Beef’s not for him.

dsc_0023-15

It is foggy again today, I think we’ve had it all week now and that’s rather unusual. It has been a bit cold too and the wind we have today just made it nasty. I just opened the door for Albin and to my very big surprise I saw that it is snowing! It shouldn’t according to any of the predictions I’ve seen so I’m not the least surprised 🙂

 

dsc_0026-16

dsc_0027-15

dsc_0028-16

dsc_0029-15

Nothing much to say today, between the walks I’ve mostly slept in front of the tv, it was cross-country skiing and since I think that is just as exciting as seeing concrete dry I fell asleep as soon as I started the tv 🙂 I just opened the door to let Albin come in again and I saw that it had stopped snowing 🙂 I don’t mind the snow fall if it is that short-lived 🙂

 

dsc_0033-13

dsc_0035-15

dsc_0036-16

dsc_0037-13

Beef is unfortunately nothing for Albin, the eczema came back pretty fast. Well the two others will love their food for a while now until all the minced beef is gone. Next thing to try is lamb I think or perhaps reindeer since I do buy reindeer every now and again to myself.

 

dsc_0039-10

dsc_0041-11

dsc_0042-14

dsc_0045-9

I think it is time to make myself some rose-hip soup, the weather sort of demands it. Tomorrow I’ll go back to work again and I do hope I’ll get an easy start 🙂

 

Four photographs taken with the Ambi Silette.
Four photographs taken with the Ambi Silette.

a20336_031

a20336_032

a20336_033

 

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “Beef’s not for him.

  1. Igår hade vi strålande väder och +5 grader samt ingen vind alls, idag är det gråmulet och så drar det lite! Usch!! 😦
    Har suttit vid datorn nästan hela dagen, först för det vanliga “hartsandet” och sen för att sortera en receptpärm jag gjort under åren här. Jag har en fin som jag gjort, men det här var dom smålappar jag samlat på mig. Det började bli rätt många….. 🙂 Men vilket jobb det var, hann bara halvvägs innan jag tröttnade! 😦 😦
    Men nu ska jag gå till köket och hitta på nån kul middag. Det är vegetarisk som gäller idag. Vi försöker köra med det två dar i veckan åtminstone, även om vi äter vansinnigt mycket grönt till annan mat också! 🙂 🙂 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    Like

    1. Hejsan Susie!

      Det var inte speciellt gott väder här idag heller. Visst gillar jag dimma men när det är hela tiden och solen aldrig kikar fram blir även jag lite trött på det 🙂

      Alla dessa smålappar som samlas 🙂 Jag har faktiskt inga lösa recept, iställer har jag mormors gamla kokböcker från tidigt 1900tal plus ett par till av hennes kokböcker, jag vet att det aldrig blir någon ordning om jag skall sätta in i pärm 🙂

      Jag tycker det är svårt att krydda vegetariska måltider så att det blir gott, kanske är jag för feg? annars, om någon annan gör det, gillar jag det verkligen. Kanske är det det största problemet för att jag skall äta mer vegetariskt.

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. hi christer! i’ve taken beef out of teddy’s diet. she was having horrible skin problems and it was the beef. i think it’s from the corn they feed the cattle. teddy now gets chicken and bison and sometimes a bit of chicken liver.

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce! I have no idea what they feed our cattle with but I guess corn ia big part of it here too. Bison is most likely very hard to get here so I’ll try reindeer, red deer and moose. I think wild animals give meat that most likely gives no allergic reactions. Everything chicken works well with Albin though and I tried turkey without any problems.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      Like

  3. Hi Christer,
    Too bad. No minced beef.
    Some friends and I were talking yesterday about how chicken seems to be the most common cause of allergy problems for American dogs and cats. It’s probably all the chemicals we inject into them and into domestic beef as well. Many pet owners have had to start feeding food that is far away from what dogs would be eating. Bison, salmon, kangaroo. I haven’t seen deer, caribou or moose yet but I’m sure I could find it, if I googled enough.
    My dogs don’t have problems with food, fortunately. Or maybe not so fortunately. They eat things that are best left uneaten. 😛

    Today is another cloudy with spurts of sunshine day. It’s relatively warm, though. My Facebook wall keeps showing pictures I took 2 years and 6 years ago when the snow mounds around my house were many feet high. Puts everything in perspective. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      Yes too bad because minced beef is easy to find and not so expensive either.

      It’s actually the same here with chicken, it is the most common cause for allergies in dogs. Over here they aren’t allowed to give any animals hormone injections or antibiotics (unless they are sick of course) so I think the reason must be something else. Lots of people feed their dogs salmon here and salmon has become one of the cheaper fish we can buy here, the enormous fish farms in Norway helps with that 🙂 We once (must be around 30 years ago) imported more kangaroo meat than any other country but for some reason no one knew that, it was sold as beef instead 🙂 One of our first bigger food scandals here. Now I doubt we can find it anywhere. But reindeer, red deer and moose are relatively easy to find in the big super markets.

      Albin unfortunately eat everything he comes across 🙂

      I’ve seen all those photos too 🙂 Fb has not done that to me yet but I guess it’s just a matter of time 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. I just read that Salmon farms in Norway are in big trouble because of a parasite that is infesting the farm stock. Apparently it is very virulent and kills off a big portion of the stock. It’s another result of warming sea water and scientists are worried that it will spread to wild stock. The expectation is that salmon prices will rise steeply because of it.

        The photos on FB get pulled from the albums I’ve created there. I also back up on Google, among other places, and those show up on my Kindle Fire most days. I think most of your photos are from WordPress or NatGeo Your Shot. FB might not be able to post those later on.

        Like

      2. Yes they do have huge problems but so far I’ve not seen a rise in the price. Thebiggest problem is that they have thousands of fish in too small nets so if one get sick they all get sick and then they pump antibiotics in them so the parasite gets immune toit and so on.

        I guess You might be right about that, I have very few photos in albums anywhere except NG.

        Like

  4. Christer,
    I love your last three pictures.

    The first time I had reindeer meat was in Finnish Lapland. I thought it was delicious. I ate Icelandic game as my dinner in one of the restaurants we went to for dinner. Reindeer was one of the meats. It was also quite tasty. Most people I know here wouldn’t even taste reindeer meat.

    I love chicken soup filled with wide noodles and carrots in the winters. It is the perfect food to get me warm and toasty.

    Have a great day!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      I like the two in the middle of those four.

      Reindeer is really delicious so I can’t understand why it isn’t more popular than it is. Ok, it does cost a bit but so do lots of beef too. I’ve only heard about Icelandic food and it sounds quite adventurous to eat it 🙂

      I’ve aslways liked chicken in all ways but having to boil chicken almost every day has sort of dampened my will to eat it again 🙂 It doesn’t smell nice without spices 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

