So warm :-)

Even Albin slept until the alarm woke us up this morning but I’ve been just as tired anyway πŸ™‚ We had a wonderful morning, slightly cool with ground fog and mostly cloud free sky. The cranes were trumpeting, the woodpeckers drumming and all the small birds were singing the most wonderful tunes. Even better though, Albin listened to what I said all through the walk πŸ™‚

 

The spiders are back again πŸ™‚ I now have several in my home too and one has decided that my aquarium is a good place to live in πŸ™‚

I couldn’t for my life figure out what this was until I realised that some bulrush plants grew just beside it πŸ™‚

I was thinking of bringing the dogs with me when I went to the garage this morning but my feet were so bad that I wasn’t sure for how long I would be able to walk and it’s no fun for dogs to wait for a car to be ready if it takes too long so I left them at home. We wouldn’t have come far if I had to walk with three leashed dogs to be honest, they never want to check the same things so we would stop constantly πŸ™‚

 

I decided to walk on the pilgrimage but today I walked one I’ve never walked on before. It goes from Gudhem to Varnhem. Both places were really important back in the days when Sweden still was a catholic country. The pilgrimage pass by the lake and I had hoped I would be able to go that far but I had to turn back just a kilometer or so (a bit more than a mile) because my feet said no and the road back would be almost only uphill πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

I really like this photo even if it is unfocused or perhaps just because of it.

I was only wearing a fleece jacket and was a bit worried that it would be too little but figured that the walking itself would keep me warm enough. Turns out that a fleece jacket was way too much πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ There was no wind what so ever and the sun fried me almost all the way πŸ™‚ It was only when the pilgrimage went through thick forest that I finally stopped boiling for a while πŸ™‚ On my way back up the mountain I did wonder if I just would leave the fleece jacket on a fence pole πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

The lake. If I magnify the original photo it’s possible to see some cranes and swans πŸ™‚

They were just finishing with my car when I came back but the garage owner is there by himself now days but he had a school kid there to help him. It’s the ones just about to finish highschool that practice ten weeks at a work place. Still he had lots to do and another car was in the way. Now that doesn’t mean it’s boring to wait because he’s a very talkative and funny person so time usually flies away if one has to wait some πŸ™‚

 

I really would like to have a root cellar like this.

Much of the pilgrimage looks like this, at least close to Gudhem.

I stopped by the grocery store in Gudhem on my way home. The owner is from Thailand so now days they have quite a lot of Thai food one can buy, or should I say ingredients to make Thai food. The problem is that Swedes can be really conservative when it comes to food and if all text is mostly in Thai or English they just won’t buy it. So I told her husband that they should put up information about what the things are and how to use it.

 

All the old stone walls are still there, I wouldn’t be surprised if they are as old as the towns around it (over a thousand years old).

At first I thought this was a really bad repair of the wall but it is actually an old roof πŸ™‚

I was only going to buy frozen chicken today but I did stop at the Thai food part for a long time, I looked at the preserves and recognized at least two different preserved fruits so I bought them. There was more but the husband, who is Swedish, wasn’t totally sure about what was what either πŸ™‚ No matter what I’m really glad we finally can find some more exiting food and the day I actually knows what the things are I will buy lots of it πŸ™‚

 

Some parts passed through thick forest but the paths were still good to walk on.

I was thinking of stopping by the lake but the car would be too warm in the sun since I had 3 kg (over 6 pounds) of frozen chicken in it πŸ™‚ Lots of motorhomes were leaving so I guess the crane season soon will be over. Well I’ll see them here all summer but at least the tourists will be gone.

 

It was time to turn back again.

Much of the area is just as swampy as it is here at home.
An old fence in the forest. They don’t last that long if they are made from wood πŸ™‚

 

Have a great day!

 

Only uphill on the way back πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “So warm :-)

  1. Hi Christer,
    Well that was a lovely pilgrimage. I’m sorry your feet didn’t want to continue.
    I love the photo of the tuxedo cat by the black drain pipe. That one’s a keeper. Great angles and textures and tones. There are many excellent photographs today. The cat is my favorite but there are several others that are right up there.

    I was curious to see if there was someplace on the internet that would list Thai ingredients with their Thai names. Wikipedia to the rescue. There’s a list of fresh herbs, dried herbs, sauces and condiments and so forth.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Thai_ingredients
    Not sure you’ll want the list of insects. Somewhere there should be list of preserves and canned things, too. My google-fu is not working that well, today. πŸ™‚

    I had planned to purchase some beach plum plants but now can’t find any. Figures. Burpee Seeds offers them but I want Prunus maritima and Burpee’s are a proprietorial variant. Plant people are trying to commercialize beach plums. Cornell and other agricultural colleges are developing varieties of beach plums in order to do that. Anyway, I ended up buying seeds. I’ll get some dirt and plant them and hope for the best.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      It was so nice to walk there and I was completely alone all the time. I doubt very many walk these pilgrimages even during high season though πŸ™‚

      I do like that cat photo too πŸ™‚ I have one more but the cat saw me when I took it so it hunkered just as I took it.

      There was a few things I recognised because of the very little english text. They sold Thai bread crumbs?! I’m not sure if they are any different than ours but it seems a bit far to actually import bread crumbs otherwise πŸ™‚ They had water chestnuts just beside the preserved fruit which might be a bit confusing if one doesn’t know Thai or English πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I’ll take a look at that list and see if I can use it next time I go to that store. I doubt however that they’ll sell insects, there’s a limit to how much Swedes can take πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I have huge problems with Blogger today. At first I thought it might be an over load of the net since we’ve had a terrorist attack in Stockholm today but all other sites seems to be working as they should though.

