At work on a holiday.

We’re having such a wonderful day, it is just enough warm, around 20C (68F), a weak luke warm wind and lots of sunshine even if it at the moment is rather cloudy. Birds are singing and Troll spindles/ dragon flies can already be seen close to the ditches that still has water in them. The occasional wasp queen tries to get inside my cottage and a few have lost their lives just because they can’t take no for an answer. It feels like summer but it’s too early to call it that so we call this time of year presummer, not pre summer because pre summer can be any time of the year as long as it is before summer 🙂

 

It’s a holiday here in Sweden today but I’ve been at work anyway, well my department has because we preferred to stay at home tomorrow instead. Every time we have loads to do and that’s usually this time of year and we can’t take the day off the day after a holiday we get the chance to choose if we want to stay home on the actual holiday or the day after and get a long weekend instead. Surprisingly many, the rest of the factory, wanted to work tomorrow instead.

 

The Forest Star has just started to flower.

I brought the dogs with me to work because my neighbors would be at home and most likely they wanted to sleep a bit longer today and that’s hard if one dog (Sunes) starts barking as soon as he thinks he can see a neighbor moving 🙂 We went out on my break to one of the two forgotten gardens that belong to the property and the first thing I did was to twist my right ankle and knee so now they both ache rather badly. It does help a lot to rest though because instead of taking a walk as soon as we came home after work we instead took a nap and I could walk rather problemless almost the entire walk, so I’m hoping this will be gone by tomorrow.

 

Four photographs taken with the Ambi Silette.

It is time to feed the dogs and after that myself as well. I’ll have the kitchen door open until I go to bed I think even if that means I’ll have to fight several wasp queens and to get my kitchen filled with dandelion seeds 🙂 Perhaps I should collect all the seeds and press out the oil from them, I’ve heard that dandelion seed oil is great to have in food 🙂

 

Four taken with the Nikon F75.

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “At work on a holiday.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Hope your knee and ankle are back to normal tomorrow. Good thing you have a three day weekend to rest them up.

    I’d rather have a three day weekend, too. Most Americans agree with that sentiment which is why most of our holidays now fall on Mondays instead of on the actual days. We have one coming up this week. Memorial Day is supposed to be May 31 but it’s celebrated on the nearest Monday which is the 29th this year.

    Why don’t Europeans use screen doors and windows? There’s a lot to be said for them, like no wasp queens or dandelion seeds in the house. Somehow they don’t manage to keep out spiders but that’s not a huge problem in my book. Plus old fashioned wooden screen doors make a lovely sound when you let go of them and the spring makes them slam shut followed by the snap of the dingus that holds the door tight against the door frame. Sproing! Bang! Click! Then your mother yells, “Don’t let the screen door slam!” Ah, good times, good memories. 😀 😀

    You are having presummer (as opposed to pre summer). I must be having prefall. It’s dreary, cool, and raining. Again. Or maybe that’s just what late May is supposed to be like. I may have forgotten what a “normal” May is supposed to be. Thanks, global warming. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      My ankle is much better but I am still a bit sour in my knee, much better though but a bit sour. I’m poretty sure it’ll be gone by tomorrow.

      They have done the opposite here 🙂 They removed Whit Monday and replaced it with June 6th, our national day. Everyone was annoyed when they did that because we like our long weekends. WE had managed to live without our national day as a holiday so we had rather kept Whit Monday 🙂

      I have no idea why we don’t have them. I guess that normally our summers are both cool and rainy so the need to have a door open all day was very small. Now we suddenly get hot summers (and presummer days) so who knows, we might start using screen doors soon 🙂 We have at least started to use fans 🙂 🙂

      If we would have written pre summer in two words it would have meant to summer instead 🙂 🙂 We actually have some of the worlds longest words in our language, nordvästersjökustartilleriflygspaningssimulatoranläggningsmaterielunderhållsuppföljningssystemdiskussionsinläggsförberedelsearbeten is the word with most letters in our language, 132 letters if I counted right. I simply refuse to translate it but it is only used by the militaries 🙂

      We have Latesummer too but oddly enough no preautumn 🙂 May can be both hot and sunny but just as well it can be cold and snowy here. The snow never last for long though but it is depressing anyway 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. I ran that through Google Translate. Google Translate hates combinative words. It did translate it after I broke some of it up into logical bits. It even offered suggestions on the Swedish side for what I might have meant. Google Translate has improved.
        However, I still don’t know what “North West Lake Shore artillery flight simulator plant materials maintained the follow up system discussion” is. “nordvästersjökustartilleriflygspaningssimulatoranläggningsmaterielunderhållsuppföljningssystemdiskussionsinläggsförberedelsearbeten” is not a word. It’s a sentence.
        Char­gogg­a­gogg­man­chaugg­a­gogg­chau­bun­a­gung­a­maugg is a local lake. It means “You fish your side. I fish my side. Nobody fishes in the middle.” Or so the story goes. 🙂

        Like

      2. Just imagine how long a sentence would be with that word 🙂 We’re having huge problems with English influensing our language as much as it does because if we break up words like You do in English it will mean something very different 🙂 The word means something like a preparing descussion for material maintenance at the flight simulation facilty in the artillery for the north east sea shore 🙂 🙂
        I do like the name on that lake but I do hope it has a shorter nickname 🙂

        Like

  2. Hi Christer!

    I hope your knee and ankle are feeling better. I hate twisting things – I usually bruise up quite nice with those!

    I wish we were having a holiday – I could use more days off. 🙂 Our next one is July 1st, Canada Day. We turn 150 this year so big celebrations everywhere.

    Its cloudy and cool (16) and they are promising rain. Not sure if we will get any as we just had a bunch over the weekend. But the clouds do look heavy.

    I cannot get over how grown up Albin is! Nice looking pup! 🙂

    Have a good evening!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      Both my knee and ankle are much better today 🙂 Still, I walk mostly on the roads today so I don’t twist them again 🙂 My knee got a tiny bit swollen yesterday but that was gone today.

      We have one more, June sixth but after that nothing until Christmas. We have Midsummer day but that holiday is on a Saturday but we are all home on Friday because as always it is the eve’s we see as most important here 🙂

      Very nice morning here today, even better than the previous mornings this week 🙂 They say we’ll get rain on Sunday and some days next week and we do need it because it is very dry here now (just as I like it 🙂 )but we all know how good they predict the weather here 🙂 🙂

      Albin is actually one year old on Monday 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. So much has happened since I began following your blog. Our animals, for one thing, Presidents..lots of things. I saw the picture of Bertil and realized I have one that looks much like him. In coloring and attitude. Stripe (terrible name for him but Howard began calling him that and it stuck) is a “no nonsense” cat and always has that cool look about him. They are still wild..but I can touch them. They disappear when strangers are anywhere near. Sugar, the all black one has disappeared. I am over the tears but I watch for him…he was the one closest to me. The last I saw him he was being chased by another old veteran black cat after a terrific fight..and that was it. If he is around he is laying low..but it’s been ten days and no Sugar.
    How beautiful you woodland forests are now!
    Hope your ankle is good now. It sounded like it was definitely on the mend.
    Take care, Christer.
    Mona

    Like

    1. Hi Mona!

      Yes lots have happened!
      Especially Your new president was something I never thought could happen. We laugh at him over here but it must be hard to have a president who embarres You all the time! He doesn’t seem to have clue about what he’s doing and all the lies!!!

      I’m pretty sure Sugar will come back again, male cats can take walks for weeks and they do know how to come back home.

      My ankle and knee are much better today 🙂 I have only walked on the gravel roads here so far just so I won’t twist them again 🙂

      have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

