We’re practicing.

My pink Dandelion.

It was like walking out to a summer morning when I let out the dogs after we woke up today. It was very foggy, 10C (50F) and absolutely wind free. Not a single sound could be heard from the big road and that means that almost all the trees now have leafs. It has been cloudy all day but my thermometer says we reached a bit above 20C (68F) anyway.

 

How many shades of green are there ๐Ÿ™‚
Always happy ๐Ÿ™‚

A field with more common yellow ones just outside where I live.

I must admit that it feels like we should get thunder any time now but I’ve been looking at the real-time lightning map and there’s a lot of thunder ย on the continent but nowhere near Sweden right now. It started to drizzle when we went out for our walk and a light shower arrived just after we had come home again. It was so light that I doubt that we would have been wet anyway ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Guelder rose.

We are now practicing Stay with Albin, well the two others do it as well but I can see that they think it’s stupid ๐Ÿ™‚ Yesterday we had to do it five times until Albin finally accepted that he wasn’t allowed to follow me ๐Ÿ™‚ Today it worked the second time. We also practice “DON’T CHASE THAT SQUIRREL”, That one is a bit tougher to follow. It worked today though but only because the squirrel was elsewhere and the bird he thought was a squirrel flew towards him ย ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Flowering in my garden right now.
I have two species of Service berries in my garden.
They look very similar but the berries can taste very different.
Nanking cherry, Prunus tomentosa. I need two different Nanking cherries to flower to get berries, my second one has unfortunately decided not to flower this year.
Can’t remember the name on this one.

I’m not sure I’ll have the time to write something tomorrow, we’ll have the annual road association meeting on Wednesday and I need two signatures on a paper before the meeting. I must try and find those persons to see if they’ll come to the meeting or not. If they do they can sign the papers just before the meeting, otherwise I need to find them after work tomorrow. I’ll do my best to do write something though.

 

Four photographs taken with the Nikon F75.

It is time to get something to eat. I’ve been boiling both chicken and minced meat for the dogs so the smell has made me a bit hungry ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Three taken with the Zeiss 531.

Have a great day!

8 thoughts on “We’re practicing.

  1. Hi Christer! We are nice and warm today to. I think we are sitting at 22 now and not much wind which is completely different from the weekend. It was so windy my wig just about blew off ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hunter has just graduated from puppy school – he completed 6 weeks of classes and passed with a diploma ๐Ÿ™‚ Does he listen any better? A little. Its a constant work in progress as you know. He’s such a happy puppy that he usually comes when he is called but its all the other stuff that he has selective hearing over. He’s getting it, it just takes time. And lots of treats!

    I hope your evening is pleasant!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      They say we’ll get those from Thursday here but that said that last week too so I’ll believe it if it happens ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ It has been unusually calm here lately, no risk of any wig blowing off ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      The selective hearing can be very annoying ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ Nova was like Albin is now when she first came here and it took a year until she really did what I aksed her too, so I’m looking forward to a year to a year and a half of selective hearing from Albin ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ He did very well today though but that’s mostly because the squrrels weren’t around I think ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer,
    Yes, my dogs think Stay is a dumb command, too. In our case, I use the command Wait because that’s what I was taught. When I say Wait, they both look at the bin where their dog food is stored so I’m not sure what they think it really means. ๐Ÿ™‚
    The command NO has also worn out its welcome. I’ve used it so many times that they don’t register it anymore unless I’m screaming it.

    Today was cold and cloudy again. It rained in the morning but that has stopped. Now it’s just dark and windy. It feels like early April.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ I do wonder what made them connect the dog food bin and the word stay ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Sit is the hardest word here, it looks as if he gets humiliated when I tell him to sit ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ It worked fine today though but who knows how it’ll work tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚ No worked fine too today but that’s only because there were no squirrels around ๐Ÿ™‚

      We had much the same weather again today and teh rain started almost exactly as it did yesterday. It is so dry now so I guess I shouldn’t complain about the rain if it falls, there will be no problems walking on the bog now so I hope that means it is too dry for the ticks to hang aroudn as well.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Hi Christer, yes Sune does look happy running. The service berries are flowers that I have not seen before. They are quite lovely and I wondered if they produced any fruit and, if so, is it edible?

    Like

    1. Hi Betarice!

      Yes they do produce berries. They are really big shrubs or small trees with the most delicious berries. I’ve never heard that there is any not edible species but all berries don’t taste delicious though. My big one has berries that taste like honey but the birds tend to eat them all before I get a chanse ๐Ÿ™‚

      There should be Service berries growing in the wild where You live since they grow naturally on the American continent.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. hi christer! we are having summer weather here for the rest of the week. i started watering which will go on now until fall. teddy is 12 now and i’ve really changed her diet. she eats 3 times a day and only small servings and mostly just chicken and dry senior kibble. if i give her any more, she throws up.i have service berries too and my berries taste very similar to blueberries. joyce

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      They say we’ll get summer temperatures from Thursday but they said that last week too and it was one of the coldest weekends in the country ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚
      I’m doing the same with Nova now but she gets minced meat instead. The itching seems to have calmed down but her ears are still a problem. I can’t give them food three times a day but I was thinking I could when I gave them their food a while ago, I think it would have been good for Albin since he eats more than the two other together (still not gaining any weight though).

      The berries from my big one tsate like honey and this year I hope I can taste some from the smaller one before the birds eat them all ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

