The garden will have to be enough.

No new photographs today.

The weather isn’t inviting so the dogs will have to do with the garden today. There’s a strong wind and some misty rain and I’m just not in the mood to walk around in it. We’ll take a long walk tomorrow instead when I’ve come home after the garage visit to get a new exhaust pipe.

 

Dagsnรคs castle. It stands just beside the lake.

I had to stop giving the new food to Albin and Nova. Albin started to lose weight again and Nova did suddenly get big troubles with both ears. As soon as I stopped giving her that food the ear problems slowed down again. I would never have guessed that the food would give her ear problems if not someone, one of You coming here to my blog, had told me that could happen. Sune is however a garbage bin and can eat anything without getting any problems ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

 

From the last time I was at the garage and walked a part of the pilgrimage.

I’ll drive to the pharmacy tomorrow after the garage visit, it is time to deworm all the animals again. I am especially looking forward to give the cats their pills ๐Ÿ™‚ I must admit however that the last time I did it they both were so surprised that they just swallowed the pills ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m not counting on having that luck one more time ๐Ÿ™‚

 

This and the next one are the last taken with the Nikon F 401s.

It is time to make something to eat and I bought some blue cheese today so I’m thinking sandwiches with lots of things on, too bad I forgot to buy tomatoes. I also forgot to buy garlic, I’ll start giving the dogs some from now on so the ticks won’t bite them. It works really well, a friend of mind have her dogs garlic all their lives and they almost never had ticks. Garlic is unlike onions not dangerous for dogs, I learned that when Albin ate an entire jar with garlic cloves in oil and herbs ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Three photographs from the folder “For a rainy day”.

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “The garden will have to be enough.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Whoa. Albin must have been very fragrant for quite some time after that jar of garlic in olive oil. ๐Ÿ™‚

    It’s weird how food can effect things. I wouldn’t have thought it could cause ear problems but it’s possible. If resistance is lowered or if blood sugar levels are raised, yeast infections have an easier time getting started.
    I had an odd revelation about my dogs the other day. There was an online conversation about someone’s dogs being fragrantly and noisily windy in their sleep. It suddenly occurred to me that my dogs have never had that problem, asleep or awake. I must have hit on the right food by pure chance.

    The top photo is great. The light makes the blues seem crystalline. That piece of metal equipment looks like an elegant sculpture instead of a worn out whatever it is. Excellent.

    Today is meh weather. It’s not raining. It’s not warm. It’s not windy. It’s also not conducive to doing anything. It’s dull.

    Enjoy the sandwich and the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      He was ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      I asked the vet too and he said that yes food can give ear problems but it will always hit both ears and never only one. I was hoping Nova’s ear problem was something related to the food. This time it started as soon as she got that new food and as soon as I stopped giving it to her the problems started to go back again. Both Nova and Albin farts loudly when sleeping, well they do it all the time to be honest ๐Ÿ™‚ Sune never. I think I must start making the food to Nova as well and see if her poroblems stop totally. I’ll give her minced pork instead because the food was chicken so it might be the chicken she can’t eat. Life is so wonderfully complicated sometimes ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Google couldn’t help me with a translation to what that thing is called in English I’m afraid ๐Ÿ™‚ They used to use it every spring after they had sown the seeds in the field but now many years have passed by.I do look at it as a sculpture now days ๐Ÿ™‚

      Very windy here today, the gusts might reach storm strength tonight.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. I had to smile after reading the part about giving the dogs garlic to stop ticks. While not having ticks is good, I wonder how bad their garlic breath will be. Nice photos today, even if these were older ones.

    Like

    1. Hi Beatrice!

      Albin dd smell quite nasty for a few days but then again, he ate an entire jar with garlic cloves ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. i’ve totally changed teddy’s diet. i think a lot of her problems were from her food. she no longer gets anything with grain in it. she just turned 12 so i am now feeding her an elderly dog diet. the pics are beautiful!

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      I’m thinking of doing that for Nova too but instead of chicken I’ll try minced pork since the food she reacted to was made from chicken. I will of course put some of her and Albin’s food in Sune’s bowl too even if he can eat anything ๐Ÿ™‚

      Nova turns eight this september.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. Hi Christer!

    It is a challenge these days feeding dogs – I could easily go broke with what we have to feed Hunter to avoid his yeast issues. We have just started him on pet kelp. The goat milk is hit and miss and not always available so we have to try something else. Hopefully the kelp will work. Apparently its loaded with pre and probiotics and so far his yeast has not returned. I hope it doesn’t either.

    I had a dream about you last night! I dreamt we came for a visit and you had a pet donkey and you were living in an apartment. The donkey was very clever. Such an odd dream!!! We brought all our dogs too in the dream. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Good luck with the cat pills. Challenging to say the least!!

    Lovely pics today – our weather is turning nasty again, calling for snow this weekend. Its been a struggle this year with weather.

    Have a lovely evening,
    Dianna

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      It sure is and I still haven’t found any probiotics. We do however have a sour milk, that dogs too can eat, filled with good bacteria thatImI’ll try. I like it so much myself that I often buy it anyway ๐Ÿ™‚ Come to think of it, I have given my old dogs kelp! I remember that it was nasty expensive but lasted forever but those dogs were already healthy so I don’t think I noticed anything special about it.

      ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ I must admit that I do like donkeuรฝs a lot ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ especially clever ones ๐Ÿ™‚ I can just imagine trhe smell in that apartment ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Strong winds but sunshine here today and it will continue like that all day tomorrow as well.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. Hi again! Let me know if you want me to send some pet kelp your way. Its not too bad here, about $14 dollars Canadian for a bag that will probably last a long time. Keep me posted if you would like some sent your way!!

        Like

      2. Thank You but that is one thing I know I can get if I want to. I haven’t checked what it costs now days but back in teh days it was somnething only race dog owners used. I’m pretty sure many more do today.

        Like

Leave a Reply

