No mowing today.

The rain comes and goes and has done so since we woke up. It is anything from misty rain to nice summer showers. It is a bit chilly but the air feels fresh so I have the kitchen door open so I can look at the sheep when ever I look outside. No lawn mowing this weekend because the weather will stay much the same the entire time. I don’t mind because the grass is still rather short.

 

Many people have a long weekend now because our national day is on Tuesday. I won’t have one though because we have way too much to do at work and we didn’t want to switch days like we did the last weekend. It feels ok to work on a Monday if it is a holiday on Tuesday but not to work on a Friday if the holiday is on a Thursday for some reason 🙂

 

We might still get some frost here, we usually count June sixth as the last night with the risk of frost here. We did however get frost as late as the 13th of June last summer. I’m hoping wer won’t get frost because I’ve planted some begonias outside and they can’t take any frost at all. I’ll cover them if they say there’s a risk we’ll get frost but sometimes we get it here anyway when the rest of the world is frost-free 🙂 I’ll see if I can find any more annuals because it looks like that last cold period killed most of what I had sown.

 

If he refuse to move just walk under him 🙂

I have lots of Magpies in my garden right now, they don’t seem to care about having three dogs and two cats as close neighbors 🙂 I can’t figure out whether they are fighting or playing but I guess they have fun since none is leaving 🙂

 

Haberlea rhodopensis.

My walnut tree.

I think it is time for a short nap and a walk when we have waken up again. The weather isn’t inviting in any way but it is still much better than winter 🙂

Have a great day!

 

6 thoughts on “No mowing today.

  1. Hi Christer,
    I love the snail. He’s very decorative.
    Piki Dog often walks under Rocky. He often walks on Rocky, too. 🙂 Rocky waits for me to tell it’s okay to step on Piki Dog. Rocky is a gentleman.

    Working on Monday, day off on Tuesday, Wednesday is hump day and it’s all downhill from there and that’s why you don’t mind working on Monday. But day off on Thursday and back to work on Friday doesn’t work because by Thursday you are in pre-weekend mode and having to come back to work on Friday is as bad as having to work on Saturday.

    The black walnut looks very healthy. Didn’t it have a pee guard around it or do you not need that anymore?
    The tree man was here yesterday. He was impressed with the Old One and said that it was unusual to see such a “grove” of black walnuts around here. He’s going to limb up the Old One and also the sugar maple on the other side. They’re really overgrowing the roof. It will be nice to get a bit more light back there.

    It’s cloudy here and pleasant. No rain for today, though. I have to mow the back lawn but I’m procrastinating on all my chores today. It’s slappardag, I think.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      I do like those snails because they do no damage to plants as long as there are decaying things they can eat. Used to have loads of them but two dry summers in a row has taken its toll on them.

      This is the first time I’ve seen Bertil do it 🙂 Sune used to do it quite often when Orvar lived, I’m not even sure Orvar noticed it since he was so big 🙂

      Yes it does look healthy and I think it is. The pee guard isn’t necessary any more since Orvar was the one peeing on it. Sune has other favorites he tries to kill though 🙂 So far he hasn’t noticed the tiny Red oak I have in one of the flower beds 🙂

      Yes You’re right about the not minding working Mondays but minding a lot working the Fridays 🙂 It is nice to get more light and the trees will most likely gain a lot from it too.

      The sun broke through to my big surprise when we were out walking this afternoon. I wore a fleece jacket since it wasn’t that warm but as soon as the sun broke through it got hot as h..l 🙂 🙂 Almost 100% humidity was the worst part. The lawn might actually dry up before the next rain come tomorrow aftrenoon so I might actually mow the lawn tomorrow. Won’t be sad if I can’t though 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. i am hoping for rain tomorrow. i finally broke down and watered yesterday. i prefer it when the sky does it! there are ‘walks for truth’ all over our country today. one sign i saw downtown this morning was: speak the truth or someone else will speak it for you. the trump is incapable of ever speaking any truth. he’s been a liar his entire life. everything he says is a lie or a gross exaggeration.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Joyce!

      That is the only advantage with rain 🙂 No watering any pots 🙂 You have so many that rain would help You a lot.

      The worst thing with Trump is that everyone knew how he is and still they woted for him!? He was going to drain the swamp and then he put even more of those people in the government and his followers still think he’s draining the swamp??? What even happened to the Republican party??

      Have a great day despite Your president!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. The snail, lambs and the yellow flowers were my favorites today, Christer, in no special order. We are predicted to have several days of rain in this coming week, but then we don’;t have any lawn to cut so no worries. Working on a holiday can;t be too much fun and hopefully you will receive a little compensation for doing wo.

    Like

    1. Hi Beatrice!

      I can never see too many lambs 🙂

      This time we didn’t change days so I’m at home today. I don’t mind working on a holiday if it means I can get a longer weekend and since no one is there to disturb us we usually get much more done 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

