Suddenly the ground just vanished.

dsc_0020-4

I don’t know why but it feels cold here in my little cottage. The radiators are on and there’s a fire in the stove so it shouldn’t be any different than it always is. There’s no wind from the wrong direction outside either, that always make my home feel cold, so I am wondering if the cold I’ve had for ages, as it at least feels, is breaking out now. I am tired of it by now so perhaps it would be for the best. After all, the weekend is here and we’ll get sunny weather so why shouldn’t it break out now 🙂

 

dsc_0022-4

dsc_0024-6

dsc_0025-6

 

We were out walking down by the creek today and as I’ve told You they have put up a fence along (that’s where those sheep who escaped all the time walked around during the summer) it so it is quite difficult to walk on the outside of that paddock. Still I thought I would do that today because it is a bit tricky to try and squeeze out between the several wires that they have used to keep the sheep inside and the hogs outside the paddock (there isn’t any electricity in the wires now though). So I walked slowly between the wires and the bushes that grows along the creek when suddenly the world beneath me disappeared 🙂 No it wasn’t a sinkhole that I fell down into this time but I think it was an underground room that water voles had dug 🙂 My entire leg fitted in it when I finally hit the ground at the bottom 🙂 🙂 🙂 I’m so glad no one was at home because water voles can be very big and very aggressive 🙂 🙂

dsc_0028-5

dsc_0030-5

dsc_0032-5                                 

I’m boiling rice porridge but I just can’t find the right lid for the saucepan. I used it not so long ago but I just can’t find it! I mean how many places can one put a rather big lid so that it is impossible to find? I have found another lid that almost fits but the handle is broken on it so I need a nose pliers to be able to lift it up 🙂 I’ll give the dogs some porridge too, I figure that since Albin could eat pancakes without getting any problems he should be able to eat rice porridge too. He has finally gained some weight but he is still far too thin so I think porridge might help him to fatten up some 🙂

 

dsc_0034-5

dsc_0035-5

dsc_0036-5

I will however not give him any more raw eggs for a while, I did that this morning and it was a bit too much to have several in one week. I never thought his farts could smell any worse than they already did but I was wrong, very wrong 🙂

 

dsc_0039-3

dsc_0041-4

dsc_0043-3

The dogs steal my blanket during the night! I have now woken up several night freezing and found that they have dragged the blanket to the bottom right corner of my bed and they are all sleeping on it 🙂 I live with evil dogs 🙂 I’ve also noticed that Albin studies me when I open up the fridge, not a good sign 🙂 He understands how to open the entrance door but he still has problems when the door opens towards him but that parts I’m pretty sure he will solve pretty soon. The fridge however is still a mystery to him, thankfully 🙂

 

dsc_0046-4

dsc_0047-4

dsc_0048-4

It is time to move the boiling chicken and place the porridge on that spot so it doesn’t boil too good, burned milk on the stove doesn’t smell nice and if the porridge burns it will be inedible.

 

dsc_0049-4

dsc_0053-3

dsc_0055-3

dsc_0059-1

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “Suddenly the ground just vanished.

    1. Hi Joyce!

      I’m afraid they are 🙂 🙂

      I’m so glad that there only was place enough for one leg in that hole 🙂 🙂 I’m not sure if I would have been able to get out from it if both feet had gone down there 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  1. Hi Christer,
    My dogs steal my pillows. Rocky claws the blankets and sheets away from the mattress before settling himself down in nest of disturbed bedding. I have no idea what you do about the blankets. Maybe get yourself a sleeping bag and sleep inside it. They can’t steal that from you. Probably. 🙂 I think it’s a losing battle you have there.
    As for the fridge, I’m so glad my dogs aren’t tall enough to reach anything on mine. The freezer is on the bottom and they both love ice cubes. I’d have no ice cubes left inside the freezer and puddles of cold water all over the house. I’d also have no other food in there either. You might have to invest in bungee cords for your fridge.

    I had to google water voles. In my mind voles are tiny things like mice so it was difficult to envision an enraged vole attacking your leg. But apparently they are sort of like muskrats only smaller. I did not realize that Ratty in Wind In The Willows was a water vole.

    Today was not as warm as yesterday but it was still very comfortable. The sun was strong all day and helped to take some of the chill off the wind.
    I hope your cold expresses itself quickly and goes away fast.

