I didn’t expect that!

Three days of photos will be shown today.

Tonight’s the first semi final in the Eurovision song contest and our song is the first of them all. Most betting sites says we’ll end up as second to third in the big final but we must of course make it through tonight. I’ve read that some hard-core fans of the Eurovision says our contribution is too good and therefore boring so who knows what’ll happen 🙂 The good thing is that there are mostly women in this semi final so he has a better chance of being remembered when it is time for the people to vote.

 

He looks so troubled 🙂 We didn’t walk the way he wanted to 🙂

I won’t be watching more than the beginning today, it starts so late that I won’t be able to stay awake for so long if I want to be able to work tomorrow 🙂 I have actually never seen a semi final so I don’t feel like I’ll be missing anything. To be honest, I think the semi’s are the funniest to watch because that’s when the really bad contributions are shown for the first and last time 🙂 and believe me there are plenty of bad songs around in this competition 🙂 Russia won’t participate this year, the woman who sand´g their song had been performing in Crimea which is a crime in Ukraine and the Ukrainians did promise to arrest her if she showed up 🙂

 

It stood looking at the same direction when we passed it. Have no idea what it was looking at though.
I believe this is a female Yellowhammer.

The weather is like it is, cold and mostly cloudy but the sun does peek through the clouds every now and again. I can’t say I long to be outside though. I was talking with the beekeeper the other day and Sally came walking to us and sat down. Albin then jumped towards her and as we perceived it hit her in the head with his nose. Turns out he actually bit her! That was something I didn’t think would happen, he has greeted her before and never shown that he actually wanted to bite her. The injury wasn’t big but she had bled some. Poor Sally! I’m not sure how to stop this since no other cat ever comes close to us and he would never behave like that with our cats but something has to be done!

 

Maple flowers, quite beautiful.

It is time to make something to eat. I’ve boiled rice, chicken and minced meat for the dogs (I boiled the potatoes yesterday) so I feel that I too deserve something to eat as well. A question! Since Albin is allergic to almost everything but I still want to give him a treat, can I put chicken in the oven and slowly dry it till it is relatively hard but still not burned and keep it dry but warm in the pantry for some time? Treats can make dogs do anything and after that biting cat incident I feel do need treats for him too.

 

Male Yellowhammer.
The deer head looks really odd. I couldn’t figure out what’s wrong even in the original photo.

Have a great day!

13 thoughts on “I didn’t expect that!

    1. Hi Joyce!

      Yes poor Sally but we passed her twice today and she didn’t show any sign of stress or fear, just mild contempt 🙂 I’m glad she didn’t react worse.
      I knew You would help me with the jerky thing 🙂 Thank You!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  1. Hi Christer!

    Poor Sally….I am sure it was accidental! You are right, that deer’s head looks very odd and I can’t make the picture bigger to figure out what it is. Is there a crane in there too?

    We are cloudy and cool today. We are to be cool all week apparently. So over this weather already!!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      Yes poor Sally but we passed her twice today rather close and she didn’t react with fear so it looks as if she didn’t take it too hard.

      I hope it was because he jumped towards her like he does with the dogs here and I guess with an open mouth but I must see it as if it could be that he wanted to bite her and work with a goal that he won’t react to cats at all.

      Yes there are actually two cranes, I didn’t see that when I took the photo 🙂

      Clody and chilly here today but it will turn towards warmer again they say.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer,
    Here’s a recipe for dried chicken dog treats. I haven’t tried it so I have no idea how they are. Happy cooking. 🙂
    http://www.dogtreatkitchen.com/chicken-jerky-dog-treats.html

    It looks like the deer has turned its head a bit away from you and the green blotchy thing is one of those darker bits of vegetation that can be seen elsewhere in the photo. Either that or it’s wearing a green plastic nose cone.

