Well, that’s one way to start the day.

a-1

I woke up at 4:20 this morning, I had too much tea yesterday I guess. I let the dogs out and both Nova and Sune came in rather quickly but Albin stayed outside for quite some time until I started to wonder where he was. So I put on a jacket and my head lamp and went out.

 

b-5

b-14

b-15

c-1

I saw him rather quickly and called for him and he came running really fast but I also saw that he had something in his mouth, it was a glass jar. That was a bit odd because I don’t have any outside and I was more confused when I saw that it had contained garlic cloves in oil and herbs. There was no label left but two garlic cloves and some herbs. I know I got a jar of that over ten years ago and that I never ate it. I have no idea however where it has been since then and how on earth Albin managed to get it. I later found the lid and he has managed to puncture it and he has most likely used his teeth to unscrew ut. One can say a lot about dog but they sure aren’t stupid πŸ™‚

 

c-4

c-5

c-6

c-7

I think we all have heard that garlic is dangerous for dogs so I did what I could to make him throw up but nothing came up. So I checked the net to see what we actually know about dogs and garlic. Turns out there’s only one study of this and they tested some dogs in Japan. They gave them big amounts of garlic for a shorter period of time and it showed that the red blood cells can be destroyed by doing so. Nothing else was said about dangers.

 

d-3

d-4

d-5

d-6

So I called the vet early this morning and explained everything. He said that he never had heard about a dog ever being poisoned from eating garlic, onions yes but not garlic and since nothing came up when I tried to make him puke we now think that he most likely has been drinking the oil but not eating the cloves. Albin is just like always besides having a breath that can knock down a moose πŸ™‚ I will keep an eye on him all day and if he continues to stay fine I can forget about this. His stomach is just like it always is when he doesn’t eat anything he’s allergic too so I think I can start to relax now.

 

e-1

e-2

e-3

e-4

Dreary weather here today, really strong winds, dark grey sky and misty rain. I didn’t take a single photo when we were out walking and I think we all were quite happy to come home after a very short walk. Now I’ll sit down in front of the tv and I’ll most likely fall asleep rather quickly πŸ™‚

 

Four photographs from the Contessa.
Four photographs from the Contessa.

a20112_003a

Down by the Cranelake.
Down by the Cranelake.

a20112_016a

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “Well, that’s one way to start the day.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Oh, dear. You have a version of Piki Dog and Rocky all packed into one dog. My condolences. πŸ™‚
    Dog breath combined with garlic breath. Ew.
    I saw that report that garlic was poisonous to dogs but it was followed by other studies that said no, it wasn’t. Everything in moderation, I guess.

    Yesterday was kind of dreary. The temperature was not too bad but the wind was blowing hard so it felt nasty cold. Today started out with sun but now it’s cloudy again. I have errands to do and dreary weather is not very encouraging. I want to stay inside and knit or something.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hui Caryn!

      Thank You πŸ™‚
      He reminds me of old Viran, she who destroyed three fridges during her lifetime πŸ™‚ I do hope he doesn’t get that bad though, I loved that dog and she was the funbniest dog I’ve ever met but she would go through walls to get what she wanted πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      His breath was nothing compred to his farts πŸ™‚ They are truly horrible when they are as best but then add garlic to that πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      The conclusion they made on a vet site was that the benefits are greater than the risks. Garlic does help against ticks so I’ll see how much I can give them when that season starts. I think however I’ll buy capsules πŸ™‚

      Still dreary weather here and now it rains too. We have all been sleeping in front of the tv all day so I doubt we’ll be able to sleep tonight πŸ™‚

      Have a good ending of this year!

      Christer.

      Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      You are so lucky! It seems that all my dogs are more or less garbage bins πŸ™‚ They do love cat poop too and it smells so nasty!

      Have a good ending of thgis year and a good new one!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Isn’t it amazing what dogs can dig up! Thanks for including the picture of Bertil! Guess Albin is getting along okay with the cats? Do they tease him?

    Happy New Year from Kansas USA where it is 40 degrees F and sunny.

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce F!

      Yes they do have a gift for that πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Ithought iot was tiume for a Bertil photo πŸ™‚ He is almost always with us on our walks but now days he walks so that it is hard to photograph him. Albin has been a bit tough towards the cats and especially Bertil has been too kind towards him. Teodor on the other hand has sunk his claws inbti Albin’s skin several times πŸ™‚ It works much better between them now days though and especially Bertil likes to sleep close to Albin during nights.

      I really don’t mind these warm winters πŸ™‚

      Have a good continuing of the new year!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Hi Christer! Its amazing what dogs get in to. And of course what they shouldn’t get into they do! Cats I think are the opposite.

    I hope Albin will be okay in the end and it all works itself out. πŸ™‚ Currently Karma and Hunter are savaging each other on the couch. Its only a matter of time before someone gets hurt.

    Last of the holidays for me. Back to work on Tuesday. I could use another week to be honest. Having a puppy in the house you never quite sleep right through the night πŸ™‚ But that’s ok – it won’t last forever. Our really good neighbor will come in during the week to let them out a couple times during the day so I won’t worry so much about him! We have good neighbors…

    I hope your evening went well and that 2017 brings you happiness and good health!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      I’m most confused about where he found it πŸ™‚ and cats aren’t better at all to be honest πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Albin’s fine this morning so now I hope that all those things that are healthy in garlic kicks in and keep diseases away πŸ™‚

      Same here, now it will be work days only until Easter comes. Albin seems to finally have a routine that fits the rest of us πŸ™‚ I’m just waiting for the days to be longer again so I can see more daylight and stop being this tired all the time. I am very lucky to have good neighbors too!

      I slept through the last of 2016 and way in to 2017 πŸ™‚

      Have a good continuing of the new year!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. Christer,
    Dogs do seem to find what they shouldn’t. Every now and then Gracie is chewing something so I have to hunt down what she found.

    I know about onions and raisins and the other bad stuff so I am careful to protect Miss Gracie as she would eat whatever she finds. Albin was quite clever getting that jar opened.

    We had rain again today, and I am so tired of having no sun. The only good part is the day was fairly warm. This time of year I expect 30’s but we are getting 40’s instead.

    The dogs do have a lot of fun playing around with each other. I sometimes think about two dogs, but I won’t get another with such an old cat and Miss Gracie being 12. Boxers are expensive dogs so I’d have to save up to get two puppies. They are usually $1500 or more.

    I hope you get sun!!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      Albin seems to have a gift of finding things he shouldn’t πŸ™‚

      I think it can be very individual what dogs can and can’t eat, Orvar ate chocolate and tooth paste but never got sick at all but he did have a very nice breath:-)

      Rainy here today and tomorrow thye snow will fall, I’m not happy about that at all. The next few days will be nasty cold and then it’ll be warmish again.

      I’ve always thought two dogs is the best way, they usually have lots of fun together. Three can be problematic if two prefers to play with each other and the third becomes alone. Four is also really good but then it starts to cost a bit too much πŸ™‚ Well at least if one have four 100 pond dogs πŸ™‚ Boxers are really expensive here too, they cost more or less the same here if not a bit more.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

