Still snowing.

All photos today comes from the folder “For a rainy day”.

I feel much better today and I was in fact bored at staying at home already at 9 am this morning 🙂 I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t have been if it had been warm and sunny though 🙂 The wind has calmed down considerable but we still get some snow from the sky. We are at the edge of another snow storm that is on the east coast. Well that part of Sweden is always very dry and have much lower ground water level than usual so they should be happy for any extra water they’ll get 🙂

 

The night will not be as cold as they predicted before thankfully but the milder weather seems to bring even more snow to us before it all starts to melt again. Well it si way to early to hope for spring but I wouldn’t mind if it arrived anyway 🙂 I think the cats agree with me because with this much snow they barely go out and if they do they won’t stay outdoors for more than a few minutes.

 

The bread came out so so, I’ve had better but I’ve also had a few worse 🙂 I think it was a bit too cool for it so even if I had it in the oven on low temperature for a few hours it didn’t rise especially much. I’ll buy bread in the grocery store tomorrow after work 🙂 I really need to fill up my pantry and freezer again because I have just enough food for me and the cats to last until tomorrow morning 🙂 The dogs however have plenty 🙂

 

I would like to put out some deer food because I think one is visiting my garden at nights but I know Albin would eat it all long before any deer came close. I’m pretty sure he wouldn’t have an allergic reaction but I doubt his stomach would be happy about it anyway 🙂 I must see if I can put the deer food in something so that Albin can’t reach it, something very steady so he can’t make it fall to the ground either. I will put up the wildlife camera again tonight, wasn’t much use in doing it in a snow storm 🙂

 

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “Still snowing.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Good to read that you are feeling bored and better. 🙂

    I’ve seen deer feeders that are basically wooden rain gutters on saw horses but Albin could probably push those over. A wide shallow box on four legs might work. Something like a table with a rim to keep the food inside. It has to be low enough for the deer to get it but higher than Albin can stand on his hind legs. Either that or put it where Albin can’t get at it, if there is such a place. 🙂

    I like the first photo with the sun-drenched tree. It makes me feel summery. It’s not summery. I watched the weather report this morning and I still don’t know what it’s supposed to do. Warmer, rainy, maybe freezing rain, even warmer, colder, maybe snowy. That about covers it. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      Feeliong bored always means one is back to health again 🙂

      The problem is that Albin can jump really high 🙂 The kitchen counter is no problem at all so the food must be rather high up. I was thinking something like bird feeder but bigger, the deers used to empty the birdfeeders here so they would figure out how to get to the food and it smells a bit special too so thay would have no problems figuring out what to do.

      I got the same feeling when looking at that photo but it was actually taken just a few weeks ago 🙂 We’ll get plenty of snow before it starts to melt away again, driving to work tomorrow morning will be no fun and the roads will be nasty too 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. That’s what I assumed about Albin. 🙂
        There are other kinds of do it yourself deer feeders that involve barrels and tubes or PVC pipe. But I figure if a deer can get its nose inside the pipe part, so can a dog.

        Like

      2. I’ll see what I can find on the net, I have a lot of deer food left so it would be great if I could find a way to feed them and not Albin 🙂

        Like

  2. Hi Christer! Well, the blizzard that we were supposed to get didn’t really happen. The winds came and are still strong, gusts up to 80 km/h but the snow is coming in patches, not full on. That’s March here!! 🙂

    I can’t remember if I mentioned to you about all of our new pup Hunter’s problems with his skin and guts. We were at our wits end with his ongoing skin eruptions and bad tummy. Visits to the vet were not helpful as they didn’t know what to do or what it was and all they could do was put him on prednisone which was mostly unhelpful. Like putting a bandaid on a cut. So I spoke with a lady here in our city who deals with raw pet food. Now I could never afford for all 3 dogs to go on raw diets, but she suggested to us to put him on raw (not pasteurized) goat’s milk and raw, frozen beef tripe. Fast forward to today and his skin has cleared up, his guts although can at time still be wobbly (I think teething has alot to do with that, just like a child) and he is a happy, healthy pup. And his fur is incredibly soft. We also substitute a half cup of frozen vegetables for his limited ingredient puppy food and he is doing much, much better. Just a thought. It worked a charm for Hunter 🙂

    I hope you find something to do for the evening – maybe something good on TV?

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      TWe’ve had huge traffic problems here today and yesterday and more snow will fall so I won’t like driving to work tomorrow. This is April weather for us 🙂

      Yes I remember You telling me about his problems. I know raw food can help but since Albin is allergic to lots of different proteins I’m afraid that won’t help him much. It would be the chicken variety and perhaps lamb if they have that. The price is the same as if I boil chicken myself though so I’ll try some later, perhaps he’ll stop with those nasty farts he has 🙂 🙂

      I’ve fallen asleep in front of the tv almost all day today but thankfully I still feel tired so I can fall asleep again tonight 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      I really don’t like stomach flu’s so I’m glad it passed so quickly!

      I would gladely swap weather with You 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Vi har fått ungefär 3 dm med snö – bara tredje gången med snö den här säsongen – trots att vi hade runt nollan och nu är det +3 grader så det töar väl snart. Hoppas jag verkligen! 😦
    Blåsten försvann dock redan i i förrgår, så nu kan man gå ut utan att blåsa bort (gäller alltså Santos, vi andra står stadigt). 🙂
    Inget kan man göra i trädgården, men mina fröer har kommit upp iaf så all vårkänning är inte borta! 🙂 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    Like

    1. Hejsan Susie!

      Då har ni fått mycket mer än vi, men det är svårt att se då vissa platser är helt bara andra har drivor som är meterhöga.

      Ja tack och lov att blåsten gett upp, nu går det i alla fall att vara ute trots att det kan vara rejält kallt.

      Hittills har jag bara sått tomatfrön och paprika frön inne, resten är träd, buskar och perenner som står i kylen och väntar.

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

