We even got to see the sun today.

dsc_0022-1

It was much less cold when we went out for a walk this morning, only -12C (10,4F) compared to the -19C (-2,2F) as it was as coldest during the night. I couldn’t find Nova’s coat so we went out anyway. I think Albin didn’t mind it that much but I coul see that he thought it was way too cold for his paws, he lifted them one by one those times he stopped to wait for me. So we didn’t go as far as I had planned, just the normal route out on the bog and home again.

 

dsc_0025-2

dsc_0026-2

dsc_0028-2

dsc_0031-2

It will become lesser cold by tomorrow and with the less cold winds snow will come as well, not much but any snow is too much snow. It would have been much nicer today if the wind hadn’t blown all the time, not strong really but bitterly cold so the sunshine didn’t help much to warm us up on our walks. As soon as we came out of winds reach it did feel so much nicer. I think however I honestly can say that Albin is anything but a winter dog πŸ™‚

 

dsc_0032-2

dsc_0034-2

dsc_0036-2

dsc_0038-2

The rest of the day I’ve mostly put firelogs in the stove and slept in front of the tv, something the dogs didn’t mind at all πŸ™‚ The cats aren’t fond of winter either, they now spend most of their time sleeping or like Bertil sit by the window looking at the birds outside which reminds me that I should go outside to fill the bird feeders before it gets dark again. At the moment it looks like the wind has died out totally, I’ve seen the same cloud at the same spot for over fifteenΒ minutes now πŸ™‚

 

dsc_0040-1

dsc_0042-2

dsc_0043-1

dsc_0048-1

The dogs keep reminding me that it is time for me to feed them and I guess I should have something too, perhaps I should make some rice porridge, after all it is winter πŸ™‚

 

dsc_0050-1

dsc_0052

dsc_0053-1

dsc_0054-1

Have a great day!

8 thoughts on “We even got to see the sun today.

  1. Hi Christer,
    The photos are lovely even though they are wintry. The light is beautiful.

    You might look into boots for Albin, if it’s his feet that feel the cold most. MukLuks are supposed to be excellent. Many people who do winter sports with their dogs use them. They provide warmth and protection and traction.
    I keep trying to find boots to fit Rocky but his feet are bigger than they should be for a dog with such short legs. If the boots fit the paws, they don’t fit the rest of his leg and vice versa. And boots for dogs his size and smaller are generally froo-froo things which are pretty to look at but useless for actually walking on snow and ice. Sort of like stiletto-heeled boots. πŸ™‚ I haven’t tried the MukLuks but am weighting the pros and cons. Cons mostly being the struggle to get the dogs to wear them. πŸ™‚

    I got your card. I hope Petra with Family had Happy Holidays as well. πŸ™‚ The photo on the card is beautiful.

    It snowed here last night. Maybe a couple of inches. The sun is out now and then but I doubt that it is warm enough to melt the white stuff. I’ll have to go sweep it off the walkways and the car. More snow is coming tonight along with much colder temperatures. Hello, Winter.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      I was thinking about that when we were out walking, if I could find any kind of boots or socks for him, now I have a name too Mukluks! Thank You!
      It wasn’t that bad for him todau since the temperature went up to just below 32F but I will see if I can find any MukLuks here. I juat checked the net and the only MukLuks I could find here were for humans πŸ™‚ I’ll keep on looking though. I do wonder how he would react to boots though πŸ™‚

      Finally my cards are arriving on the other side of the ocean πŸ™‚ I too hope Petra and her family had a good holiday πŸ™‚ I do like that photo, a tripple exposure I think πŸ™‚

      They predicted snow for today and it did snow for a few inutes but nothing to what they had predicted thankfully. They also predicted fog for today but that didn’t happen.Winter is here so we better greet it with a smile even if we hate it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      I think we all do πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Personally I think that if we must have winter we should at least have sunshine or perhaps fog all the time πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Christer,
    I love seeing all the light in your photos. The sun glints on the snow, and that white stuff even looks pretty.

    I think the really cold weather makes the snow less appealing. The white seems to reflect all the cold. I am not looking forward to the storm and the maybe 10 to 12 inches of snow. At least Skip will come by and plow.

    Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      Snow always look good in photographs πŸ™‚ I think it looks as best when it’s just a dusting and when thge sun makes it sparkle. Too bad it has to fall on the ground too πŸ™‚

      The only thing I do like about the snow is that it reflects the light so good, even if it makes it look even colder πŸ™‚ If we get clear nights withj moon light it really brightens up the night a lot!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Hi Christer! I will trade cold weather with you please! 😊 We are getting bitter temps again tonight in about the -35 range. I do hope this is the last leg of this weather. Makes for no fun outdoors.

    Our pups do that too if they have been out too long in the cold.

    I hope your evening was good and restful! Napping in front of the TV was something I did this evening too! 😊

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      Well I do like cold weather without snow but -35 is a bit too low πŸ™‚ I really need to check how much anti-freeze I have in the car πŸ™‚ We can have winter here until late April or even early May but hope is the last thing that leaves us they say πŸ™‚ So I am still hoping for an early spring πŸ™‚

      Albin did that after just a few minutes so I better find him some kind of boots so his feet won’t freeze.

      I had an early night, went to bed before 9pm πŸ™‚ I’m more tired this winter than ever before.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