    Poor Sally. I don’t know what to tell you about Albin. It could be that he didn’t actually bite Sally but just hit hard enough with his teeth to draw blood. My dogs do the “play bite” thing to each other. They don’t draw blood but I know from past experience that if the bottom teeth hit at the right angle, it will pull up a small flap of skin that might bleed. It doesn’t matter. The effect is the same and his actions have to be corrected instead of explained and excused. What I did with my cat-hating Jack Russell took time, obedience to the command “Mine, leave it”, a leashed dog, a closed area, and a willing cat secure in the knowledge that it could beat the snot out of a dog and was free to do so if needed. Undoubtedly there is a better way but that’s what I had at the time.

    The weather is damp, cold and cloudy. But it’s not raining.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      I checked the link and it looks easy enough 🙂 Now all I need to do is to translate it to the metric system and Celcisu degrees 🙂

      That deer looks odd, almost as if it had two heads 🙂

      Yes poor Sally! I don’t think he did it on purpose because he jumped towards her as he does with the dogs and I guess he had his mouth open. If he really had wanted to bite her he would most likely crushed her head. The injury is on the nose, we passed her twice today and thankfully she didn’t react at all. I was worried that she would show fear or run away but she just looked at us with mild contempt 🙂
      But as You say it doesn’t matter if it was on purpose, he must stop doing anything like that again.

      I hope the chicken jerky can help him understand that he shouldn’t care about any cats but the ones living with us. Not that I think any other cat ever will come close to us 🙂 Sally is unusual that way becauase she has come to Albin several times to say hi, I doubt she will again 🙂

      Cloudy and chilly here but no wind so I can take it 🙂

      have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. 200ºF is a really low oven temperature. It’s 93.3ºC. My oven doesn’t go down that low.
        If you have access to a microwave, you can do it in there in 10 to 15 minutes.

        Like

  3. Det ser ut som ett huvud till på rådjuret, men det är helt klart en liten fågel bakom rådjurets huvud som ger en skuggeffekt. 🙂
    Torkade kycklingbitar måste vara en vansinnig härligt god godbit! T.o.m. så en annan blir sugen!! 🙂 🙂
    Bilden på lönnblomman var otroligt vacker! Bäst idag!! 🙂 🙂 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    Like

    1. Hejsan Susie!

      Visst ser det ut som om den är tvehövdad 🙂 Jag skall kika på orginalfotot igen för den lilla fågeln missade jag 🙂

      Jag skall pröva att göra de torkade kycklingbitarns nu i helgen, hundar kan göra vad som helst för en godbit 🙂 🙂

      Lönnblommor är egentligen otroligt vackra, dock inte roligt att parkera under när de blommar 🙂

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. Since most folks have already commented on Sally and Albin’s run in, I will skip leaving more comments except to say that stuff happens even when people get together 🙂 But I wanted to let you know how much I liked the photo with the maple buds at first, until I saw the next one with the ship grazing. That one was my favorite today! I hope you are able to convert the measurements for the dried chicken dog treats as Albin will most likely be glad.

    Like

  5. Christer,
    One of Gracie’s favorite treats is chicken strips which have been dried. They are all natural and would last a long time if she didn’t like them so much. I give her treats when she comes inside and she turns her head away if she knows I have chicken strips.

    Gracie, when she was young, would jump against the door and bark when she saw the neighbor’s cat walking by. If she had gotten out, she would have chased that cat, and she had two of her own.

    Everything is getting so green. It may get chilly but spring is really here!

    Have a great evening!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      I know they used to sell dried chicken here, from China but they tended to if not killthe dogs so at least make them really sick. Lots of treats from China has been removed from the shelves now days. I’ll dry some chgicken this weekend and hope he will love them too 🙂

      I’ve been spoiled with doigs who only have loved cats, Nova really doesn’t care about cats but Sune loves them. Albin is the first one who tends to see them as potential food 🙂 He loves Bertil and teodor though 🙂

      Snowstorm here this morning but uit’ll turn tomorrow thankfully!

      have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

