I’ve put up a new lock.

a-19

I’ve noticed that someone has been in my wood shed when I’ve been at work. I don’t have a lot in there, just some wood and a moldy old carpet and if anyone want to take any of it I won’t complain too much ๐Ÿ™‚ but it is also a way in to my dogs and that’s a bit worrying. It could be that some neighbor just goes in there to say hi to the dogs but since I don’t know I’ve now put up a new lock on that door.

 

dsc_0043-11

dsc_0049-12

dsc_0050-12

I actually have a good lock on the door but the key flew away when a storm opened the door one day, the key was never found again. It was one of those really big old keys and I think it might have flown in to the pasture and sunk in the mud ๐Ÿ™‚ So if anyone wants to get to my dogs now they will ย have to destroy the door and that would make a lot of unwanted sounds, not a good thing when neighbors are at home all day here.

 

j-13

j-14

j-15

Nothing much else has happened here though, it snows all the time but the flakes are few and far apart so it really doesn’t show on the ground. We did have a dusting here in the village but that’s not much after three days of snowing ๐Ÿ™‚ Not even I can really complain about that ๐Ÿ™‚ They say it’ll be warmer already on Monday, at least during the days, the nights will be more or less as cold as now. The strange thing is that even if it has been really cold at nights I haven’t had to scrape ice from the car windows! I won’t complain about that either ๐Ÿ™‚

 

k-7

k-8

k-9

It is time to make something to eat, perhaps mรผsli and yoghurt is on the menu today but warm sandwiches are never wrong either. I could have “normal” sandwiches too and make some rose-hips soup. Rose-hip soup goes well together with cheese sandwiches. All these choices and no idea what to choose ๐Ÿ™‚

 

l-26

l-27

l-28

Have a great day!

8 thoughts on “I’ve put up a new lock.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Too bad you can’t put up security cameras to see what’s happening with the wood shed. I would be more worried about someone trying to get at my dogs, too. Even if I had a place to leave them outside when I wasn’t home, I couldn’t do it. Too much liability at stake. And then there are the coyotes. They don’t care about liability. Or fences. I hope the new lock stops the problem.

    Today is blizzard day. It started at 6AM and it’s going really good now. It’s practically a whiteout. There doesn’t seem to be much accumulation that I can see. I can’t see much, of course. It could just be that the wind is blowing the snow around so much that it’s piling up more in certain spots and not in others. I moved the snowblower up from the cellar and into the front hall. I figured it would be easier than trying to snowblow my way through a foot of snow all the way from the cellar door at the back of the house uphill to the front of the house so that I could clear the walk and driveway. This way I can just shove the snowblower out the front door and turn it on.

    But that’s for later on. Right now I’m going to make Italian sausages with grapes and balsamic vinegar.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      To be honest, if anyopne had wanted to take the dogs they would have by now but then again, I know many think Nova look very dangerous so they tend to go away when we meet ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll buy a wild life camera next paycheck, I can put it both outside and inside the wood shed and hide it reasonable well.

      There’s always a few neighbors at home every day here and normally no one knows how to get to my cottage, everyone that see the road believes it goes straight in to the farm instead of to me ๐Ÿ™‚ No coyotes here as You know but the occasional wolf pass by every now and again but I’m not sure it would jump the fence to get three dogs. At least two knows how to defend themselves but Sune would just be happy to meet that huge dog ๐Ÿ™‚

      Good idea with the snow blower! I do hope it didn’t get too bad. I’ve only read about snow in New York in todays papers.

      I hope the sausages were yummy ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. We got 13 inches of snow and lots of wind so the drifts were a factor. It worked out very well with the snowblower. I was able to find enough space on the front porch where it could sit and I’d still be able to open doors and get by.
        The sausages were excellent and I have leftovers so they will be even more excellent later on. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

      2. Many times the leftovers are tastier than they were at first ๐Ÿ™‚
        13 inches is quite a lot, I don’t think we’ve reached that in total this winter ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

    1. Hi Pammy Sue!

      I don’t like it but to be honest, if anyone would have wanted to take my dogs they would already have done so. Even if I live in the outskirts of a small village it’s still difficult to know how to get to my home, the road to me looks as if it goes straight into the farm next door and there are alsways people at home here but I still don’t like it. Now if anyone wants to get inside my wood shed they will at least have to work hard to do so ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Christer,
    That is strange about the door and even a bit scary. What would the dogs do to someone in the shed? Gracie would bark and bark if someone was at the door even if I weren’t there. Too bad you don’t have one of those motion detector cameras.

    My street is quiet except on summer days when the kids are out. Few cars go down the street. Gracie hears a sound and goes crazy barking.

    It is really getting cold as the sun has dipped down on its way out. February is our worst month, and it has already showed its colors.

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      I don’t like it but if anyone want to take my dogs it would most likely already have happened. I’m pretty sure Nova would get a bit angry if anyone went in there that she doesn’t know and people tend to think she look dangerous ๐Ÿ™‚ Albin doesn’t trust strangers so he and Nova would mosty likely growl and bark a lot. Sune however would happily run to anyone, he loves everyone in the world ๐Ÿ™‚ If it’s just a neighbor they know who goes in and says hi to them they would be so happy everyone would hear it unless they are deaf ๐Ÿ™‚

      As You know it’s very quiet here too, a tractor may pass and then the garbage truck every now and again and that one is more noisy than any tractor ๐Ÿ™‚ Thney really don’t like the garbage truck ๐Ÿ™‚

      February is usually our coldest month but so far it has been quite warm, it is the wind that makes it nasty now. It’ll be rather warm here next week when the kids have their winter vacation.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

