Grey and dull.

It did look as if we would see trhe sune for at least a while today but the clouds soon closed those gaps.
It did look as if we would see the sun for at least a while today but the clouds soon closed those gaps.

I have stayed at home today and will do the same tomorrow. Turns out we were much faster with the maintenance work than we thought we would be. So since everyone else in my department were going to take today and tomorrow off there really was no use in me going to work either 🙂 I don’t mind it at all to be honest 🙂

 

dsc_0026-17

dsc_0028-15

dsc_0031-12

dsc_0033-15

The weather has been so, so. Not bad to be honest but grey and dull. I guess the wind has blown a bit but I didn’t feel it, I just heard it. It has been fairly warm as well and will stay so until after new years eve. I don’t mind that either even though I actually like frosty mornings if I don’t have to go to work so I therefore must scrape ice from the car windows.

 

It looks as if we are much closer to the road than we actually were. I think that at least five football fields would fit in between the road and us.
It looks as if we are much closer to the road than we actually were. I think that at least five football fields would fit in between the road and us.

dsc_0039-15

dsc_0040-10

dsc_0043-12

I think a mouse must have died somewhere in the walls around the kitchen. It smells anything but nice and at first I thought the dogs or cats must have done something but I have checked everywhere and scrubbed the floors twice, with chlorine in the water. If that doesn’t remove a smell nothing does 🙂 So I’m pretty sure it must be a dead mouse somewhere. I can only hope the smell will disappear soon because it isn’t nice at all 🙂

 

dsc_0044-13

dsc_0046-10

dsc_0047-9

dsc_0048-9

I’ve just made a pot of tea, I’m so tired today that I don’t think any amount of tea will be able to keep me awake tonight 🙂

Have a good continuing of Christmas!

 

Four photographs from the Contessa.
Four photographs from the Contessa.

a20112_020a

a20112_021a

a20112_025a

8 thoughts on “Grey and dull.

  1. Hi Christer! A welcome bonus staying home from work!! 🙂 I didn’t win the lottery last night so I guess I go back to work next week. I keep wishing to win but it never happens. Maybe one day….

    I wish we were having a mild winter. Well, the temps are decent (for now anyway) but still is not great out. And now we are being warned of another possible mini storm coming our way. This time its an Alberta clipper, the last one was a Colorado low. I wish these other provinces and states would stop sharing their weather 🙂 You never hear of anyone getting a Manitoba ripper…..or whatever it would be called. 🙂

    So we wait and see with shovels ready. This time off is going by way too quick and with a new puppy in the house sleep is not as it should be 🙂 I know its only a passing thing, but I wish it would hurry up and pass!!! I must say Karma and Hunter are keeping each other very good company. Tucker is slightly warming up to him too. Even as I type this he and Tucker are sleeping bum to head. Its quiet for now! 🙂

    Have a good rest of the day!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      I must say it was 🙂 A lottery winning is the hope I have of an early retirement 🙂 and as we say here, one live on the hope 🙂

      So far I’ve really liked this winter 🙂 but it can turn in a day since we live so close to the polar region here. We usually get the Russian snow storm or the german mega storm here but more likely they call it the Norwegian storm when it comes from west :-)I agree, they can keep their storms to themselves 🙂

      I have my shovel ready just outside the door. To be honest, I only have three meters to the gate so normally I just walk down the snow 🙂
      Puppies and sleep aren’t compatible 🙂 Right now however I think Albin has calmed down with waking up in the middle of the night and I do hope it stays that way 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Den första bilden på Albin var fantastiskt fin! Fast…det kanske inte är fotogrfens skicklighet, utan att Albin är så fin!?
    Igår var det ett fantastiskt väder här, så vi tog en liten tur med Santos vid Hus Fiskeläge vid Ronehamn – men det var MASSOR av folk ute och trava, så vi fick gå åt det svårframkomliga (på grund av vatten) hållet så det blev lite kort!
    KRAM
    Susie

    Like

    1. Hejsan Susie!

      Konstigt, jag skrev ett svar här igår men det verkar inte ens finnas kvar på adminsidan?? Ja, ja, bara till att skriva det igen 🙂

      Jo, det är nog bara Albins förtjänst 🙂

      Bara grått och trist här, om man inte är och jobbar förstås, då kan det vara hur fantastiskt som helst :-)Jag får väl vara glad att åtminstone hundarna kan vere ute i gott väder om de så vill 🙂

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Hi Christer,
    There’s a lot to be said for being super efficient. Especially when it gets you two days vacation that you weren’t counting on having. I liked it when we did all our work so fast that the managers offered us “liberal leave” and we could go home, if we wanted to.

    Something died in my mudroom. It’s cold out there as the room is not heated. But I did get a whiff of death the other day. The odor is faint so the corpse is probably in the crawl space between the ceiling and the roof. I can’t smell it in the house so it’s okay. I hope it is the rotten red spawn of Satan but I’ll bet it isn’t. That would be too convenient.

    The weather here is much the same as yours. Grey and dull. A heavy rain storm is on the way. It might mix with snow towards the end but only for a short while. So they say. It’s right around freezing at the moment so who knows?

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      We could have been super effective but it could also be that they just are bad in estimaing how long it actually would take 🙂 They didn’t do all I thought they would though so they must have known that we would finish early.

      I hope that what ever it is that has died is very small 🙂 The smell is less bad today so I hope it’ll be gone by next week. I even moved my fridge to see if anything had died beneath it 🙂

      No rain here until Sunday morning and the temperature will drop below 32F for a few days after that they say.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. Christer,
    It is always great to have a surprise day off from work. I felt the way about snow days though we had to make them up at the end of the school year. It was just the idea of turning over and going back to sleep.

    I have mice upstairs, and I want to have a heart trap them as I couldn’t take the smell of one dying. That happened in my cellar, and it was gross.

    Tonight is going to be quite cold. I’m fine with that as I’m going nowhere.

    Have a wonderful day!!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      Yes it is 🙂 Going back to sleep is hard though since I am a morning person but just the fact that I don’t have to do anything is a good feeling 🙂

      The smell is rather awful but it has already started to diminish. I do have a have a heart trap but this mouse would have been hard to trap since it died in the wall 🙂

      Still warm here but that will change next week.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

