It’s a twig, nothing more.

I felt already in the beginning of our walk that it was too much to wear a fleece jacket.

Another really nice day here, the sun is shining, not a cloud in the sky and a weak cool wind is blowing. The day passed really fast at work because most of the time I cleaned my work place and there’s a lot of cleaning since I work with powder paint which spreads just as easy as dust in the wind. We also mostly washed things for another company so the place was just as clean when I left for the day as it was after the cleaning.

 

In to the Forbidden forest.

I drove all the way to Falkรถping after work, I needed to get an ointment from the pharmacy, Albin do get eczema every now and again and this ointment works really fine. I also bought deworming pills and hydrogen peroxide because now’s the season for cat fights ๐Ÿ™‚ After that I needed to get a package. It’s so strange because most package delivery businesses delivers packages to the grocery store in Gudhem but the Swedish mail service delivers my packages to a super market in Falkรถping!

 

That means I must drive 20 km (12,43 miles) extra to get that package! It’s the double distance from my home but I counted from Gudhem to be fair. I had ordered a small lemon tree and a small Tree fuchsia (Fuchsia arborescens). I knew the Fuchsia would be just a twig or so but if it says lemon TREE it should at least have two branches I think. It is one twig ๐Ÿ™‚ To be honest it looks as if they have cut the top and it looks like two branches are starting to grow but it sure isn’t a tree ๐Ÿ™‚

 

So my hopes of getting any citrus fruits once again will be towards my small lime tree, the one with orange flesh ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ It tastes like lime but looks very odd with that strong orange color ๐Ÿ™‚ I have several clementine trees too, I sowed them two years ago but those will, if ever, not give any fruits until they are at least fifteen years old, I’m not sure if I can make them survive for that long ๐Ÿ™‚

 

WE walked up-stream the creek when I came home, I wanted to see if it is possible to walk to the lake tomorrow morning but I’m afraid my feet won’t allow me too. I might get there but home is another thing and I really don’t want to spend the night outside, especially since Sunday will be much cooler and mostly cloudy ๐Ÿ™‚ I wore a fleece jacket on our walk and it was just too much, even in the shadows. The weak cool wind was what saved me from boiling away ๐Ÿ™‚

 

I stood not even 60cm (less than two feet) away from a Hazel grouse without me seeing it and neither did the dogs. I would never have noticed it if it hadn’t flown away after a few minutes. I took a good look and found the nest with the eggs! The dogs didn’t care at all about them, after all they weren’t flying ๐Ÿ™‚

It is time to get something to eat, I haven’t eaten any real food since 5 am this morning. We always have coffee bread as we call it (buns, cakes, cookies depending on what we have bought) on our weekly Friday meeting but I don’t count that as food, just energy because of all the sugar in it ๐Ÿ™‚

 

I found Nova half way in to this hole and for a while I thought I might have to pull her out pulling her legs ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m pretty sure it’s the entrance to a fox den.

The first Marsh marigolds in bloom.

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “It’s a twig, nothing more.

  1. Hi Christer! Happy Friday!

    Sounds like your tree/twigs are going to be happy to get into the ground! I have never attempted any citrus – for sure never outside. With our zone it would never last. One of my friends has a lemon tree in her house and it has given her one yellow lemon so far but it took awhile to get yellow.

    So far I have sowed some basil seeds outside and fingers crossed they will grow! This weekend will be an outside weekend as the weather is supposed to be decent. Good for gardening!

    Nova must have smelled something delicious in that den!! So curious….but that’s when they get into trouble!

    Have a great evening!!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      This is not for outside more than during summer, even though our winters have become much milder they are still bad enough to kill citrus plants ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes it takes a year or so for the fruit to ripen!

      Basil and I don’t go together at all, it is enough for me to get close to it for it to die ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ I will however see if I can find some oregano, it takes a lot to kill oregano because it spreads like weed ๐Ÿ™‚

      I’m glad that whatever lived down there wasn’t at home or at least not prepared to fight ๐Ÿ™‚ It is a huge den so it’s possible the habitant not even noticed she was half way down there ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer,
    Huge den could be a bear. ๐Ÿ™‚ She would not be home this time of year, though. Probably.
    I was trying to figure out what those greyish lumps were. Good thing you put a caption under that photo. They looked like mushrooms to me.

    Your lemon tree will be like my tiny quince. Only taller, I’m sure.
    Where do you put all these tender fruit trees that can’t live through Swedish winters? You make it sound as though you have a heated greenhouse tucked away somewhere.

    Today is dismal. Cold. Leaden skies. Rain. It feels like late March.

    Enjoy the evening.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      We only have the brown bear, the same as Your grizzly so that hole would be way too small and we rarely have bears here this far south. So I’m leaning towards fox or badgers ๐Ÿ™‚

      I thought they were mushrooms too at first but then I realised it really isn’t the right time for mushrooms ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Most citrus trees will do great in my cool cellar during winter since I have the strong lights on there during winter. Lemon trees can manage even below 32F degrees for shorter periods of time and most other will manage with temperatures a few degrees above 32F. The Lime and clementines want it a bit warmer though so I’ll place them by the entrance door where they’ll get light but not too warm.

      A wonderful morning here, it wasn’t even frost during the night! Too bad the cooler weather will arrive tomorrow.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. I have mushrooms growing in my lawn right now. ๐Ÿ™‚
        My neighborhood and quite a bit of my part of the state is Italian and Irish heritage from back in the 1800’s. In the older Italian neighborhoods, you can often see fig trees in yards that are still owned by people who know what to do with the fig trees. The old Italian granddads grew them here but they had to completely bury them in the ground over winter. I don’t know how they did it. It looks like they dug a trench and bent the whole tree over into it to bury it.

        Like

      2. No mushrooms here yet.
        Yes that is how they did it, by diggiung trenches with dry leafs at the bottom. Then place the fig trees and cover them first with more dry leafs and then put all the soil back over the tree. Many do that here in Sweden too but I’m just too lazy and to be honest, I think my fig tree died this winter ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

    1. Hi Beatrice!

      Soryy, I would if I could but our nice weather will be pushed south. I mean they always have sunny and nice weather so why couldn’t we keep it here ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Christer,
    Once in a while I am lucky to get to the bakery when they still have cinnamon rolls. They are so delicious they sell quickly. Today I managed to get there when the newest batch came out of the oven. I had one for lunch and have another for tomorrow morning.

    I never think to plant fruit trees with our weather here, but it is very much like yours so I’ll have to think about it. I do have a very good herb garden and some other herbs in pots on my deck.

    I have a list of all the flowers and herbs I want to buy for the garden this year. I do love shopping for plants.

    Have a great day!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      I’m hoping for cinnamon rolls at our weekly meeting tomorrow. The kid at work, he’s really years old but the younbgest in my department and he came to us when he was 18, said that he most likely would buy them tomorrow for our meeting ๐Ÿ™‚

      I do like the fruits I get from my trees but I can’t eat apples any more so those trees have to go and I’m thinking cherries instead. Albin also get sick from them so that’s another reason. I’m hoping the seeds I got from Caryn will germinate already this spring, beach plums ๐Ÿ™‚

      The only herb that grows when I’m taking care of it is oregano and then it usually becomes a weed ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m not buying any flowers this year, I think ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

