Finally!

Finally, the wind has flown away and the sun is shining, at least for most parts because there are clouds that every now and again covers it. It isn’t especially warm to be honest, around 5C (41F) in the shadows but as long as the sun is shining it feels much warmer. So I do have the kitchen door open and every time the sun is blocked I hope it won’t last for too long 🙂

 

It was nasty cold this morning and I was quite happy about not having to go to work and have to scrape the ice from the car windows 🙂 For once the sun wasn’t covered with clouds but that didn’t last for long unfortunately. A really big cloud came along and covered the sky until we had come home and some time after that. It is amazing how the mood can drop when the sun doesn’t shine 🙂 Next week doesn’t seem to give us anything else than rain and snow according to the predictions so I felt I really needed the sun to shine today.

 

Quite chilly in the morning and the grass sparkled.

I have nothing much to do today besides the laundry and I don’t have much of that either to be honest. I’m pretty sure I’ll take a nap though, Albin is an even earlier bird than I am in the morning and he’s not quiet when he think it is time to get up 🙂 I could of course mow the lawn for the first time this year but who says I need to be the first one to do it 🙂 After all, it’s my neighbor who really cares about his lawn and he hasn’t started yet so why should I 🙂

 

Much nicer weather on our second walk.

It is time to make a pot of tea and perhaps something to eat as well, sandwich with meatballs perhaps?

 

 

Have a great day!

 

In my garden right now.

10 thoughts on “Finally!

  1. Hi Christer,
    You reminded me that I have frozen meatballs in the freezer. Something to look forward to later on. Thanks. 🙂

    I posted a photo of Quincy the quince seedling on FB. It’s next to a AAA battery for scale. It’s very tiny.

    There are many lovely things coming up in your garden. Not so much in mine. The grape hyacinths are blooming but the daffodil that kept getting snowed on never did manage to flower. Maybe next year. The old quince bush flowers are starting to open up. Of course, there are a few dandelions. The peonies I thought were dead have sprung back to life and are getting tall.

    Finally it has stopped raining here. The last three or four days have been miserable. Rain, drizzle, dark, cold, damp. I expected that it would rain all week because it’s school vacation week and the carnival is in town. It always rains the entire time that the carnival is here. Monday was a holiday and it was lovely and warm. The carnival opened on Tuesday and it’s been miserable since then. They closed yesterday afternoon. The rain stopped shortly afterwards. Today is cold but the sun is shining brightly. Happens every time. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      I always tries to help when I can 🙂

      Yes it is 🙂 but it is there and will grow. My quince still only have loads of buds but I understand it, it’s so cold during nights here so I would wait too 🙂 Still no grape hyacinths flowering here but a few warm days and they’ll star. The problem is that we won’t get any warm days until earliest next weekend they say.

      We’ll get rain and snow tomorrow and on Tuesday they say and I’m not looking forward to the snow. It is very dry here already, all smaller creeks are mostly dry now and that’s very early here.

      It’s odd that the weather often is miserable when a carnival or similar starts, it is the same here when the carnival down in Gothenburg starts 🙂 They could have had weeks with sunshine and warm weather but as oon as the carnival starts it gets cold and rainy 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer! It got quite chilly last night here too and guess what? We are due 10 cms of snow tomorrow. Enough to warrant a late spring weather statement. I am rather mad about this. This spring has not been great weather wise and now this. The snow we had yesterday melted nicely but the wind is bitter. I hope this is not an indication of what is to come for summer. I need just a bit of warmth – not blistering hot but a bit nicer than this.

    I too am having a cup of tea. Just a quick break before the next round of chores and whatnot.

    What is that mound up against that tree in your picture? Is it an ant hill? Its massive!

    I am sure Albin and Hunter must be related then. He never sleeps past 530 or 6 am – even on weekends. Quite tiring to be honest 🙂

    Have a good evening – I hope your meatball sandwich was tasty!

    Like

    1. Christer,
      Thanks for the last few pictures of flowers as the earlier pictures looked so bleak. It is the same here. There are flowers in the garden but most of the pine and oak are still in winter mode.

      I agree about mood and weather. We had rain for 3 days and I felt like doing nothing. There was sun this morning, and I was delighted, but it is now cloudy.

      I’m going to order a meatball sub. I was fine about cereal for lunch until I read your entry.

      In my front garden the start of a flower is well on its way. It has spread more this year. I love the white flowers which bloom. I just don’t know what they are, but I know they were a suggestion from you. Thanks!

      Enjoy your day!!

