That dvd was a good buy.

Snowdrops in my garden.
Snowdrops in my garden.

I rarely say I love a thing, like food or gadgets but I watched the dvd, Miss Peregrine’s home for peculiar children, on Sunday and I do love it 🙂 It is a wonderful film but I don’t think anyone younger than ten years should see it, in the end it gets a bit nasty to be honest. I’ve found the book and the two following in English in my favorite online book store so I’ll buy those when my next salary.

 

dsc_0026-12

The False Cypress I bought before Christmas is still alive and well. It's leaning a lot though, my fault I'm afraid :-)
The False Cypress I bought before Christmas is still alive and well. It’s leaning a lot though, my fault I’m afraid 🙂
New leafs on my Tree peony.
New leafs on my Tree peony.
One of the potted hazelnuts I forgot to plant last autumn is fine and wel in its pot too.
One of the potted hazelnuts I forgot to plant last autumn is fine and well in its pot too.

With this salary I’ll pay for a game camera. I ordered it yesterday and with a bit of luck I’ll have it already on Friday. It’s not the kind that sends the photos as messages to my phone but it has gotten very good reviews and it’s within my budget, a not totally unimportant factor 🙂 The ones sending the photos as messages are a bit too expensive for my taste as we say over here.

 

dsc_0021-9

dsc_0022-8

dsc_0024-12

dsc_0025-13

Nothing much else has happened here otherwise. Today passed fairly fast even if it is Tuesday and I’ll leave work an hour early tomorrow because I’ve ordered some bulbs (not winter hardy here) and they arrived today. Naturally I must pick them up in Falköping and it’s hard to find anywhere to park close to where they deliver the packages.

 

a-2

a-3

We found what is left of the old football in the garden. Nova wasn't with us when we did and I doubt that Albin would have been allowed to take it if she had been. She guarded it with her life :-)
We found what is left of the old football in the garden. Nova wasn’t with us when we did and I doubt that Albin would have been allowed to take it if she had been. She guarded it with her life 🙂

dsc_0029-9

At least it won’t be dark when I come home because today the sun set at 5:34 pm, finally it feels like life will have a chance of returning 🙂 I’m tired of winter and darkness even if we haven’t had that much winter this year. They are threatening us with cold temperatures next week but so far it still looks much like it is now in the predictions and I hope it’ll stay that way.

 

dsc_0031-10

dsc_0039-8

dsc_0051-5

dsc_0059-3

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “That dvd was a good buy.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Snowdrops in bloom. I am jealous. I noticed that the vicious roses are starting to leaf out. It figures.

    That football has seen some hard times. Do you think Nova will recognize it again? Piki Dog and Rocky both have toys that are basically fuzzy rags but they play with them a lot so they remain in the toy box. The only ones I toss out are ones they have taken outside and forgotten for several months.

    It took a couple of seconds for me to figure out what a game camera was. I was thinking something to do with computer games but couldn’t figure out why it would have to text messages to your phone. Then I remembered the garage. Aha! I hope you’ll let us see if any cool game wanders by.

    Today started out cloudy but the sun poked through a few times. It’s about 50ºF but a bit damp. Still comfortable for walking around without a jacket and in my flip flops. I was going to put the snowblower in the cellar again but The French Toast Alert says near 70ºF Wednesday and Thursday but maybe snow after that. I’ll wait a bit.

    Glad the DVD was great. The first book was great, the second book was good, the third book was okay. Trilogies tend to be that way. Books two and three get nastier but it’s necessary nastiness. Yeah, not books for kids, really.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      They are alkways early but not this early 🙂 Thankfully they’ll manage real winter weather so if we get a setback they won’t freeze to death. At least You have the rosdes 🙂 🙂

      Oh yes she will and it is her property and death to anyone who dares take it 🙂 🙂 🙂 They tend to hide their tpys here so I can’t find that blue thing where I could put treats in, I have no idea if they have dug it down but gone it is 🙂 So now I keep an extra eye on the Kong so they don’t hide that one too 🙂

      I think I normally call it wildlife camera but checked what it is called on google translate so game camera was the choice I had 🙂 Of course I’ll show any interesting photos here, if I can figure out the manual that is 🙂 They have written down lots of explanations on what the numbers mean but no numbers on the pictures of the camera 🙂 🙂 I’ve just picked it up so I’ll read it all again several times tonight to see if I can figure out what they mean 🙂

      Rain mixed with snow here today, above 32F but not much. So nasty that not even Sune wanted to stay outside in it 🙂 Never put the snow blower in the cellar until spring is sure to stay, You will regret it otherwise 🙂 🙂

      Still it is not bad that the third book is okay, usually they are quite bad by then 🙂 In the end of the film it was quite nasty so kids should not see it and not read the books either then 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      I think You would like it if You like fantasy movies, this one was one of the best I’ve seen and I’ve seen a lot 🙂

      I know about flat roof and rain, it is always worrying.I do hope everything will go well if the heavy rains come!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. As usual, I love your photos! The snowdrops are pretty. We still have about 3 feet of snow and spring blossoms will only show up in May. I’m also tired of winter, but then ask me in December and I can’t wait for a white Christmas! I’m grateful for the 4 seasons, but really…this little tease of warmer weather has given me spring fever. I have a box full of seeds ready to go and I’m itching to start gardening!

