Gold Ide.

Wednesday evening when the sun showed for the first time after the heavy rainfalls we had.

I’m always nervous before the annually vehicle inspection but this time it was horrible, I sat and shivered just before I had to drive in 🙂 🙂 I have no idea why I react like that but have been since the first time I had to go there. I can’t even say that anything bad happened when I was a kid and followed my mother to inspect whatever car we had. Everything went well though and now I won’t have to do it again until next year 🙂

 

Too bad that I missed when the heron stood by the water. You can see it up to the left in this photo though 🙂

It sounds as if all my neighbors have mowed their lawn today and I guess I should have done it too since the sun is shining and it’s just enough warm outside but I really don’t want to do it after being at work in the heat. I’ll do it tomorrow instead unless it is raining. The grass hasn’t grown that much since last time even if we had torrential rain on Wednesday. It does look much greener though and the weeds in the flower beds started to grow really fast 🙂

 

I drove via Falköping on my way home after work today. I needed some goldfish for the second water barrel I have. If I don’t have any fish in the barrels they’ll be mosquito paradise and I think we have enough mosquitos as it is since many comes from the bog. I just walked in to the pet store and said I need a few goldfish and the owner said ” Are You sure You don’t want Gold Ide instead?” So of course I wanted that instead 🙂 Ide (Leuciscus idus  link to Google on Gold Ide)   ) is a fish we have here in Europe and like the goldfish it lives in cold waters. I remember when I was a kid and went to the big aquarium we had in my town and I always went to see the Gold Ide first.

 

He was so happy that he finally could take a proper bath, the last time before the rain he barely got wet 🙂

To be honest, these are more brass colored but that’s close enough 🙂 These five won’t leave a single water living insects larvae alive 🙂 I’m not sure if they are jumpers though so perhaps I should buy some extra mosquito net to cover the surface with just in case. When I was a kid out fishing the Ide was the fish I mostly caught. It is edible and rather tasty says those who has eaten it but the bones in it are terrible. Now days rarely anyone would eat it but it was quite common back when we were poorer in this country.

 

The owner also told me about a dog food that I could try on Albin. It is expensive but still cheaper than boiling the food myself and it is for hyper allergic dogs.  It is made from Salmon and dried antarctic krill. The thing I do wonder about is the sugar beet pulp, I think Albin has reacted to fibers from beet root but I think I’ll try it and see how things go. As it is I’m not sure he gets all that he needs when I do the food myself.

 

It is time to do something to eat and today I’ll have meatball sandwiches with beetroot salad and tomatoes, plus some cheese I think 🙂

 

This is a female Wide Dragonfly or Troll spindle as we call it. I was looking for dragonflies and this one couldn’t be missed with those colors 🙂 I took this photo so I would at least have one of it.
but I could come even closer.
and then really close without it flying away 🙂

Have a great day!

 

Some photos of what is flowering in my garden right now. This is Rhododendron “Nova Zembla”.
Paeonia vetchii.
Bleeding heart.
Columbine.
Geranium pyrenaica.
Aronia which has the most tart berries one can find but full of vitamines and other things.
Columbine again.
I only have pink Spanish Bluebells in my garden and they spread happily.
10 thoughts on “Gold Ide.

  1. Hi Christer!

    Its funny how some things worry us and we don’t know why. I hope that the anxiety eases for you when you have to take your car in.

    Well we have reached a plateau of weather weirdness. Last week we were wearing socks and it was down to low’s of 2. Today we are going to 33. From chilling temps to blistering ones. Ridiculous.

    I love the picture of the columbine. I love columbines! And the close up of the troll spindle! How close is that!!!

    Have a great weekend!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      I’m afraid it just get worse every year 🙂 🙂 The thing si that as soon as I get outof the car and the inspectore takes over I start to calm dowm 🙂

      Ther weather changes really fast now! I hope that it at least clasmes down during summer 🙂 Over here it looks like we’ll have rather steady temperatures for teh coming week and every now and again we’ll get some rain.

      Columbines mean summer to me 🙂 Troll spindles however usually mean late summer here so it is a bit surprising to see them this early but I do like it 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer,
    I always get a worried stomach at inspection time. It’s the fear that they will find something that will cost far too much money to fix and I will have to buy another car which is also something far too expensive. 🙂

    The photo of the nursing sheep threw me for a second. As I scrolled past I thought, at first, it was a giant wooly spider. It was the blue tags on her ears that did it. They looked like big spider eyes. And then there were all those legs. 😀

    The link for the Golden Ide doesn’t work but I googled it. Pretty fish.
    When I was a kid, I used to like fishing for “sunfish”. I don’t know what they really were. They lived in the lake we vacationed on. They were small and very tasty when pan-fried but there were a lot of bones.

