It’s a wonderful Springwinter day.

We’re having the most wonderful day here, the sun is shining and it’s almost 7C (44,6F) and the best thing is that there’s almost no wind at all ๐Ÿ™‚ It was however a bit more chilly when we went out for our morning walk but since there was no wind it still was quite wonderful. Frost covered most of the vegetation and the sun made the ice crystals sparkle.

 

When we were about to walk homewards again I suddenly heard a whistle, the kind that wants to catch attention. I turned around but couldn’t see any human at all. Turns out the starlings have come too ๐Ÿ™‚ There were two sitting on a telephone wire ๐Ÿ™‚ They had quite a serenade until one of them decided he wouldn’t waste his talents on me any more ๐Ÿ™‚

 

It didn’t take long until we went out for another walk and this time w went to the bog. The beekeeper was out and he tried to put fire to the grass with very little success, the upper parts of the grass was dry enough but the rest was too wet. No sounds from the outside world reached us when we were out on the bog, only bird song. Suddenly I could hear some cranes trumpeting in the distance but mostly it was Jays who kept on screaming (we call them Nut Screamers in Swedish). The smell of burning grass told me that the beekeeper hadn’t given up trying to set the grass on fire ๐Ÿ™‚

 

The grass had dried a bit more when we came back to the village but the fire was still looking rather insecure, it sort of burned for a short while and then in some places just died out while in others kept on but in very thin lines slowly moving forward. Sometimes flaring up just to die out seconds after ๐Ÿ™‚ I think it would be dry enough around 4 pm with the weather we’re having. As we stood there and spoke we suddenly saw a few cranes flying around in the air, following upstreamย windsย close to the mountain. Too bad my battery to the digital camera was at home charging up, I only had an old camera with me so no photos of it I’m afraid.

 

We might reach 10C (50F) soon so I’ll just finish this and then we’re out for a walk again, with the digital camera this time. It will be rather warm tomorrow as well but mostly cloudy they say, well at least I’ve gotten one sunny wonderful day this weekend ๐Ÿ™‚ We won’t walk out on the bog this time, the ground had thawed pretty good so it was a bit difficult not to sink down into the muddy ground but I jumped from tuftย of grass to tuft where it was as worst.

 

It is time to make a pot of coffee and perhaps a sandwich or two before we’re out walking again ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a great day!

8 thoughts on “It’s a wonderful Springwinter day.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Well, happy springwinter! It looks lovely there with all that beautiful sunlight painting everything.

    I assume the bird on the wire is the serenading starling. I have never heard a starling whistle in a way that would make me look around for a human. Mostly they do a lot of chattering with some wheezy whistles. A male cardinal’s call has made me look around for a human. They’re loud and the first note sounds just like the first note of a rude man’s wolf whistle. I’ve caught myself turning to find the asshat who’s whistling at me at 5 AM as I left for work. Then the bird sings the second note and I know I’ve been fooled again. ๐Ÿ™‚ But I’m relieved too, because I don’t live in a neighborhood that would have wolf-whistlers hanging about at 5AM. Or at all, actually. ๐Ÿ™‚

    The plumber came yesterday and fixed all the things. The toilet no longer leaks and the refrigerator is producing ice cubes. And it cost about what I thought it would cost. Always a plus.

    I wish your neighbor well with grass burning. In my town we have to get a permit to burn outside. The only months we can are March and April. A windy month and a wet month. Either everything catches fire and runs away from you or nothing catches fire.
    Nobody is burning anything today. It snowed yesterday but only a fraction of an inch. Then it froze. It’s colder than midnight on Pluto now. But the sun is shining. It isn’t warm but it is shining. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      We’ยจve had a fabtastic day here but I can see clouds coming closer so this was it for this weekend I’m afraid.

      Yes that was one of the starlings. They are great at mimicing all kinds of sounds and some sound exotic and we had one who came here for several years who sounded like a cuckoo clock ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ Car alarms ar common sounds as well.

      Great that Your fridge now produces ice! I almost never use ice but for one that does it must be perfect! and yes it’s always a plus when it doesn’t cost more ๐Ÿ™‚

      I don’t know if we need a permit to burn grass, I know we are strictly forbidden to burn things in a barrel, so almost everyone does ๐Ÿ™‚ He had continued after we had come home, so the next time we passed lots of the grass was burned down. I watched the news when I came home and the authorities was warning about the fire hasard now when the grass dries up in the sun ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. I’m envious of your 7C, would you believe I’m shivering at -31C? It’s insane…yesterday it was +5C. We had starlings trying to build a nest in our walls last spring. We had to borrow a very tall ladder from a neighbour to take the nest out and seal up the little hole they made. I love the idea of hearing nothing but the birds chirping in the bog. Enjoy your nature Christer, time flies too quickly! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Hi Rain!

      One never knoiws for how long it lasts though, winter can hit again way in to the month of May. WE had a snowstorm when I graduated from highschool, June 6th ๐Ÿ™‚

      I’ve never had a nest in my walls thankfully ๐Ÿ™‚ but lots of birds nests beneath the tiles on the roof ๐Ÿ™‚

      It is like the rest of humanity doesn’t exist when I’m out there and it’s even more quiet when the leafs grow back on the trees ๐Ÿ™‚ they dampen all sounds from the outsdide world ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. I was wondering why the beekeeper was trying to burn the grass now when it’s cold and from your photos it looks like there’s some frost. Speaking of photos, I really liked the close-ups of the grasses and plants, especially photo #6 in this post.

    Like

    1. Hi Beatrice!

      If one is going to burn off grass this is the time to do it, when the ground still is so wet that the fire can’t spread via roots but the grass itself is so dry that it burns down. The risk of it spreading is minimal now.

      I do like that photo too ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. Christer,
    I am jealous of your warm day and beautiful sunshine. Here we have had sun, but it was wasted sun as it was so cold.

    The wind is blowing so hard right now I’m afraid for more trees or big branches falling down. My front yard is still filled with branches as is my backyard. It is batten down the hatches time.

    I haven’t baked anything in a while so maybe I might mosey into the kitchen. Now that my laundry is done I am feeling accomplished.

    Enjoy your day!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      I wish it was today that they should sweep the chimney but the winds were so strong that I’m not sure if they had done it. NOt that one can feel anything on the ground but I guess they would up on the roof ๐Ÿ™‚

      I feel the same now when I’ve cleaned the livingroom and kitchen ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

