I stopped by the lake.

We had a clear sky all night so it wasn’t surprising that it was only -6C (21,2F). It didn’t feel that bad though even if I had to scrape ice from the car windows. I could see that the sun was slowly rising behind a mountain east of here so I brought my camera so I could stop by the lake to get some photos. This time my car key behaved and no other car locked or unlocked when my car did 🙂

 

It was quite nice down by the lake and lots of people were out with huge binoculars and cameras. We had ground fog so I had hoped for a few foggy ones with cranes in it but there were so may cranes out there that their body heat was enough to keep the fog away 🙂 There were fewer motorhomes there now but still way more than thirty and I do wonder how they are able to sleep in them so close to the lake and cranes because the cranes are anything but quiet 🙂

 

If I wasn’t surprised over how cold it was here I was surprised over how less cold it was at work, 0C (32F) and some of my work friends had had it even warmer. All of them said however that they had had a cloudy night so I guess the border of the clouds must have been somewhere between my work place and my home. I actually don’t live far from my work place if one could drive as the birds fly, it is three times longer when driving on the roads 🙂

 

The rest of the day was mostly rainy, well drizzly is probably a better word for it. I don’t mind since it will help all the flower seeds I poured out over my flower beds. The prediction for the weekend has changed drastically from sunny and very warm to mostly cloudy and so so warm. I guess they will change it several times more but I won’t hold my hopes high 🙂

 

Four photographs taken with the Contaflex.

It is time for something to eat and I think it will be corn flakes today. I now have a period when corn flakes is what I want all the time 🙂 I guess it’s because it’s so easy, just pour flakes and milk in a bowl and voila 🙂

 

Four taken with the Nikon F75.

Have a great day!

8 thoughts on “I stopped by the lake.

  1. Hi Christer!

    Just look at all those cranes!!!! How one could get anything done, sleep or otherwise would be beyond me. I could only imagine the noise!!

    Yesterday we reached 13 degrees. Then it rained. Today is a mix of sun and cloud, mostly cloud and its WINDY. The winds will dry up all the snow that has melted. We are due a bit more rain and then back to somewhat decent temperatures for the next little bit. I am so happy spring is finally knocking on the door.

    The last picture in your blog is STUNNING. Perfect in every way.

    Enjoy the cornflakes!!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      There’s actually a cottage just beside the lake and how anyone can sleep in there this time of year is a mystery 🙂 but they have a fantastic view that’s for sure 🙂

      Rainy and 10C here today with a humidity on 100%, a bit sticky outside 🙂 🙂 It’ll be much the same through the weekend too they say. I’m glad as long as it doesn’t snow 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer,
    Wow! That’s a lot of cranes. Do they all nest there or are they just stopping on their way to the breeding grounds?

    It finally stopped raining here. It’s been raining all week but today is sunny and almost 50ºF. The quince bush is showing color in the buds now and I saw a small flock of Cedar Waxwings hanging around the juniper covered rock pile next to the church. The daffodil that gets snowed on every time it makes a flower bud has formed another flower bud. It’s going to snow tomorrow. 🙂

    I’m a big fan of meals that only require me to open a box and dump it in a bowl. 🙂

    Enjoy the evening.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      There was around 16600 cranes around the lake that day and it looked much the same today.
      Just a few stay here and all the rest fly to Norway to nest. The ones nesting in Sweden stop at a lake further south here in Sweden.

      It has rained all day today but it is fairly warm, around 50F and 100% humidity, a bit nasty to be honest 🙂

      That poor daffodil is hexed I think 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I forgot to buy more corn flakes today so I can only have one more bowl I’m afraid 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. that’s a lot of cranes! there must be a lot of poop there too! it rained here today which is great for everything especially the ramps! you did tell me that eventually these ramps will really take off, right? corn flakes for dinner? you are such a bachelor!

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      Well it is no place to walk barefeeet 🙂 🙂 🙂 Ther lake is so full of fish that they have fishing competitions there every winter, I guess the nutrition is high in crane poop 🙂

      Ramps will most likely spread insanely if they are left alone 🙂 We have a close relative to it here and it usually becomes a weed, still it tastes really nice so I guess that as long as one eat a lot of it it’ll stay where it is supposed to 🙂

      I had actually cooked food earlier in the day so I tought corn flakes would be enough 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. Dom som bor i husvagnarna sover förmodligen inte alls, utan sitter där dygnet runt och glor på fåglarna! 🙂 Är man ornitolog så är man!! 🙂 🙂 *fniss*
    Dom första bilderna var riktigt magiska, helt underbara!! 🙂 🙂 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    Like

Leave a Reply

