We just stared at each other.

It could have been rather nice outside today if it hadn’t been for the wind. We’ve had frost during the night and there’s no sun but it still could have been nice. We walked out on the fields because I’m pretty sure we won’t be able to for much longer, the cattle will soon roam there again because the grass is getting greener and longer. Well it won’t grow in these temperatures but as soon as it gets a bit warmer I’m pretty sure it will and fast too.

 

These two geese flew around a grove for quite some time. They weren’t fighting and I couldn’t see any fox or other predator. I wonder if they just were having fun ๐Ÿ™‚

When we reached the end of it I could go either towards the beekeepers cottage which is very close to home and since it wasn’t especially nice outside I know I most likely would turn homewards or we could walk over another smaller field to reach the bog. I looked around and couldn’t see any wildlife so I chose to walk there. There’s a huge mound close to where we went in and just as we passed it two crabยดnes were just as surprised as we were ๐Ÿ™‚

 

I think it wasn’t even ten meters between us (the same in yards) when we suddenly met. The first photo would have been great if I hadn’t been scared by the sound from the crane. It’s really loud even from a distance and this close it was really loud ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

They weren’t too bothered by us even if Albin did sound rather insane ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

They weren’t especially worried to be honest and we stared at each other for several seconds. I was just about to take a photo of the closest one when it suddenly honked (to say that it sounds like a trumpet is a lie ๐Ÿ™‚ ) and I got so scared that I missed the entire bird when I took the photo ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ They flew as most 100 meters away (much the same in yards) and didn’t care about us at all after that. I was so glad I had Albin in a leash because he got slightly insane by being so close to them and since he was at it he got even worse when a deer suddenly walked out in front of us ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Suddenly this fellow jumped out in front of us! He wasn’t too worried about us either, most of the deer around here know us by now but I’m pretty sure he would have stayed longer if Albin hadn’t been with us, newcomers are always something one should be suspicious about if one is a deer.

Normally he really doesn’t care about deers but I guess this was just too much at the same time ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ The deer,m a buck, however didn’t care much about us either. He walked a few steps and stopped to look at us and then continued like that until he thought we were boring and jumpedย away. Albin is now sleeping like a log, all that excitement and then playing with Nova made him exhausted ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Albin always look so innocent when I photograph while they play, he’s not though ๐Ÿ™‚

Sune was looking for squirrels instead ๐Ÿ™‚

It’s time for a cup of coffee and after that I’ll go out to my car and bring out all the soil I bought last Thursday. I must plant those bulbs and the big Dahlia root before they dry out. I have absolutely no idea where I’ll place the pots until I can have them outside though, none of them are especially hardy. Perhaps I should start the lights in the cool cellar again for a while.

 

Three photographs taken with the Nikon F401s.

Have a great day!

4 thoughts on “We just stared at each other.

  1. wow…i don’t know what i would have done if i ran into those cranes. they are huge and i can just imagine how loud they are. we are going to hit 80 degrees here today. unreal!

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      I just got very surprised and I wasn’t at all prepared for that loud honk ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ They really are huge but Normally they fly away as soon as they see anything they don’t like, it’s just down by the lake we can come really close to them.

      I wouldn’t like that high temperature now but it would have been nice if it at least had reached 50F.

      Have a great day despite the heat!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Christer,
    Gracie, when she was younger, would have torn my arm out of its socket if I was holding her on a leash. She did that if we saw another dog so I can only imagine her excitement if she were to see a deer.

    I used to walk my other dogs in the woods, but there are always a lot of dogs on the route so I chose not to bring Gracie. She really hates other dogs.

    It still looks stark in your pictures. It is the same here. There are no leaves on the trees yet. I have seen buds!

    Have a great evening!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      Albin is usually a dream when walking leashed, I’ve never trained him so I don’t know how he got so good at it ๐Ÿ™‚ Deer, cranes and squirrels however make him insane and impossible ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      I don’t know what it is with people around here but they don’t let their dogs greet aother dogs and my dogs just loves to say hi. It doesn’t help that both Sune and Albin sounds like insane just because the other dogs aren’t allowed to come close ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Big buds on most trees now ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

