Winter’s back again.

dsc_0027-2

We’re having a snowstorm today, just below 0C (32F) with strong winds and at the moment it’s the kind of snow that never seems to stop anywhere. It just continues horizontal until it melts I guess :-)I’m a bit lucky with the direction of the wind, it’s eastern but doesn’t hit my cottage more than occasionally, otherwise it would have been nasty cold here right now. At the moment I would just call it slightly chilly ๐Ÿ™‚

 

dsc_0029-2

dsc_0030-2

dsc_0032-2

We’ve been out for one walk today and we walked in to the forest. Quite nice there out of reach for the wind but at the same time a bit dangerous since one never knows when a tree might fall in the wind. After we came home I decided that was the walk we were going to have today, if the dogs wants to go outside the garden will have to do. Not that I think anyone else than Sune actually cares because Albin mostly walked around with his tail between this legs, he really don’t like the snow and wind combination and the cold snow gave him paw cramps.

 

Albin mostly looked like this on our walk, not a happy camper at all :-)
Albin mostly looked like this on our walk, not a happy camper at all ๐Ÿ™‚

dsc_0035-1

dsc_0036-2

This snowy and windy weather will continue until tomorrow morning, then we’ll get two cold days but after that warmer winds and some rain will come instead they say on the weather sites. So this weather is just a waste of time really! I want spring now but to be honest it would be very early if it came now, normally we can expect snow and winter all through April here, still hope is the last thing to give up.

 

dsc_0037-1

dsc_0038-2

The wind was a bit too strong even in the forest to start a fire today. The hunters have put up this and anyone of us can use it if we wish.
The wind was a bit too strong even in the forest to start a fire today. The hunters have put up this and anyone of us can use it if we wish.

I’ve started the fire in the stove again, I did that already when I went up this morning but let it die out just before we went out on our walk and after that I fell asleep in front of the tv, they are showing cross-country skiing again ๐Ÿ™‚ I want something sweet today but have very little ingredients at home and I refuse to go anywhere in this weather. I think I have enough to make some shortbread cookies but they are tricky to make in the fire stove because of the uneven temperature in there. They either get slightly burned in the bottom and hardly baked on the top or the other way round ๐Ÿ™‚

 

dsc_0041-2

dsc_0043-2

dsc_0045-2

Have a great day!

 

Most of last nights photos looked like this, turns out it reacts very well to snowflakes :-)
Most of last nights photos looked like this, turns out it reacts very well to snowflakes ๐Ÿ™‚
Here You can see that something must have passed in rather high speed, that whitis wide line at the lower middle to right side. A small owl perhaps?
Here You can see that something must have passed in rather high speed, that whitish wide line at the lower middle to right side. A small owl perhaps?
The interesting photo is this however. I tilted the camera a bit too uch towards thebground because I thought snow would cover the lens otherwise, so the infrared flash doesn't reach as much towards the sides as it could. There is this big eye that cought the light to the upper left side (just after 4am) and I do wonder what it might be? I'll place the camera at the same place tonight but less tilted towards the ground and hope for the best.
The interesting photo is this however. I tilted the camera a bit too much towards the ground because I thought snow would cover the lens otherwise, so the infrared flash doesn’t reach as much towards the sides as it could. There is this big eye that caught the light to the upper left side (just after 4am) and I do wonder what it might be? I’ll place the camera at the same place tonight but less tilted towards the ground and hope for the best.
7 thoughts on “Winter’s back again.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Those game camera photos are cool. The eye could be a deer putting its head down to graze on something? The white fuzzy thing is interesting, too. I figured snowflakes would trip it. Trees blowing in the wind do, too. I wonder if mice and other small rodents would show up.
    Of course, the eye and the white fuzzy things could be supernatural things. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Albin looks miserable. Can’t say I blame him. It is brutally cold and windy here this morning and that’s about how I looked while waiting for my dogs to do their business. Rocky looked like that, too, and he had a coat on. He was annoyed because he had to wait for Piki Dog to choose the proper spot.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      Too bad I tilted it a bit too much, I really would like to know to whom that eye belong ๐Ÿ™‚ There are some tracks in the snow, You can see them in the photos and what ever it is that walked there should have been photographed because I placed the camera there before the snow started to fall! SAo even if I think it is a deer I’ll go for a being ๐Ÿ™‚ I did after all bring home that small spruce that used to grow on that beautiful mossy tree stump that got damaged in the forest. Wood nymphs is said to look like old rotten tree stumps if they want to. So naturalkly I’ve brought one of them home with me ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ A good thing perhaps because if one help a wood nymph they’ll repay generously I’ve red ๐Ÿ™‚

      He so wanted to be out on a walk but still he didn’t like it for a minute poor Albin. Sune loved it and Nova accepted it but he was just miserable ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll buy him a coat and hope he likes it and not like Nova look as if he would rather die than wearing it ๐Ÿ™‚

      By the way, a piece of the roof up on the barn has loosened and is flapping in the wind. That hole barn can be in trouble if they don’t fix it now and I think the first lambs is about to be born there now.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. Sounds like Albin would like a coat and boots to keep his paws from cramping in the cold.
        Too bad many dogs are so opposed to coats and boots. Winter walks would be so much more comfortable for them, if they’d just cooperate. I’ve given up on getting mine to wear boots. Rocky likes his plaid coat and hates the waterproof turn-out coat. Piki Dog hates all his coats. He also hates being and/or wet. Oh, well. Life is tough for little dogs.

        Like

      2. Yes he does but those boots were needed to be fitted propoerly before buying them it says on the net.

        I’ll see if I can find a sweater from the day I was slimmer and see how it fits on Albin, I think I still have one or two here somewhere.

        Piki Dog has a tough life ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

  2. Winter’s back here too. Though I long for spring, I do love the snowy days as well. We have 2 huskies and winter is THEIR season. They love lying in the snow in the yard while the sun is out! Our little hound/cocker mix Jack though…he wears a coat and boots…maybe he’s a mamma’s boy ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  3. Just when I was getting used to seeing some lovely photos with no snow, Christer…the woods are white once again. There is no snow here in Nashua, NH now thanks to some mild temperatures last week, but it was very cold over the weekend with a lot of wind. Today it rained, but there is a forecast of some snow flurries by the end of the week. Albin wishes spring would hurry up it seems…and so do I.

    Like

    1. Hi Beatrice!

      I would gladely have kept the warmer weather even if it had meant rain instead ๐Ÿ™‚ but it will turn towards warmer days again but with cold nights instead.

      Albin isn’t a winter dog at all, feels strange since I’ve had dogs who loved winter more than any other weather for over 25 years ๐Ÿ™‚ So he and I long for spring just as much ๐Ÿ™‚

      We’re having April weather here now, some days warm, others cold and one never knows when the snow will fall again ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

