A bit more complicated than I anticipated.

Catching the last sunlight yesterday evening.

The temperature has dropped from 28C (82,4F) yesterday to 18C (64,4F) today and that’s where it’ll stay all day and most of next week according to the predictions. I must admit that I’m enjoying this cooler weather a lot ๐Ÿ™‚ I should have waited to mow the lawn until today, I think I would have taken the problems I had much better ๐Ÿ™‚

 

We had a rather cloudy sky when we went out on our walk but they flew away pretty soon.

Lily of the valley.

It all started as it should yesterday, I have an electric mower (with a cord) and I found all cords and none had broken like they always seems to do during winter when I’m not using them. The mower starts without any problems and I had mowed around a third of my lawn when it sounds as if I hit something big. I move the mower but don’t find anything, think it’s odd and start the mower again. Once again it sounds as if I hit something big but once again there’s nothing there. I start the mower but now it just sound strange and it smells of burned plastic.

 

So I unplug it and turns it upside down. The motor is attached to a plastic plate which is welded together with the rest of the mower (I’m not sure how they weld plastic but they do, I guess they sort of melt together ย the plastic somehow). The welding has broken so instead of the blades turning around the entire motor has tried to ๐Ÿ™‚ This is nothing I can fix in a minute ๐Ÿ™‚ so I had to jump in to my car and drive to the supermarket in Skara to buy a new one. The problem with Supermarkets are that one can find almost anything there but they have no employees one can ask where things are! I did know where the mowers are but I couldn’t find any mosquito nets that I also wanted to buy while I was there.

 

Even the oaks have leafs now.

Anyway, I found two mowers that looked almost exactly as mine and I wanted the one with a bigger motor because sometimes ๐Ÿ™‚ it takes a while for me to decide to mow and the grass gets a bit too long ๐Ÿ™‚ Naturally they had sold all with the bigger motor butย just as I picked up the one they had I found my absolute favorite mower, a Flymo. It hovers above the ground at the same time it cuts the grass. I’ve never really understood how it manages to do so but it does.

 

I guess this water has more aroma than the cleaner one just a few feet away ๐Ÿ™‚

Everything worked just fine when I came home even if the grass was a bit too long. After the garden I also have some parts I need to mow around my garage. Unfortunately they have poured out new gravel on the road, well gravel is a bit nice to call it, it’s actually more or less stones. Those stones have spread far beside the road when cars have driven by and even if I tossed away all the big stones I could find I still missed some and naturally I hit them with the mower. The cutting blade is now slightly warped so the mower vibrates some. Isn’t it great, it didn’t even take an hour before that happened but it still hovers as it should.

 

These two are very good friends.

I’m pretty sure the old one can be fixed rather easily but not by being welded, instead I’ll use the old-fashioned nutsย and bolts. It is always good to have a spare one in case something like this happens again ๐Ÿ™‚

 

This is the difference I talked about yesterday. This is a north american spruce and the one below is our native one. Both photos were taken with the exact same settings.

The last two taken with the Zeiss 531 for this time.

Have a great day!

8 thoughts on “A bit more complicated than I anticipated.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Okay, I see the difference between the spruces. The NA one still looks neon to me but the Euro one is really neon. It’s practically Day Glo green. ๐Ÿ™‚ I wonder if your NA spruces are in the Blue spruce group.

    I googled Flymo. I never heard of such a thing as a hover mower. Now I want one even though the lawn is too big for something that needs an electric cord. Here’s a video showing how they get it to hover. It’s cool.

    It does take some luck to abuse two lawn mowers in the same day. ๐Ÿ™‚ I understand about the gravel in the lawn. The neighbor across from me gravels the dirt road to his driveway. During winter the plows move a lot of it around the neighborhood. I’ve got lots of it in the lawn close to the street. I tried sweeping it off the grass but that wasn’t very effective. I just pray the commercial lawn mower that my yard guy uses doesn’t fling it through the windows of my car or house.

    Our weather is similar to yours. It’s cool now. Sunny but with clouds coming in. I like this weather much better than those three super hot days.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      Looking at those spruces I would say that they belong to the Blue spruce group.

      What they don’t tell You in that video is that the winds inside the mower that keep it hovering works the opposite way when it reach a hole in the lawn ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ It sucks itself so hard towards the ground that it’s hard to move it at all ๐Ÿ™‚ I do like it a lot though and I don’tr have that many holes now days ๐Ÿ™‚

      It’s so typical, here I have a new mower and naturally I hit big stones!!! The stones flew so hard towards the plastic that it can be seen on the outside! Still better there than on my feet ๐Ÿ™‚

      We’ve had a wonderful day here, just beneath 68F and a wind just enough strong to make it feel comfortable. They say we’ll get some rain, showers, the coming days but lots of sunshine and the same temperatures. I know I shouldn’t believe a thing of that but it does sound nice ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. Thanks for telling me about the hole effect. My old dog Tegan was a determined excavator and left my yard looking a bit like Verdun after the First World War. Time has filled many of the depressions and lessened the depth of others but there are still a lot. I guess I won’t be getting one of those mowers. I’d be stuck to the ground more often than not. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

      2. I brought one with me when I moved here and everything went well until Orvar and Hector were born, they just loved to eat dandelions so they dug them up. I had to buy another mower ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

  2. Hi Christer, and after reading this post about the lawn mower issues, we are so glad that we no longer need to do this chore and do NOT miss it, so please no need to offer to let us help ๐Ÿ™‚ The name Flymo may be as it hovers above the grass, just saying. I didn’t watch the video that Caryn posted. The lambs in late day sun and Albin and Teodor(?) playing were my favorite photos today. Everything looks nice and spring-like in your area. We had unseasonable hot weather last week and the apt management doesn’t turn on the cooling until this week, so there were many unhappy residents. Luckily, the weather is a bit cooler this coming week.
    Happy mowing!

    Like

    1. Hi Beatrice!

      I can’t say I enjoy mowing the lawn but it is much better nowdays with these light plastic ones and I don’t have that much to mow either to be honest. A normal day it takes slightly less than an hour. I wouldn’t miss it either ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Yes the name comes from that But it is still odd that it doesn’t flatten the grass since the winds keep it above ground ๐Ÿ™‚ and it is amazing how easy it is to move around!

      Albin does love his Bertil ๐Ÿ™‚ They often sleep close together at night.

      We’ve had unusually hot weather here too and it kickstarted spring. I must say I prefer it when we have more normal temperatures, around 68-72F

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Hi Christer!

    That first picture looks almost surreal – like a diorama instead of an actual photo! Nice job tho!

    Sorry to hear about your lawnmower woes. Isn’t that just weird how things get broken or stop working over the winter when you don’t use them? So strange.

    We had a very soggy long weekend and wouldn’t you know it, the sun is shining today. Of course it is! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Have a good Monday!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      I do like that photo and I do like sheep ๐Ÿ™‚

      I guess this one started to break last autumn but I actually think it’s fixible if I just can find the right things. I have to admit that it surprised me a lot though ๐Ÿ™‚ Well now I have my flymo again and I’ve always liked those lawnmowers.

      I can’t coimplain about our weekend and it has continued muchthe same but cooler ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m a bit jelaous of the dogs who can enjoy this weather all day long but I guess they don’t ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

