant at about 20. I did leave the air conditioning on at home just in case but I don’t think it would have turned on once with the temps outside being nice. Then we get 3 days and nights of rain coming 🙂 Great.

    I don’t think I knew that magpies ate bugs off of sheep! That’s great for both the bird and animal isn’t it!?!

    I hope your blackberry plants grow. We don’t have the climate for blackberries. I have tried and tried because they are my favorite berry but no luck. Raspberries abound here though…which is strange that blackberries do not. I toured my gardens yesterday as we had a 2.5 hour power outage and saw that my raspberry patch has tons of buds starting to form so I am hoping for another bumper crop. I like to feed my elderly neighbors my harvests too. They enjoy them.

    Have a good evening – I hope the rain stops!!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      Back to normal again today but still much later than usual, 4:50 am 🙂 Dogs tend to sleep longer when they are two years old so if we can’t get any sleep nmow we might when they finally reach that age 🙂 🙂

      Much the same here today, around 20 and sunshine but just now it started to drizzle some.It will be very mixed weather here until the weekend they say and then we’ll get sunshine and warmer again, well I’ll believe it if it happens 🙂

      I have to admit I didn’t know that either but that is what it looks like the magpies are doing, especially since the sheep aren’t bothered by them. I guess we’ll learn as long as we live 🙂

      Blackberries aren’t especially hardy, they live onthe border to what they can take if one wants ripe berries in the autumn. These comes from bushes in the shadows where the berries rarely ripen but when they do they are delicious. I hope that my sunny garden will help them to ripen early enough. We have loads of raspberries around here, the smaller wild ones and they are truly the most delicious berries one can find! The flies usually chase me away though when I’m out picking them so I never get much 🙂 I eat them when we’re out walking instead 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Har aldrig råkat ut för några växter med taggar som inte gör ont!? Tvärtom, dom små nästan osynliga taggarna kan göra ont flera dagar efteråt, medan dom stora känner man när man får dom och tar bort direkt! 🙂
    Här kommer det också regn varje dygn, men för det mesta framåt kvällen eller under natten och då bara några mm. 🙂 🙂 Jättebra, egentligen perfekt, men det gör att allt växer något otroligt. Plantor, ogräs och gräs! Så nu måste jag klippa gräset igen…och sen rensa ogräs!! 😦 😦 😦
    KRAM
    Susie

    Like

    1. Hejsan Susie!

      De här taggarna brukar inte gå in i skinnet och de är faktiskt lätta att dra bort. Hade redigt taggiga på mitt förra ställe och det var väl inte så farligt om de fastnade i händerna, men om de hakade fast i kläderna kom man aldrig ur buskaget 🙂 🙂

      Ja det är otroligt vad fort det växer nu, jag skal dock vänta tillhelgen innan jag klipper gräset.

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

