I think I’ll make some scones.

c-2

I really don’t have much to say today, nothing has happened these last two days. They have passed fairly quick and uneventful. The weather is so so and tonight’s going to be cold and they predict sunshine for the weekend, I’ll believe it if it happens.

 

e-6

e-7

e-8

e-9

The dogs are fine and Albin seems to have a good stomach because he hasn’t farted especially much lately. This weekend I’ll give him more minced lamb, it went well the last time so this time I’ll give him a bit more than I tested before.

 

u-13

u-15

v-1

v-2

Yesterday I made scones and they turned out so good that I think I’ll make some today again. I like to make the dough slightly less sticky than the recipes say so they aren’t as “fluffy” as they usually are and I like that better.

 

v-3

v-4

v-5

x-1

I guess it’s best I start with those scones now and I’ll keep the butter warm so it’s easier to spread it on the warm scones 🙂

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “I think I’ll make some scones.

  1. Hi Christer,
    I love the photo of the leaves.

    I had a couple of days like that, too. Nothing much happened.
    Yesterday I had a dentist appointment for a small cavity. I wasn’t there more than an hour but it was an involved cavity that required a lot of work with the slow speed drill. That’s the one that vibrates your head a lot. I hate that one. I bit the inside of my lip at some point in the process, too. By the end of the day, the novocaine had worn off, everything was sore and I was so tired from tensed muscles that I went to bed at 7:30PM. Needless to say I woke up at 2AM and have been wide awake ever since.

    I’ve never made scones but I have a friend who seems to be making a science out scones. He’s tweaking his recipe constantly.
    I’ve made English muffins. They were good but I’d much rather make a loaf of English muffin bread and have done with it. I’m lazy. 🙂

    Today is glorious. 65ºF and sunny. No wind. It makes me want to throw down some grass seed and hope the birds don’t eat all of it. Nothing like hope in the face of experience to the contrary. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      I do long for those leafs now but preferable very green 🙂

      I don’t think I’ve ever had any tooth job done with a slowe drill, it doesn’t sound nice at all. I’ve been solucky with the first dentiosts I had so I never use any kind of painkiller, they taught me how to relax which isn’t easy with that sound in the head 🙂 I don’t mind waking up that early in the summer, well perhaps 2 am is a bit early even for me 🙂 but now when it’s dark it’s just a pain in the a.. 🙂 One can only play so many games of mahjomg before it’s too boring 🙂

      I make scones quite often but rarely vary much, sometimes I put rosemary in them and sometimes I put in leftover cheese. English muffins is somethiung I’ve never done though, I checked it onthe net and perhaps I should try it at least once. They are made in the frying pan I see. Scones are easy and need very little work and that I like so perhaps english muffins demand too much of me 🙂 🙂

      Sunny with a nasty cold wind but I didn’t mind, it was so nice to see the sun for once that I would have enjoyed it even if we had had a storm here 🙂 I would like Your temperature though 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. English muffins get cooked twice. The first time, the raw dough is put in a ring and cooked in a skillet or frying pan. The second time is when you toast them before eating them. They have special rings for doing the first one but I just take both ends off the small tuna cans and use those. They work fine. I don’t know if you can just do it without a ring. They’d probably spread much more and not look like English muffins. 🙂

        Like

    1. I wouldn’t mind being bored if we had Your temperatures 🙂 It is way too early though, even I have to admit that 🙂

      have a great day despite the heat.

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hur gick det med “sconesen” igår, blev det några till kvällsmål!?
    Jag brukar ju inte baka något eftersom vi inte dricker kaffe, men ibland händer det att jag bakar scones och då efter ett äkta engelskt recept – och dom blir alldeles FÖR goda. 🙂 Och sen ska man naturligtvis äta dom med “clotted cream” and “jam” – dessutom helst på plats i England. 🙂 🙂 Då kan man t.o.m. få i sig hela 2-3 stycken!! 😦 Det senare är kanske inte fullt så bra. *fniss*
    KRAM
    Susie

    Like

    1. Hejsan Susie!

      Jodå det gjorde jag och de blev klart godkända men inte lika bra som dagen innan.

      Håller mig för det mesta till den försvenskade varianten fast kan ha både ost och rosmarin i. Clotted cream har jag aldrig testat men är inte så förtjust i grädde över huvud taget och lite sylt på osten är aldrig fel 🙂

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Christer,
    I haven’t made scones in a long while. I buy whipped butter for toast and stuff like scones. Lately I have bought biscotti to eat with my coffee. I’m reminded of my mother who never drank coffee, but if I had biscotti, she had to have a cup of coffee for dunking.

    I too haven’t done much the last week. I went out but mostly to do errands. I have to go out today too for a couple of things.

    Tonight I’ll watch the Academy Awards. I like the hoopla.

    Have a great day!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      I do like biscotti, got many from Joyce the previous christmas 🙂 if I buiy anything myself it would most likely be something we call Mazarin, it is filled with almond paste or an profiterole 🙂

      I wish I could have sen the Academy Aweards! I have been reading a lot about it today and what a blunder they made when presenting the best film 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