    Enjoy the evening.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      A sleeping bag sounds right 🙂 There is that kind that is wider at the top, we call it sleeping blanket. It’s just like a sleeping bag but it can usually not take low temperatures. That kind would be perfect if they don’t stop robbing me of my blanket 🙂

      Yesterday he tried to figure out how to open the fridge from above, my stairs up to the bedroom is just beside the fridge, He was leaning out trying to reach it with a paw when he slipped and fell down all the way to the kitchen floor. I know it won’t stop him in the long run but for now I think the fridge is less interesting 🙂

      Water voles are very aggressive, even to the opposite sex. They don’t hesitate to attack anything and those teeth they have are truly nasty. The biggest one I’ve seen (and thankfully it was dead) was around 8 inches klong without the tail. It is fun that the writer put together two such aggressive animals as best friends in the book 🙂 Both water voles and moles would try to kill each other if they met 🙂

      It has snowed here during the night but thankfully it isn’t much. It will stay now though since the temperature has dropped.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. Now I shall have to re-read Wind in the Willows. With that new piece of knowledge about moles and water voles, there might be a deeper message there that I missed. Good think it won’t be an onerous task to re-read that book. 🙂

        Like

  2. Det är tur att man har en liten hund som föredrar att ligga under täcket – hos husse! Fast han är lite jobbig, han väcker mig på nätterna för att jag ska lyfta på husses täcke så han kan krypa ner. Husse är ingen idé tydligen att ens försöka väcka….. 😦
    Jag skrattade så tårarna rann när jag läste om Albin, det är inte lätt att ha en smart hund, som dessutom inte tål att äta allt och därför är extra sugen på något gott och onyttigt. 🙂 Kylskåpsdörren verkar ligga illa till….. *fniss*
    KRAM
    Susie

    Like

    1. Hejsan Susie!

      Tack och lov att Albin tar sig in under täcket själv :-), hade jag behövt vakna för den saken också hade jag aldrig fått sova 🙂 🙂

      Albin påminner mig så mycket om Viran, hon förstörde ju tre kylskåp för mig 🙂 Hon satt också och studerade hur jag gjorde och efter det prövade hon sig fram 🙂 Trots att hon kostade en mindre förmögenhet i saker hon förstörde är hon den roligaste hund jag någonsin haft 🙂 Albin brukar lyda rätt bra men jag är rädd för att lockelserna i kylskåpet är för mycket 🙂

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Hi Christer! Now a boot full of water, snow or ice is never a fun or pleasant thing. Good thing the water voles were not home. I could only imagine what that would be like.

    We are having a hard time with Hunter and night time. He was up 4 times in the night last night (this is not the first time). He actually has only slept through the night 3 times in the whole month we have had him. I think he has food allergies. We tried switching his food last week and he has developed itching and biting of his skin again. No rashes (yet) but we are at our wits end. Lack of sleep is one thing, but a suffering pup is another. I feel so very bad for him. So I am not sure if we are going to go back to the vet and discuss vitamins and probiotics or just switch him back to his other food. Such a trying time and we are exhausted!!! I have never had such difficulties with a puppy before. And I have had alot of puppies in my life time!

    Have a good Saturday!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      Thankfully water vole homes are very dry 🙂 but I’m so glad there was no vole at home, no fun having a crazy angry water vole attacking ones foot 🙂

      If he’s allergic to different foods it might be best to do as I do, cook it Yourself. Check what is in the different foods he has had so far and chose something that isn’t in any of the foods. None of the ones I had given Albin had contained fish or chicken and thankfully chicken worked. Pig meat doesn’t work so next I’ll try beef.

      Good Luck with Hunter!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. Christer,
    Those dogs were evil to steal your blanket, but it is sort of funny. Maggie used to do the same thing as your dogs, but Gracie gets too warm under covers.

    When Gracie was young, she was far too skinny. You could see her ribs. It was a long time before she filled out so Albin will fill out in time. Gracie just ate dog food and treats. She would have loved chicken and rice.

    I haven’t ever seen a vole. I had to look it up so see what one looked like. I have no idea if we have them around here.

    Good to see the snow is gone!

    Have a great day!!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      Yes they were but I have so far managed to keep the blanker for myself 🙂

      He really looks malnourished and it is difficult to make him gain weight since chicken is anything but fat 🙂 The eggs help some though but not much. I’m so glad people around here knows he’s a food allergic so they don’t think I am starving him 🙂

      I just checked, You have voles but call them field mice or meadow mice. The smaller ones are always cute but the forest vole can give us a nasty disease that if untreated can kill us.

      Snow is back again.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

