It is usually quiet here in the morning.

I decided to sleep in the livingroom last night just in case Albin would need to go outside in a hurry. I can make my sofa in to a bed and it’s quite comfortable even though the mattress is a bit hard since no one almost ever sleeps on it. I was too tired to go upstairs to get the duvet from the bed and thought the thick fleece blanket would be enough.

 

It was as long as one of the dogs, I think it was Albin, slept close to me but as soon as he moved to another spot it started to feel cold. I tried to ignore it for a long while but it just wasn’t possible in the long run. I was so tired that I didn’t want to go upstairs but suddenly I remembered that I had a fleece sweater close to the livingroom so I put it on and slept way after the time I usually wake up in the morning. Albin didn’t want to go outside even once during the night ๐Ÿ™‚

 

t was quite chilly when we finally went out for our walk, -7,4C (18,7F) but the sun was shining and there was no wind to talk about either. I had put on a sweater and after walking in the sunshine for a while I realised it was too much ๐Ÿ™‚ So most of the walk I had my jacket open even in the shadows. Sunday mornings are always free from human made sounds and that’s why I like them so much, today however was different. Some farmer had decided that it would be a good time to start driving around in a huge tractor before the sun rose and byย the smell of it now my guess is that he was spreading manure over the fields.

 

Still it was just a background sound but rather annoying. Lots of birds were singing and today I heard the first curlew close to my cottage. I can hear lots of Blackbirds too now and that is a true spring sound to me, so I really hope we won’t get any setbacks from now on. I have lots of crocus showing in my garden now and I can also see lots of the Lungwort show too. Yesterday I also noticed that the Hepaticas now have small blue buds ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Sune took a bath in the creek yesterday afternoon when he suddenly jumped up and started to stare down into the water. Something had touched him I guess ๐Ÿ™‚ Fish doesn’t swim this far up so I guess it must have been a frog ๐Ÿ™‚

It was so nice outside yesterday afternoon that I decided to do some work in the garden. There’s a big hedge with False Spirea ( Sorbaria sorbifolia) growing on my neighbors side of the fence and it is a terrible spreader. He has asked me several time if I want him to remove it but I always say no unless he wants to get rid of it himself. The roots lay just beneath the surface and are really easy to remove so it isn’t a big problem for me and the false spirea is also a big attractants of butterflies and other rather interesting insects and I really like to have lots of butterflies in my garden plus the beekeepers bees comes too.

 

Here comes eight photos taken with the Contessa. I wasn’t sure I would get especially many photos from this roll because I had to pick it out from its cassette. I tried the film in the Nikon F75 and that camera winds up all film as soon as one puts it in and then it rewinds it photo by photo one takes. If one unfortunately place the film slightly wrong in the camera it instead rewinds the film the first thing it does and then it’s impossible to get to the film without destroying the cassette ๐Ÿ™‚ Still I got plenty of photos.

I also planted two hazelnut bushes, a yellow currant bush and a quince too. I still don’t know where I should plant the Shagbark hickory though. I really don’t have the space for it but since it and its three siblings still are alive I really should plant at least one in my garden ๐Ÿ™‚ I also saw that the magpies have built a nest in one of my apple trees! I wonder why because I do have three dogs and two cats that gladly would eat them if they could catch them ๐Ÿ™‚ I really need to decide with what I’ll replace the apple trees later this spring. Albin gets sick by eating apples and I can’t eat apples unless they are cooked now days. I am thinking cherry trees but I’m not sure yet.

 

A cold and really foggy morning in Falkรถping.

Clouds are slowly covering the sky and tonight we’ll have snow again but it’ll be so warm that it won’t stay for long. The wind has started to blow too again so I think this will be a good day to stay indoors and take naps ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a great day!

 

8 thoughts on “It is usually quiet here in the morning.

  1. Hi Christer! The wind is howling here at the moment. I think its about 2 degrees but we are due snow as well starting tomorrow. March just does not want to give up her clutches on winter!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I am dreaming of my gardens and cannot wait to get stuck in. I hope for a nice spring and since it is spring officially tomorrow, I will keep my fingers crossed starting tomorrow. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Great pictures today! They almost look painted! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Have good naps!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      We have April weather here, cold nights and warm days with the occasional setbacks ๐Ÿ™‚ I do hope we’ll get May weather in April, May is usually warm and nice ๐Ÿ™‚

      I have lots to do in the garden this year but I won’t start with the big things until after the trees have flowered, the beekeepers bees and the bumblebees need the nectar ๐Ÿ™‚

      I did had good naps today ๐Ÿ™‚

      have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer,
    How can it be warm enough there for you to have frogs and plants with buds on them and garden dirt that isn’t frozen solid? You’re north of me. You should be cold. It’s not fair. Here we have March winds with February temperatures. I might have to throw grass seed out on the snow just so I don’t feel left out. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I think I have a shagbark hickory volunteer in my back yard. The leaf looks like it anyway. I’ve been topping it and pruning back side branches because I can’t really let it grow very tall at all. It will have to be a very large bonsai until I decide to get rid of it.

    I love the photo of the frost on the grass. It looks like someone scattered jewels all over the ground. That’s on of those shots I keep trying to get and keep failing miserably.

    Today is cloudy but warmer than yesterday. It snowed a bit early in the morning. The dogs and I went out around 8AM. The people were quiet but the birds were riotous. I was treated to a woodpecker drum-off. Call and response tree trunk drumming. It was probably the downy woodpeckers. They were accompanied by several Tufted Titmice whistling away. Spring!

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      They say it’s getting warmer the further north one comes so I guess that helps a lot because I really can’
      t say the gulf stream any longer since it has weakened a lot. They say that late next week we’ll reach 50F but we both know how good they are in predicting the weather so it might just as well be 20F instead ๐Ÿ™‚ At least You would feed the freezing birds with those grass seeds ๐Ÿ™‚

      I forgot to bring in one of those four shagbarks and it still look really healthy so that’s the one I’ll plant somewhere here. No idea where though and I’m pretty sure I won’t live to see any nuts from it, it takes 45 years until it starts I’ve read ๐Ÿ™‚

      I now know how to capture those sparkling dots, You should under expose the photo heavily! If I used the normal settings they didn’t show at all!

      Cloudy and a bit windy here now when it is getting darker, they say snow will fall during the night but it’ll be enough warm tomorrow to melt it all away again ๐Ÿ™‚ I heard the wood pecker here too, two different species actually, the great spotted woodpecker and the black woodpecker.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. Thanks for the sparkling dots tip. I shall try that as soon as there are sparkling frost dots on grass instead of frozen snow on the grass. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

  3. being cold while trying to sleep is one of those things you just can’t manage to ignore. we have rain on the way and though it’s milder here, i am freezing. i only get cold when the humidity is high.

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      You’re so right! I really tried to ignore it but it was impossible.

      Humidity can make any weather much worse, if it is hot it’s like living in a steam bath and if it’s cold it’s like living in a freezer ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

