I do hope it survives.

The early morning wasn’t at all as nice as predictions said, there was a weak but biting wind and it didn’t take long until clouds covered the sky. They actually looked rather thin so I thought the sun would be able to shine through but I was unfortunately wrong. It isn’t until now, four hours later that the clouds have thinned out enough for it to shine through. It will be fairly warm though, at least 10C (50F) and to be honest it was still much nicer than if it was a winter day 🙂

 

We may not be able to walk on these fields for much longer, the cattle will soon walk around here and they tend to kill both humans and dogs if they get a chance.

We walked in the fields and Albin decided it was time to give me the finger again so he walked mostly leashed 🙂 I don’t know why but suddenly I looked down on the ground and found a little bird, a male Yellowhammer. At first I didn’t understand why it just sat there but then I saw that it bled slightly from its head. It looks like it just had survived an attack from a raptor. I picked it up and even if it bled some it still looked mostly ok. It was of course shocked but the wings looked ok. I placed it in a thick bush and I do hope it will survive.

 

It is that time of year again, time to start having fires in the chimney so they don’t get any ideas 🙂

 

 

I’ve paid my bills too this morning, never fun but at least it was a nice month this time. Two months each year are awful though, that’s when all big bills come at the same time and even if one knows about it and is prepared it still is awful to see how little money there’s left of that paycheck 🙂 I still have one thing I feel I need to do today and that is to order more film to my old cameras. I’m glad that it’s so easy to do online and it’s half the price to what I would have to pay if I went to a photo shop in town.

 

Four photographs taken with the Nikon F75. It was a chilly and foggy morning down by the lake.

It is time for a cup of coffee and after that another walk, it is still on the chilly side but I think that a fleece sweater will be enough to wear.

Have a great day!

6 thoughts on “I do hope it survives.

  1. Hi Christer,
    I love that first photo. I don’t know what the thing is but it’s got great texture, color and patina.
    I also love the photograph of the horses with the barns behind them and the bicycle.

    Good thing you were there to notice that little bird. I hope it survives, too.

    Today is cloudy, damp, cool and raining. The dogs are at daycare because I’ll be busy all day.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      I do like that one too, it’s a concrete lid to a well.
      The horsdes were waiting for breakfast and I guess they heard here because suddenly they all stood beside each other looking towards trhe house 🙂

      The Yellowhammer is such a beautiful little bird and it shone like a sun on the ground. It did bleed and I don’t know if it was very much because I really don’t know how much blood there is in such a tiny bird. I’ll most likely take the same way tomorrow morning to see if it is still there, if it is it will most likely be dead.

      Really nice and warm here today but the clouds were still blocking the sun even if they were thin enough for the sun to shine through.

      Good for the dogs!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. The photos of the foggy lake are so nice 🙂 I once found an injured bird and brought it home in a shoebox. I tried to give it some water and food, but it seemed so fragile, I didn’t think it would survive. After a little warmth indoors though I suddenly heard flapping around and it was flying inside my apartment lol…my (late) pugs were chasing it. I hope your little bird survives too! Have a nice weekend Christer!

    Like

    1. Hi Rain!

      It was a nice foggy morning and I almost didn’t bring my camera 🙂 I was going to the groecry store and thought I wouldn’t stop anywhere on the way 🙂

      Birds are tougher than one think but I’m always worried if they bleed. I think this little one made it though because I couldn’t find it or any trace of it 🙂 I once had a tame Jackdaw, it had broken its wing and it never healed right so he stayed with me (that was when it still was legal to help injured birds here, now we need a license to do that legally). It learned how to talk and was the funniest and most evil bird I’ve ever met 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Christer,
    The second picture reminds me of the ocean. All along the dunes here are grasses planted to hold the sand, and they look just like the grasses in that picture. I also love the bird on the chimney.

    I never gave a thought about cattle attacking people and dogs. That would scare me, a bunch of cows out for blood.

    Albin’s puppy persona does show itself every now and then. Gracie always tried to escape out the front door. Now she is content just standing there.

    Have a great evening!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      This grass only grows where it is really wet so In wouldn’t be surprised if it is a relative You have. We use another kind of grass to keep our sand from flying away, it looks much like barely so we call it beach barley 🙂

      Cattle see dogs as wolves, so if they have calves around they can attack and it seems there’s always someone who gets killed by cattle in Scandinavia each year.The cattle walking around in these fields aren’t domesticated at all so they can be even worse, thankfully they are terrified of the electric fences 🙂

      Yes it pops out every now and again 🙂 I guess it will for quite some time more, he’s after all only ten months old.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