    Last night something got inside Little Quincey’s enclosure and ate all the newest growth. It’s back down to less than two inches tall but it’s got two branches with several leaves so it should be okay as long as I find some way to keep smaller critters out. I have copper mesh which I can tie around the wrought iron decorative fencing. I’m a bit worried that the resulting structure might work like a Faraday Cage or, worse, pick up random radio waves instead. 🙂 🙂

    It’s sunny and pleasantly warm with a strong breeze. Weather widget says rain. The sky is almost completely blue. Things could change.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      I would agree totally if this had started after I had to close my garden center and I was totally out of money but I’ve been like this even when I’ve had really good economy 🙂 I guess it gets worse now when I’m depending on a working car so much, without it it would take at least 3,5 hours just to get to work going by bus 🙂 🙂 I think I would get there faster if I actually walked 🙂 🙂

      🙂 🙂 🙂 It is the huge wooly spider 🙂 🙂

      I’ll see if I can fix the link, I might have forgotten to do something. I wonder if the sunfish You write about is the same that we back in the days could buy as an aquarium fish from the family centrarchidae? We can still buy them but they tend to be very expensive and sold as pond fish. I actually looked for those last summer but forgot to ask about them this time.

      That quince sure has a difficult life 🙂 Just the fact that it still lives shows that it is a tough one 🙂 It would at least be safe from the lightning if it should become a Faraday cage 🙂 🙂 :-)If it would pick up radio waves it would most likely be from a chanel one doesn’t like 🙂

      Cloudy and damp here this morning and I guess it’ll stay the same all day long.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. With my luck, if the quince cage picked up radio waves it would probably be from a country and western station. But it would be a feat for the quince cage because the signals would have to be coming from some other state. 🙂
        Instead of the Faraday cage, I pulled up one side of the decorative fence and put the mesh wastepaper basket over the little bush.
        This morning, I think I spooked the culprit. There was a newly minted bunny sitting right next to the wastepaper basket. I’ve seen the bigger rabbits stretching up from under the old quince to eat its new leaves. This little guy is probably too tiny to reach.

        You may be correct about centrarchidae and sunfish. I remembered that my brothers called them crappies. Those are in that family. They look familiar and seem to be about the right size.

        Like

      2. Or a religious channel with a preacher telling us that we all will go to hell and that he wants our money 🙂 🙂

        I don’t have many animals besides birds in my garden any more since they put up the lynx and wolf proof fences around the cowe and sheep pastures. I have the occasional deer, fox and badger but they too must come from another side to get in here since the fences were put up. I’m holding my thumbs for the little quince 🙂

        I’ll see if I can have a few of those fish, I don’t have many fish in my aquarium now so when they all have died out I’ll try and get some sunfish.

        Like

  3. you are about 6 weeks behind us. everything you showed that is blooming is long gone from my garden. i have apples the size of walnuts already. the dogwoods, magnolias and oak leaf hydrangeas are blooming and my allergies are awful. i try to never take medicine but i am leaning in that direction if this keeps up. all i do is sneeze and blow my nose.

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      It sure turned fast when it did, we were ahead of You in early spring 🙂 I know some magnolias are in bloom closer to the coast but mine barely survives here so I’m just happy that it is alive 🙂

      You should take medicine if it gets too tough but then again, allergy medicines tends to make one very tired instead, it is sort of doomed if You do and doomed if You don’t 🙂

      Have a great day despite the allergies!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. Härliga och vackra bilder – men bäst var nog den på lammet med lammungarna! 🙂 (Alltså lamm kallar man får här på Gotland och jag tränar på att få till rätt namn på dom. *fniss*) Sen gillar jag ju alltid att få se både växter, natur och framförallt djur!! 🙂 🙂
    Du skriver om att Id har många ben och jag har hört att här på Gotland så gjorde man förr Id-bullar för att komma från benproblemet. 😦 Fast det är något jag aldrig skulle äta. Jag älskar fisk, men kan absolut inte äta malen sådan. Sitter kvar sen dom hemska fiskbullarna i skolan! 😦 😦
    Inatt hade vi tydligen frost här. Ormbunkarna på kalhygget är bruna och sladdriga, däremot runt huset hade vi hela +1,7 – som tur var! 🙂 🙂 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    Like

    1. Hejsan Susie!

      Jag sitter här i köket och kikar på dem just nu 🙂 Bättre utsikt kan man inte få 🙂

      Idar har inte flera ben än andra fiskar men de är besvärligare att få bort, de är liksom mjukare men segare och sticks lika bra i mun ändå 🙂 Jag har alltid gillat fiskbullar men kan för mitt liv inte äta fiskpudding 🙂 så jag kanske skulle testa idfiskbullar någon gång 🙂

      Det var rätt varmr här i natt och nu får frosten hålla sig borta för jag har planterat ut knölbegonior och de klarar ju ingenting. Tänkte se om jag kan hitta lite andra begonior att samplantera med dem. Dessutom sådde jag lite tagetes utomhus, lite väl sent men hellre dem även om de inte blommar än ogräs 🙂

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