    Like

    1. Hi Rain!

      Snowdrops are one of my favorite flowers, perhaps mostly because they are the first one to flower here. Normally we would have frezing cold winter here now but the climate change seems to have changed that. Three mild winters in a rowe here and I just love it 🙂

      I always long for christmas too even if I really don’t celebrate it especially much, well to be honest I long just as much for the first of advent which is rather big here. It is more or less the start of chriatmas here.

      I could gladely do without winter but the rest of the seasons are just fine. It’s actually the darkness I don’t like during winter to be honest but then again we get it back in summer when it hardly is dark at all up here in the north.

      I mostly sow prennials, trees and bushes now days but I always buy a few annuals and vegetable seeds too, my first tomato plants are growing by my kitchen window now 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. Did you know snowdrops symbolize hope? I’m a bit of a lore buff and I love knowing the symbols and meanings behind all of nature. 🙂 We’re not religious but in December, it’s fun to look forward to Christmas lights, presents, lots of food and eggnog! I’m starting a container garden this spring, I still have until April before I can start my seedlings indoors though, I just don’t trust that we won’t get more snow before then. Btw we are having that misty rain today and I’m happy about it lol!

        Like

      2. Yes I’ve heard that and it’s spot on isn’t it 🙂

        The same here but we Swedes are bad when it comes to the lights, some do it the American way but most just have some lights in a spruce or a chain on the house. Mostly only wite lights, very few have colored ones.

        I have one big container where I usually grow some vegetables but I think I’ll add one huge more this year and all my tomatoes grow oin smaller or bigger pots. It’s practical as long as one remembers to water them 🙂 I don’t trust this early spring either, we can have wainter here until early May if we’re unlucky.

        Like

  3. WOW the first series of photos in this post, Christer, really look like spring has arrived in your area. We had a couple of days of teaser spring-like days here in Nashua, NH last week. It was enough to melt a lot of the remaining snow and ice and have folks walking about in short sleeves and even shorts. This week is cooler but I am ready now for winter to be over, although I don’t mind the cooler temps.
    Do let us know more about the game camera you will be buying. I was also confused as to what you meant at first.

    Like

    1. Hi Beatrice!

      It has more or less and now I worry about setbacks 🙂 We’ve had a very mild winter again this year and I love it 🙂 I’m glad that we have above 32F so far 🙂 Shorts is a long way away yet I think but it would be nice if shorts weather came early 🙂

      I just got the camera so now I’ll try to understand whet the m,anual actually says, it is a bit confusling but I’ll figure it out somehow 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. Forgot to ass that the movie you mentioned, Miss Peregrine…is not one that is on ly list to see. Lately, I have been watching a lot of classic black and white films on YouTube and really enjoying there.

    Like

  5. Glad to hear that that is a good movie as it is in the stack of DVDs I brought home from the library this week. Tonight might be the night we watch it.

    Almost 80 degrees F again today here in the middle of the USA but with 25 mph winds so not the most pleasant day to be outside. I did manage to trim some spirea bushes down to the ground. They were starting to show life and I like to cut them way back every year. Otherwise there are always some branches that don’t leaf out etc. and overall they get too big. I need to cut two rose bushes way back too but decided today was not the day for that. Need to do it soon though as they are starting to leaf out too.

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce F!

      I really liked it! Quite often fantasy films are quite bad since they either not follow the books or try to get in too much from them. I haven’t read the books but I’ll buy them later.

      80 is something we rarely even reach during summers here 🙂 🙂 I have thankfully still lots of time to trim any plants here, I’m usually quite lazy and only trim one of my apple trees 🙂 Spirea’s needs to be cut down hard every now and again to look good, when it comes to roses I only have varieties that doesn’t need trimming, mostly wild roses. They tend to spread happily though so now I need to dig up lots of them though 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  6. Med egen parabol och tillgång till en fruktansvärt massa TV-kanaler så spelar jag in en massa olika program – men vi hinner aldrig med att se alla. Så nu för tiden hyr eller köper vi aldrig några DVDer, det vore meningslöst! 🙂
    Igår t.ex. så spelade jag in GWPersson (gillar verkligen hans bufflighet, fast han är en ännu bättre författare än TV-personlighet) och Parneviks för att dom skulle ha Ranelid på besök. Gillar hans totalt utflippade och egna stil (fast hans böcker är betydligt mer återhållsamma och rätt bra), ska bli spännande att se när vi har tid att titta på dom 2 timmarna! 🙂 🙂
    Fixade i växthuset härom dagen, men det finns lite kvar att göra och nu när det är strålande sol så kanske man ska gå ut dit. Alternativet är att fortsätta beskära en del buskar. Har t.ex. en fjärilsbuske bakom garaget som är 3-4 meter hög som jag tar ner till 1,5 m varje år – annars blommar den inte – och sen några som kan ansas till lite så man kommer fram med åkgräsklipparen. Så att göra finns det….. 🙂 🙂 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    Like

    1. Hejsan Susie!

      Jag har ju bara gratiskanalerna och där finns det sällan mycket jag vill kika på. Jag kunde ju ändra mitt internet abbonemang så jag kunde ladda ned filmer den vägen men jag förerdrar faktiskt att köpa dem, då håller jag antalet nere och sitter inte lika mycket framför tv’n 🙂

      Jag kommer att vänta med beskärningen att bra tag till, om inte våren plötsligt sätter fat på allvar förstås. Jag är ganska lat med det om jag skall vara ärlig 🙂

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

