We’re approaching spring I think.

The moles have been busy this winter.

The sun is shining! It didn’t look like it would show up at all today until I had come home after work. First there were a few small cracks in the clouds and suddenly there was not a single cloud in the sky and still isn’t. Predictions says sun all day tomorrow and perhaps some on Sunday. It’s amazing, the sun will actually shine when it is a weekend 🙂

 

Albin is much faster than Sune normally but Sune has perfect paws for wet and heavy snow so Albin didn’t stand a chance when he tried to catch Sune 🙂

These maintenance days at work are heaven-sent, I get so much done I normally can’t do. If it is anything with the risk of getting dust flying around in the air I can’t do it because it will be sucked in to the box because the strong ventilation there and just to be able to change wear parts without having to stress like crazy is worth a lot 🙂 Days like this one I can actually take the time to check if I really need to change all of them, not just tear them out and put in new ones.

 

There isn’t much snow left now and I won’t complain about it 🙂 They say we might get a few days with spring temperatures next week and I do hope this was the last setback we had before real spring arrives. We call this time of year Springwinter, it isn’t quite spring yet but it isn’t really winter either. Normally we tend to have snow on the ground but with several degrees above 0C (32F) during the day but several degrees below 0C (32F) during nights. I always try to have at least one picnic in the sunshine days like that and it looks like I might get the chance tomorrow.

 

It is time to put another fire log in the stove, the night will be chilly. After today I won’t have a fire in the stove again until the chimney has been swept, they don’t really like hot ashes when they are sweeping. It is time for a cup of tea I think, I won’t work until Monday again so it doesn’t matter if it will keep me awake all night long 🙂

 

It is easy to see that Albin is unsure of what mode the queen of the universe has. Will she show him how easy she can humiliate him or will she play? Today she was gracious enough to let him have the stick 🙂

 

Have a great day!

 

I am pretty sure this is the print of a badger’s front paw. Found lots of them in the remaining snow not far from a badger’s burrow.
10 thoughts on “We’re approaching spring I think.

  1. Hi Christer! Send spring our way. We woke up to -38 with the wind this morning. So done with this nasty weather already. We are due to melt (again) late next week. But who knows what Mother Nature has in store for us. 🙂 We have to remain hopeful.

    I wish I was done work but I still have 4 more hours left to go! And I can’t even go outside and walk at lunch because I am sure I will freeze to death. 🙂

    This weekend we go to daylight savings time. I just hate it. I hate the change in the autumn and this one too. Not only do we have a very young, very hungry puppy who wakes up between 4 a.m. and 5 a.m. because he’s hungry and or needs to go outside so this will just compound the irritation of changing hours!

    Have a good evening!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      I’ll do my best 🙂

      Just getting more daylight makes life so much better and if it gets warmer as well that’s like winning the lottery 🙂 Our daylight savings time starts the 26th, I really dislike it too because it cane take months before I catch up with the new hours. This time however it seems as if my brain already is adjusting to it, I’ve started to wake up an hour erlier.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer,
    The dogs look happy to be running around in the snow. It looks like Nova let Albin have part of the stick, at least.

    That badger print looks like a bear paw. Probably nowhere near as big as a bear paw, though.

    The skunks have been busy on my lawn. There are probably all kinds of grubs and things under the grass. They have been diligently digging up small, shallow holes here and there all over the place. I’m glad they don’t leave huge piles like moles do.

    I’m hanging around waiting for the plumber to arrive. He’ll fix the toilet and maybe also hook up the ice maker in the freezer. Depends on the estimate.

    Spring is not here anymore. It’s on vacation again so Winter is back in charge. There was a dusting of snow this morning. A bit of it remains here and there. The temperature is dropping and will continue to drop into the very low numbers through the weekend. Then we might get hammered by a snowy northeaster.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      She eventually got bored and let Albin have the entire stick 🙂

      No the paw print was conciderable smaller than a bear print 🙂 I did for a while think it might be a print from a wolverine but it was a bit too small. It’s alwaysa tricky to know when the snow has started to melt. I’ve read that we actually have wolverines not too far from here, got a bit surprised!

      I’m glad in many ways that we don’t have skunks here even if they are cute 🙂 I’m afraid that Albin never would learn to stay away from them 🙂 🙂 My neighbors lawn are filled with mud piles from a mole, I don’t have a single pile and that always drive him crazy 🙂 🙂

      Bothe the Norwegian and Swedish weather site says warmer weather for at least ten more days but we all know that they most likely won’t be right 🙂 I still have hope though 🙂

      I hope the plumber has fixed the problem by now!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. it does look like spring there. springwinter is a good name for this time of year though it seems we are stuck in springsummer. i will try to enjoy this little bit if winter we are having!

    Like

    1. HI Joyce!

      I do like that name but I guess it only would work up here in the north since sprinwinter can stay for quite some time. Today seems to be a good springwinter day here, caold night but we’ll get lots of sunshine during the day. The weather sites predict warmer days for at least ten days ahead but we all know how wrong they can be 🙂

      Yes enjoy the snow You have, soon the hot summer will arrive.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. När man ser dom där mullvadshögarna så är man mycket tacksam över att man sluppit dom. Varken haft några här eller i Älvsjö – och jag vet faktiskt inte om dom finns här på Gotland eller inte. Har försökt googla och kolla, men det enda jag fått fram är att dom gillar inte grund mark. Så det kan ju betyda att det inte finns några när….. 🙂
    Nu har snön här mer eller mindre smält bort helt och dom få fläckar som finns kvar smälter helt klart idag i solen och “värmen”, så idag ska vi ge oss ut på en skön långprommis. Antingen vid havet eller i skogen.
    KRAM och TREVLIG HELG
    Susie

    Like

    1. Hejsan Susie!

      Mullvadar är trots allt ingetr större problem då de inte äter växter, högarna kan jämnas till. Det är mycket värre när det är sorkar för de äter allt! Jag har ju bara sand i min trädgård så de brukar bara gräva sig in hit när de är desperat hungriga, sandgångar håller inte speciellt bra 🙂

      Jag hade en riktigt skön morgonpromenad här, några minus men solen sken och det var vindstilla 🙂 Det finns lite snö kvar här och där men den lär snart försvinna helt 🙂

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      Like

  5. Christer,
    That is still a lot of snow. Gracie has barely any fur on her belly. When the snow is high, she has to move around to find a spot to go to the bathroom without getting her butt in the snow. I always feel bad for her.

    My laundry is finally done. I just have to bring it upstairs. I figure I don’t need to do any more chores as the laundry is a huge achievement.

    Enjoy your evening!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      Gracie and Albin is much the same, he has barely any fur there either so his skin becomes scarlet red when he’s cold. He didn’t try to move around it though, he jumped straight into it 🙂

      I’ll do nothing tonight, the bottom floor is still clean and nice after I cleaned it the other day 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

