Now the chimney’s swept.

We went out to the bog while the chimney was swept.

I’ve stayed at home today because the chimney sweeper was going to sweep my chimney today and since I’ve had visitors in my wood shed I thought it best to stay at home. Normally I just leave the door unlocked with a note to the sweeper that it’s just to walk straight in. The note said he would come somewhere between 11am and 1pm so I was a bit surprised when he turned up already 10:40 🙂

 

I woke up normal time and while I was sitting there eating breakfast I thought I might as well clean up this mess I call home, so I started in the kitchen and after I was done there I just continued in to the living room! This doesn’t happen often 🙂 It is actually hard to believe that this is my home 🙂 🙂 I was rather surprised when I cleaned the kitchen sink, I had just a sieve there and beneath it there was a damp dishrag. I don’t have much clean since I mostly eat my dinner at work so I hadn’t looked down there for a while. What did surprise me was that something was growing out from beneath the cloth.

 

The dogs had lots of fun chasing each other.

Turns out that I, rather long ago had dropped a tiny potato, You know those little ones one really can’t boil because they would just dissolve in the hot water, and then I had dropped the dishrag over it. I lifted the rag and found several just as small potatoes growing beneath it 🙂 🙂 🙂 I think I need to check there every now and again even if I don’t have any dishes to do 🙂 The small potatoes now live happily in my compost, who knows what they’ll produce this summer 🙂

 

It looks like Sune is the tough guy here but believe me it’s usually the other way round 🙂

My car now have new wipers, I drove to Gudhem after the sweeper had been here and now I even have one in the back window too, Haven’t had that since I bought the car 🙂 According to the weather sites I won’t need to use them for a while but it is still rather nice to have them there just in case 🙂 The weather today however is rather boring, it started out rather nice with a sun that just barely managed to shine through the clouds. Now the wind howls and the clouds are so think that the sun doesn’t stand a chance.

 

I found a few B&W photos I haven’t shown before, I think 🙂

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “Now the chimney’s swept.

  1. Hi Christer,
    The dogs look like they are having a great time. Sure looks really fierce in one of those shots, though. He looks as though he means business.

    I laughed at the kitchen sink story mostly because I’m probably going to find something like that in my sink sometime. I don’t use many dishes so I tend to let them accumulate in the sink. When I can see too many of them peeking over the top of the sink, I wash them. But I’m always afraid of what I might uncover. It probably wouldn’t be anything as useful as tiny potato plants. 🙂

    It’s blizzarding now. Snow has been coming down pretty steadily since before dawn. It’s small flakes and looks a bit wet. The wind is picking up and changes direction, too. We’re supposed to get around 10 to 12 inches. Whee. :/

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      Sune is the least serious dog there is 🙂 🙂 He rather walk away than fight for anything at all but he sure look dangerous when he plays 🙂

      I didn’t expect to see tiny potatoes growing in my sink 🙂 🙂 I eat at work so I either order food from the restaurant or bring my own and wash the dishes at work. We actually have a stove there too so if I had had the time I could even cook my food there 🙂 There wasn’t much left of the dish rag though 🙂 I do hope those tiny potatoes survive in the warm compost now when spring seems to be so close 🙂

      I’ve tried to find info about Your snowstorm but not much before noon today anyway.Isn’t it odd that snow can be either dry or wet, after all it is made of water 🙂 I do hope You’ll get less with snow!

      I watched the Yodl rap on YouTube 🙂 🙂 🙂 Well Romania seldom comes with boriung songs but I sure hope it doesn’t make it through the semi finals 🙂 The Australian is nice but it reminds too much of the one they had last year so I doubt it will go especially far. I still have plenty of songs to listen to 🙂

      Have a great day in the snow 🙂

      Christer.

      Like

      1. There was a point at which I could not see anything out of any of my windows. Just white. It was like that for quite awhile, too. I think we got about 8 inches but the last few were heavy wet inches. Now it’s blowing a gale and the snow is mostly ice. It stings when it hits you in the face. My plow guy has come so, of course, the street plow came right afterwards and plowed me back in. I’ll have to snow blow before it all freezes solid.

        Like

      2. That’s what snowstorms should be like but it shouldn’t stay on the ground afterwards 🙂

        Isn’t that typical? Why do they always come after so there’s a lot of work one really shouldn’t have to have. Good thing You have that snow blower!

