The mosquito season just started.

Another quite wonderful morning here, we’ll have one tomorrow as well but after that the weather will be a bit unsteady for a while. We might reach as high as 28C (82,4F) today so I better start the lawn mowing as soon as I’ve written this. My closest neighbors isn’t at home this morning so what ever sound my Flymo makes won’t disturb anyone.

 

My grape vines have lots of flowers this year but I’ve been unlucky when it comes to my Frost grape (River bank grape) only has female flowers, something that can happen rarely. So now when I have a Amur grape-vine with flowers too I do hope that one can help me to get grapes on both vines. I also have lots of one year old frost grape vines in pots but it takes around 7 years until they start flowering 🙂

 

There it sits, the hare.

Last morning when we went out to the bog we were attacked by lots of mosquitos. That’s the only place where there still is some open water so this morning we stayed away from the bog because they stay calmer during the day so we can walk out there later instead. There are actually two more places where there still is some open water but those are dominated by troll spindles/dragon flies instead. I do like troll spindles for many reasons, I especially like any animal that eats flies and they do eat a lot of them 🙂

 

We didn’t see much wild life this morning, we saw one fox running by and we saw one hare. We have lots of hares here now and back in the days that would have driven Nova crazy 🙂 Now days she’s more mature and a lot more lazy so she looked at it for a while but didn’t really care about it. Albin did however so I’m glad I had him leashed when we saw it 🙂

 

Clematis “Propertius” over my water barrel.
Apple blossoms.

It stopped to rest for a few seconds and I had to focus manually because the autofocus refused to focus on the troll spindle 🙂

I guess it’s best I stop or today and start mowing that lawn of mine. I’m pretty sure it will start growing a lot when that first rain hits tomorrow.

 

The Sand cherries flower now.
So does the Euonymus
and the Japanese quince
and the Paeonia vetchii.

 

Have a great day!

6 thoughts on “The mosquito season just started.

  1. that’s a big hare! teddy would go crazy. i am horribly allergic to all bug bites and i got 2 mosquito bites that keep me up at night. i finally had to buy medicine for them. i have so many birds that the mosquitoes usually aren’t too bad but we’ve had lots of rain recently so they are worse than normal. 82 degrees is really hot for you!

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      Albin do get insane when he see them too 🙂

      I’m so glad I don’t react too bad when it comes to insect bites and I get immune when it comes to mosquito bites. They itch in the beginning but after that I don’t feel anything at all. I wish it was the same with horse flies, those I always feel 🙂

      Lots of birds here too but the bog is just one big mosqito nursery I’m afraid.

      It really is and we’ve already had it a few days this year. I do wonder hgow the summer will be?

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer,
    I’m glad you did an enlargement of where the hare was sitting just to verify that the brown blob I saw in the roadway was, in fact, the hare. 🙂 Good for Nova for dismissing it as not worth the effort. Mine would have been like Albin. Well, they would have been quietly stalking which is probably more serious than being interested in chasing. Yes, after 8 years Rocky has fully embraced his inner terrier. It’s Piki Dog’s fault. Every bad habit Rocky has acquired is Piki Dog’s fault. 🙂

    The quinces here are gone by and the peonies are still buds. I had a mystery flower that I couldn’t identify but it turned out to be winged euonymous which I should have known. This plant was youngish and didn’t have wings on the stems where I could see them. I went back and looked again and saw developing wings farther down the limbs. You learn something new every day.

    It looks like a beautiful day in your part of the world. I’m not sure what it’s going to be here. Looks like the same dreary darkness as yesterday without the rain. That could change.

    Happy mowing and enjoy the rest of the day, too.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      I did think about asking You if You could see it in the first photo 🙂

      I’m so glad that Nova finally just doesn’t care about them, now I hope that it’ll be the same with Albin but I guess I’ll have to wait a few years for that to happen 🙂 No stalking when it comes to Albin though 🙂

      My quince and my apple trees always start flower at the same time here and they always start just before the Rowan does. I’ve never had a winged euonymous but I’ve been close to buy one several times 🙂

      It is very beautiful here today, a bit hot perhaps and a warm wind is blowing so it is like walking around in a blow dryer 🙂 Albin can’t take heat very well so he’s knocked out on the floor sleeping deeply right now 🙂
      The mowing was easy now when the grass was low and dry, stiull not fun though 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. I don’t need to buy a winged euonymous. They are very invasive here. Almost as bad as bittersweet vines. There’s one growing in the quince bush.

        Like

Leave a Reply

