Freezing rain.

Still no new photos because it is too dark when I come home. It is however very foggy outside now.
Still no new photos because it is too dark when I come home. It is however very foggy outside now.

I had just come out on the big road when I drove to work this morning when it started to rain. It immediately froze on the entire car and even if my car was warm it still froze on the front window. I had to put full blast of the heat to the front window alone and I still only hade a small space I could see through. It froze naturally on the road as well so most of us drove very slowly.

i-19

i-20

i-21

i-25 

It didn’t last that long thankfully so the rest of the way was not as unpleasant. It did start again when I almost was at work and when I tried to go out from the car I couldn’t get any grip with my shoes at all 🙂 🙂 I was lucky though, some had problems leaving their homes at all and there has been lots of car crashes all over south-western Sweden today. One work friend saw how a car slowly slid over the train tracks just as the train arrived, thankfully it continued over the tracks before the train passed.

 

l-6

j-10

j-11

j-12

Tonight’s going to be warm so I do hope we won’t get any more freezing rain. The weekend will be mostly cloudy they say but rather warm and I almost wish it was the opposite, sunny and chilly 🙂 I now have eight tiny tomato plants growing by my kitchen window, only one variety hasn’t had a single seed germinated yet but I’m pretty sure it soon will. If You wonder about why the text has changed colors I now know that some people may have problems reading the darker text. If anyone feel this color is too bright I’ll try another one.

 

s-3

s-4

s-5

s-8

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “Freezing rain.

  1. Hi Christer! It feels like forever I have been away! You may remember we were off to Yellowknife in January. We came home okay from that, but the night after we arrived home my son was involved in a very serious car accident. Spine fractured in 2 places, several cuts, bruises and lacerations to his face. But he is alive. He will be in a full back brace for at least 8 weeks. His car was totaled. So that has been what has taken me away from the land of blogging. I need to catch up if I can but for now I am here and there when I can be. Albin has grown in a month!! Have a good evening.

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      I was worried that something had happened on Your trip.
      I’m glad thet he managed to stay alive! That accident sounds really bad and it will be a tough time coming back again. The car is just a car, the important thing in this is Your son and that he will get better!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer,
    I like the new color. It’s less glaring on my eyes.

    We had some weather like that last week. There was a 60 car pile-up on the highway exit near my house. It must have happened very early in the morning because I turned on the 6AM news that morning and they were already talking about it. It took several hours to clean it all up. Plus there were other crashes all over the place as well.

    Last night there was more snow. About three inches. I was not pleased to have to move more of it out of the way. The town plow came by and pushed another ice wall across the driveway and the walk. But the temperature warmed up so the ice walls are like Greenland’s glaciers now; a pile of watery slush at the bottom with frozen chunks at the top. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      The new color is bright but not too bright Many have problems with wite text on black background but this is ok I think.

      I don’t think any accident here was that big but they made up for it by being many accidents 🙂

      I’m so glad that it is You who has gotten the snow and not I 🙂 🙂 Here it’s relatively warm again and very foggy. No more frozen rain thankfully but now we all get muddy when being out walking. I rather take that than snow anyway 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. hi christer! we had flurries today but this seems to be the last of winter for us. we are moving into the upper 60’s for weeks. i need to get my seeds started this weekend! joyce

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      I so wish spring would come early to us but I know that winter can hit all the way in to late April here, we live just too much north to stay safe from the arctic winds here but then again it isn’t especially cold in the arctic this winter either.

      I now have lots of tiny tomato plants by the window 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. Christer,
    We had similar ice, and there were all sorts of accidents and pile-ups. I hate it when the street freezes, and I can barely make it to my mailbox.

    I threw de-icer on the back steps to keep it safe for Gracie, but I worry the steps will be too slippery when the sun goes down so I take her on the leash out front to do her last business for the night.

    I just hope we don’t get any rain or snow the next few days as it is going to be cold, and it could all freeze.

    Have a great day!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      It happens so seldom here and this was the first time the rain froze on my windows as soon as it hit! Don’t want to go through that again 🙂

      All my dogs are still so young thyat they just jump from the top stair by my entrance when they go outside but I used to pour out sugar on the stairs when the old boys still were around, works better than salt. I’ve never tried the defreoster You have.

      It is goingf to be warmer here again and I really don’t mind 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  5. Hello Christer. Thank you so much….I love the new color text. I can read it so easily now!!! As always, your photos are so lovely and well presented. We have had three major snow storms in the past seven days here in central New Hampshire, US. Over 50 inches of new snow on the ground right now. The skiers are so happy but it’s too much for me! Thank you again for the change. Much appreciated.

    Like

    1. Hi Camille!

      I do what I can 🙂

      We ahaven’t had a real snowstorm at all this winter and That’s how I like it 🙂 I’ve never been a winter fan to be honest. I grew up by the ocean and we never had “real” winters there. It was either nasty cold with hard winds from the ocean or warm days with lots of rain 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  6. I början på veckan hade vi 5/6 plusgrader men sen blev det bitande kallt med på natten till torsdagen. 😦 Klockan åtta när jag var ute med Santos var det fortfarande-5 så jag avstod från att gå ut i trädgården och fortsätta med lite beskärning. 😦 😦 Men så när klockan var tolv och Rolle var ute var det +2 och det bara fortsatte att bli varmare och varmare – men då var det för sent att gå ut. hade annat att roa mig med….. 🙂 Idag är det +5, men det regnar istället. Aldrig får man vara riktigt nöjd! 😦
    KRAM OCH TREVLIG HELG
    Susie

    Like

    1. Hejsan Susie!

      Vi har faktiskt haft en hel del sol denna veckan men eftersom jag jobbar har jag missat det 🙂 Nu är det varmt här igen och väldigt dimmigt. Kan jag inte få solsken så är jag glad om det blir dimma, bara jag slipper köra omkring i den 🙂

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