        Like

  2. Hi Christer,
    The dogs are certainly having a great time. The pictures are great and show the dogs in all their glory. Albin was really enjoying himself.

    I love the black and white pictures, especially the juxtaposition of the houses and tree. They pop in their own way.

    I’ve had pumpkins grow in the compost pile. They just didn’t get big enough so I just left them there.

    It is pouring now and Gracie wanted out. We got off the steps, she looked around and ran to the door. My sweatshirt got damp and my hair wet. Gracie is now sleeping.

    Enjoy your evening!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      They sure had 🙂 no dull moments when they are out walking, except for when I scould someone for not doing what he/ she is supposed to do 🙂

      I’ve had pumpkins in my compost too but with the same result, our summers are just too short unless one start grow them indoors in early spring.

      Sunny and over F here today, too bad I was working 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Hi Christer! Oh I laughed out loud at the potato story! I can’t wait to hear what summer brings to the compost 🙂

    Love the photos of the dogs. Just look at Albin – he’s a big boy now! 🙂 Oh they play so hard don’t they?

    We are starting to warm up albeit ever so slowly. March is a funky month here – she can’t decide if she wants to stay as winter or turn to spring. We are due some rain then snow then +6 degrees. All in one week! 🙂

    Have a good evening!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      I was so syrpriused when I saw those tiny potatoes 🙂 🙂 They should survive without any problems in the compost even if nights will be chilly again.

      He has grown so much but he’s still much smaller than his brothers but at least now he’s gaining some weight again 🙂 Yes they do play hard and Nova is the toughest of them all 🙂

      C and sunshine here today but very strong winds. I didn’t notice much of it at work though 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. hi christer! do the dogs ever hurt each other? we were supposed to get a half foot of snow. i was SO excited! we got nothing. still no winter here. i guess it’s time to give up. joyce

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      No never, even though they play tough and run fast they still seems to know how not to hurt each other.

      I’m sorry the snow missed You! I know how much You like it!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  5. That was a funny story, Christer, about the potatoes growing under your dish cloth. Maybe if they stayed longer you would have had a small crop, but maybe you will still have some from the compost pile. The new wipers on your car would have been useful if you were driving here yesterday in our 10 inch snowfall. It’s cleared now but very cold outside for the next few days. I will be waiting for spring next week!

    Like

    1. Hi Beatrice!

      I was so surprised to see those tiny potatoes growing there 🙂

      We will get cold nights again but I think it is warm enough in the compost so they’ll survive till summer 🙂

      Yes my old wipers wouldn’t have last for long in that kind of weather 🙂 10 inches is an awful lot! We are still in springwinter here but today really felt like spring, 50F and sunshine all day.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  6. Både idag och igår har vädret varit otroligt bra, strålande sol – vindstilla och +7 grader! 🙂 Men det skulle visst börja blåsa framåt kvällen….. 😦
    Igår blev inget gjort, vi var till Visby halva dagen, och idag skulle jag därför fortsätta med min vårstädning. viktigt eftersom vi får middagsgäster i morgon. Men vad händer…..jag fick ryggskott! 😦 😦 Något jag brukar ha ibland när jag gjort nått tungt i trädgården. De här gången var det dock att jag tog fel vagn på ICA Maxi igår och där gick jag länge och handlade MYCKET! Kände redan då att det gjorde ont i ryggen, men trodde det skulle gå över tills idag. Istället är det betydligt värre. Kan inte böja mig alls. Så nu får gästerna ha det lite skitigt, fast jag tror inte att dom märker så mycket av det. Dom är ju i vår ålder….. 🙂 🙂 🙂 Det viktiga är väl också kanske att dom får god mat och att vi har trevligt!!
    KRAM
    Susie

    Like

    1. Hejsan Susie!

      Så ni har inte fått vinden än! Här har det blåst redigt idag men solen sken och det var över 10 grader varmt 🙂 Synd att jag jobbade hela dagen 🙂

      Jag har aldrig haft ryggskott men har ju min reumatism där istället, har förstått att de känns väldigt lika när man hör beskrivningar.

      Tror nog att dina gäster skiter i vilket 🙂 Själv kikar jag aldrig efter om det är städat eller inte när jag kommer hem till någon och får man dessutom mat så 🙂

      Ha det gott och krya på dig!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

