The smell is heavy.

There’s almost no wind, 20C (68F) and cloudy. The air is heavy with the smells from the Lilacs and Rowan trees, so much that it is almost disgusting and gives me headache. I have an around 35 meters (much the same in yards) long lilac hedge and even though it does look beautiful I really don’t like it ๐Ÿ™‚

 

This is just a small part of my hedge.

Rowan trees everywhere.

The forest is filled with rowan trees and some lilacs too so it it impossible to get away from the smells. ย One rowan tree or one lilac smells rather nice though and I do like the rowan berries so I won’t complain too much :-)I’ve planted rowans in my garden as well so I really can’t complain about it to be honest ๐Ÿ™‚

 

The flowers are quite beautiful but small.
If one find lilacs in the forest one can be sure of that there once stood a cottage there.

Forest star.

We have a tradition here in Sweden (well I guess Scandinavia to be honest) to plant a tree which we call vรฅrdtrรคd (care tree) Back in the days that tree was supposed to be a home for the spirits of the home, like old deceased ( not diseased as I wrote first ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ) ย relatives or perhaps the gnomes. That tree was and still is sacred and must bยดnever be harmed in any way. Rowan trees in our gardens are quite often care trees and that’s the case here too. My care tree grows in the south-east corner of my garden, a place I’m pretty sure never will be used to anything else anyway.

 

Hag’s tooth.

Yellow two days ago, now white ๐Ÿ™‚

It is time to make myself something to eat. Yesterday I almost ran out of bread so I baked one. I didn’t have any rye flour at all so it is only wheat. What a difference it is when it comes to the rising of the bread ๐Ÿ™‚ Even the smallest dough becomes gigantic when it only is wheat flour in it, my bread grew out of the pan when it was done ๐Ÿ™‚

 

The last two photographs taken with the Zeiss 531.

Have a great day!

8 thoughts on “The smell is heavy.

  1. Hi Christer,
    English is a funny language. I think you meant old deceased relatives. But putting old diseased relatives in the trees did give me a chuckle. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Dough made from all wheat flour is dense but rye flour dough is even more dense. If you put the same amount of yeast in, it’s no wonder you had the bread dough that almost ate the Crane Lake Cottage. ๐Ÿ™‚ I had the opposite problem. I was used to regular white bread flour so when I used all wheat flour I ended up with a dough brick. Hardly any rise at all.

    The Hag’s Tooth flower looks interesting. Do you know the Latin name for it? When I google hag’s tooth all I get are a bunch of mountains somewhere.

    Today is cold, damp, dark. It’s a holiday and there are Memorial Day celebrations scheduled. It’s also raining. Not a great day for a parade. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      I laughed out loud when You made me realise what I had written ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ I was thinking of spell checking that word but was so sure it was right ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      I had forgotten how ell wheat flour rise compared to rye ๐Ÿ™‚ It just kept rising and flowed out over the pan edges ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve had that brick result too and one can say a lot of those loafs but eating just one slice of it fills up the entire stomach ๐Ÿ™‚ There’s no risk of being hungry for a long while ๐Ÿ™‚

      We have a couple of different species of Hag’s tooth but I think this one is Lotus corniculatus. It is the most common of them I’ve read.

      Too bad it’s raining when You’re having a parade. We didn’t get that much rain yesterday and nothing today but all Your low pressures are coming our way so I’m pretty sure we’ll get some soon enough ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. i love that hag’s tooth flower. i have asian lilacs and they smell stronger than the purple ones. i can hardly sit on my front porch when they bloom and you can smell them way down the street. they smell like a lady wearing too much perfume!

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      I’ve tried to have that flower in my garden but it usually gives up after a year or so.

      So the Asian lilac is nothing for me ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ I have Hungarian lilac and it is perfect, the flwers have very little smell so I don’t mind when they flower.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Hi Christer! I love the hag’s tooth! ๐Ÿ™‚ I like the name alot too!

    I can imagine how that smell would be overwhelming if there were no wind. I will send you some of our wind – we have too much. ๐Ÿ™‚

    We are raining again. This spring has been on giant rain drop and cloudy skies. I usually love clouds but I have planted my gardens and am anxious for sun so they can start growing!!!

    I love it when dough that rises gets huge ๐Ÿ™‚ That means more good bread!

    Have a good evening!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      I do like tyat little wild flower and I guess that tteth perhaps looked like that before the tooth brush ๐Ÿ™‚

      We’ll get lots of wind tomorrow they say so I won’t feel much of the smell when I come home from work tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚

      We didn’t get much rain yesterday and nothing today but all the low pressures from Your continent are on their way here so I guess we’ll get some eventually ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t mind that it is dry, the grass grow so much slower when it is ๐Ÿ™‚

      I had forgotten how different it is when baking with only wheat flour ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. Christer,
    I love so many of your customs and beliefs. Planting the tree is a wonderful idea. I do have a tree, a dogwood, planted over my first dog’s grave. I like the idea of garden gnomes. Hag’s tooth is a wonderful name for a flower.

    I have two lilac bushes in my front yard. One is a large bush while the other has miniature lilacs. The aroma is lovely but my allergies are usually triggered.

    The pictures from the Zeiss 531 are wonderful.

    Have a great evening

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      So one can say that the dogwood is Your care tree ๐Ÿ™‚
      Our gnomes are usually rathetr grumpy beings and they don’t hesitate to punish us if we don’t so as they think is right ๐Ÿ™‚

      I do like the smell from one lilac or one rowan tree but we have so muchg of both here that it is awful and it gets even worse when the flowers start to decay ๐Ÿ™‚

      I do like that camera and how the photographs turn out!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