      Like

      1. Hi Kat!

        They started out really well but then the cold weather came and everything stopped. The two Ussurian redberried elderberry trees I have in the garden now have leafs but that’s it. I guess they all need sunshine so when it always is grey and dull on weekends or one can’t go out because we’re having a storm my mood falls like a rock. Storm again today but sunny now in the afternoon so today my mood is better. We belong to the lucky ones, not far north of here they will get up to 12 inches with snow today and tomorrow, that would most likely have made my mood fakll down below the ground 🙂

        Why don’t You mail me a photo of those flowers when they are in bloom, so I can tell You what it is 🙂

        Have a great day!

        Christer.

        Like

    2. Hi Dianna!

      Storm winds again here today but we belong to the lucky ones, just north of here they might get up to 30cm snow today and tomorrow, we only got rain 🙂 This is actually typical April weather here but that doesn’t mean I like it 🙂

      It would be nice in the temperature rose to 20C, I don’t ask for more heat the entire summer 🙂

      That mound is an ant stack and not especially big to be honest 🙂 It’s not higher than 150cm (5 feet). I think the biggest one here in Sweden was a bit over the double that hight 🙂

      I do wake up early myself but I wouldn’t mind if Albin had been a bit more quiet 🙂

      It wasn’t bad at all 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Härliga bilder – ser riktigt vårlikt ut! 🙂
    Jag som sista veckorna trott att våren kommit mycket längre på fastlandet än här blev bittert besviken igår när vi gjorde en blixtvisit på Södertörn (området mellan Stockholm, Södertälje och Nynäshamn). Vi åkte hemifrån 5 på morgonen, landade i Nynäs 10.30, körde sen till Tullinge där vi inhandlade en liten skåpbil och sen tog vi varsin bil och gasade tillbaka till Nynäs. Landade i Visby klockan 24.00 och var hemma 01.00 på natten.
    Men…..det ljusgröna jag förväntat mig att se var bara brunt, inga träd eller buskar hade slagit ut och det fanns inga blommor någonstans. Ovanpå det började det först regna på vägen till Nynäs och sedan kom det massor med snö – och så blåste det! 😦
    Vi hann med ett besök på Ösmo Plantshop (ett välsorterat ställe) men när jag upptäckte att en 30 cm hög Bougainvilla kostade 345:- och en stor jättesnygg Camelia kostade 790:- då stod jag över inköpen. 😦 😦
    Däremot så besökte vi Lidl (som vi inte har här) i Nynäs och där hittade jag 2 stora bägarrankor – en röd och en rosa – för 79:-/st. 🙂 🙂 Likadana såg jag i en blomsterhandel fö2 289:-/st!!!
    Så Rolle fick sin skåpbil (vår gamla pickup är verkligen gammal , 1996) och jag lite blomfägring, så jag är nöjd med den jobbiga resan! 🙂 🙂 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    Like

    1. Hejsan Susie!

      Det såg vårlikt ut ända tills i morse då allt var täckt av 5cm snö! Tack och lov så smälte allt bort igen innan jag kom hem efter jobbet.

      Våren började ju bra här på fastlandet men så kom kylan och allt bromsade upp. Min druvfläder från Ussurien (tror jag det heter) har blad men den startar tidigt varje år och sedan fryser bladen sönder 🙂

      Det var vansinniga priser! Jag hade stått över också, det är ju nästan ett rån! Lidl och andra större kedjor kan ju köpa in mämgder till alla sina affärer i europa spådet är inte konstigt att de kan sänka priserna såpass. Dessutom brukar hälften dö medans de står i butiken, men även jag har passat på ibland.

      Det var ju bra att ni bägge fick något 🙂

      ha det gott!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. It was good to hear from you, Christer. It sounds like Bertil, the older he gets the more he appreciates the companionship of the dogs. Was he closer to Ovar than the other dogs?
        Snow! Wow, and here it is going to be up into the 90’s by the weekend. I love all the seasons but Summer in southern California is not what I look forward to. Your forests..are wonderful. I can see ours from a distance…but not walk in them…Northern California is an amazing place..YES..why mow the lawn if your neighbor hasn’t begun his lawn mowing yet…but…isn’t it difficult to do when it gets very long. You live in such a beautiful and rugged area.. Must be wonderful!!

        Like

      2. Hi Mona!
        +
        I’ve tried to comment on Your blog but it won’t allow me, I have that problem with some Blogger blogs I’m afraid.

        Yes Bertil followed Orvar everywhere and was so lost when Orvar wasn’t around any more, poor cat.

        I must say I don’t like snow but I’m not sure I would like to have 90F either 🙂 🙂 🙂

        I do like our forests here but they have unfortunately cut down rather much around here, they replanted it just after but those plants will take some time to get big again 🙂

        The cold weather stopped the grass from growing but my electric mower is actually pretty good and can cut even rather high grass, just as long as it isn’t wet. Wet grass is murder for my mower 🙂 🙂

        The best decission I ever took wasto move here 🙂

        have a great day!

        Christer.

        Like

Leave a Reply