      Isn’t it a bit early in the season to find bushes/ trees yet? I really don’t like when they create new varieties and then make that variety their property. It’s almost impossible for smaller garden centers to sell those plants without making them insanely expensive and suddenly they all seem tothink no one wants the original plant any more. Too bad I can’t send any plant back to You if the seeds germinate, Your laws when it comes to sending plants across Your border is almost as tough as Your laws against heavy narcotics πŸ™‚ I understand why though, lots of diseases have travelled back and forth.

      Have You sown the seeds now? They do need a cold period so You can always put them in moist kitchen towels in a plastic bag in the fridge until it is time to bring them out in the warmth again.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. I haven’t sown them yet. I checked on the website that sold them and they said we don’t need to put them in the cold for a bit. They’ve already done that. But there was one review that said they bought 5 seeds and none of them germinated. I didn’t check the date on that one. I have 15 seeds and I think I have enough starter peat pods for all of them. I’ll let you know.

        Like

      2. Great that they already have placed them cold! Just so You know, it may take two years until they germinate so don’t give up if nothing happens this spring/ summer. I’ll hold my thumbs for good luck!

        Like

  2. Hi Christer! What great photos from today! I loved everyone of them! Especially the old root cellar – I’d like one like that too! πŸ™‚ I wish we had roads around here for pilgrimages – and never see anyone on them. That’s my dream walk. I run into people far too often on my walks and when we want to take the dogs out its impossible to find anywhere where there is no one. Makes for a challenge.

    I love Thai food! Its so flavorful and you can make it as spicy or not as you like. I prefer the or not πŸ™‚ I can’t handle spice at all. I am a lightweight.

    I tempted fate and planted a planter (inside) of a jumble of different herbs. I think its a bit early but I am hoping that something will come of them. I checked last night and nothing! But I only planted them on Tuesday. πŸ™‚ That’s when my calendar said it was a good time to seed. I have a calendar that tells you a variety of things associated with gardening which is helpful.

    Have a good evening!
    Dianna

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      Just imagine how it would be to have a root cellar like that! I actually did in my previous home and I do miss it.
      I must admit that I didn’t know we had pilgrimages here at all πŸ™‚ I just stumble across one two years ago when I was waiting for my car to be repaired. Turns out we have at least three going from Gudhem πŸ™‚ The only tourists that comes here comes in groups and by bus, they visit places named in a series of book about a crusader. We have no records of ever having a single crusader from this countryt but there are signs that we actually might have had at least one anyway. So I can often walk on roads here without meeting anyone and when I do I get annoyed πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I do like it too but it is hard to get the real taste, well the one you get in restaurants πŸ™‚ but I know the owner of the store and if she just put up some info about what the different things are I might get the hang of it πŸ™‚

      Is it the Farmer’s almanac You mean? We have one over here too but I’ve just read bits and pieces from it. I have my tomato plants indoors yet, we might get frost in to the first week of June but I will most likely place them outside before that and cover them if it’ll get cold.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. Hi Christer! The calendar I refer to for my plantings, etc is the Witch’s Calendar. I get it every year as it tells me days of the moon, good times for planting, good times for harvesting. Plus lots of other good info. I get it from Llewellyn. Its a website you could find just by googling it. Its been quite beneficial to me – I find it a bit better than the Farmer’s Almanac but I do like the Almanac too! πŸ™‚

        Like

  3. Hi Christer, is really looks as if spring has arrived for you and since I know that you dislike winter and snow it can’t be soon enough/ here, we have had a soggy week with a lot of rain which has helped to get rid of last weekend’s April Fools snowfall, but now there’s a flooding threat. We can see that the river outside our apt window is quite fall now. Thankfully, we have no worries about flooding as we live on the 5th floor. Next week, we are expected to have spring-like temperatures and hopefully they will continue as I did a lot of spring cleaning today even switching out the flannel bedsheets.
    Enjoyed all the photos from your pilgrimage and sore feet can ruin any walk as I well know too.

    Like

    1. Hi Beatrice!

      It sure has and the days are now stead around 50-60F, night however is still rather chilly and quite often we’re having frost but that’s just natural here.
      It is odd thet You have had that cold wintery weather when we’ve had spriung weather. No risk of flooding here in the south of Sweden but they are preoparing us for water shortage during summer, last summer was so dry that the ground water in many polaces still are much lower than it should be.

      Yes sore feet are a pain. The worst thing is that my good shoes are so soft that I can feel stones through the sole of them πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. Christer,
    I love your photos today. The sunshine is just lovely and the stone fence and ruins are amazing. New England is famous for its stone fences. They have been around for well over a hundred years. Sometimes you see one in the middle of nowhere. You just have to figure someone used to live there.

    A kilometer is actually less than a mile. It is .6 of a mile. Because the US uses miles, I used to convert the km to miles when I’d travel so I’d know how far to go. 120 km=72 miles.

    The church is lovely as is the land around it. In most pilgrimages, the end is a church on a hill so all the pilgrims could see it way off and be inspired to make it there.

    I enjoyed the walk!!

    Like

    1. HI Kat!

      We have these iold stone fences all over southern Sweden because we have unusually lots of stones in the ground here. Just imagine how hard they must have worked to build them!

      Yes I know, did I write it thge other way round? but I must confess that I never remember by how much πŸ™‚

      The church in Varnhem is oddly enough placed by the base of the mountain πŸ™‚ but I guess itb was enough with moutain walking as it was before they reached it πŸ™‚ The abbey in Gudhem was so popular for a while that they had to move, they couldn’t aafford to feed all people who passed by and they weren’t allowed to take any money for the food πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

