The ham is done.

dsc_0021-12

I started this most important day of Christmas with putting the ham in the oven, I never came around to do that yesterday. I didn’t use the fire stove even if I normally would so so but it is just too warm outside today to use it. I don’t know why because I sure had plenty of time to do it πŸ™‚ The ham is now for the second time in the oven to be breaded with egg, honey, mustard and breadcrumbs. Today Jultomten (the Yule gnome, our Santa) visit all the children handing out all the presents. I was terrified when he came so it was a huge relief the day I understood he wasn’t real but someone else just played him on Christmas eve.

 

dsc_0025-12

dsc_0026-14

dsc_0024-14

dsc_0027-12

The second thing I did was to open the package I got from Joyce πŸ™‚ This year it had travelled over the ocean without anything being broken. I was very happy to see that Joyce remembered how much I like to go through those newspapers she usually place around the box to protect it from rough handling. This year it was bubble plastic that took care of that job but she had placed some newspapers at the bottom of the package πŸ™‚ It is not so much the big news I like to read, it is those articles that show every day life that are interesting. Thank You once again Joyce!

 

The Package!
The Package!
I'm pretty sure theb decoration on these pot holders are Ramps.
I’m pretty sure the decoration on these pot holders are Ramps.
This one is so beautiful, it now hangs by my window.
This one is so beautiful, it now hangs by my window.
Lots of candy :-) and can You see that big container with Maple syrup :-) I'll have a few pancakes tomorrow :-)
Lots of candy πŸ™‚ and can You see that big container with Maple syrup πŸ™‚ I’ll have a few pancakes tomorrow πŸ™‚
I need  bigger tree next year so I can put that beautiful black dog ornament in my tree. It now stand on my linnen cabinette safe from any animal :-) Those booklets in the back are really interesting! I've just started with one called Popular Home Remedies and Superstitions of the Pennsylvania Germans. In that round box I found somethiong I'm not sure what to call Lots ofsmall mirrors attatched to a string and when hanging it in the sun it will sparkling a lot.
I need bigger tree next year so I can put that beautiful black dog ornament in my tree. It now stand on my linen cabinet safe from any animal πŸ™‚ Those booklets in the back are really interesting! I’ve just started with one called Popular Home Remedies and Superstitions of the Pennsylvania Germans. In that round box I found something I’m not sure what to call Lots of small mirrors attached to a string and when hanging it in the sun it will sparkling a lot.

We had quite nice weather here this morning and as soon as the sun was about to rise we went out for a long walk. The sun never really came out of the clouds but most of the clouds were tin enough to let the light through without too much struggle. I had dressed for strong winds when we went out on the fields but it was absolutely calm so instead I felt like I was boiling underneath that jacket and thick sweater πŸ™‚ The second time we went out today I skipped the sweater and naturally it would have been a good thing to wear πŸ™‚

 

That cone of shame really doesn't stop him from having lots of fun :-)
That cone of shame really doesn’t stop him from having lots of fun πŸ™‚

dsc_0032-12

dsc_0034-12

dsc_0035-14

dsc_0036-10

The wind had started to blow really hard and half way out to the bog the rain started to fall, well pour actually and suddenly Albin refused to go anywhere πŸ™‚ He just sat down by a big spruce and looked at us πŸ™‚ We did finally make him move so we could go home. The fun thing is that as soon as we had come home and I had closed the door he immediately wanted to go outside again πŸ™‚ TheΒ weather wasn’t any different but he was still outside for over ten minutes πŸ™‚ Right now he hit the bells and I went to open the door and as soon as it was open he ran in to the livingroom instead πŸ™‚ Right now he’s complaining about something but I’m not sure what it is, could be that he want’s a slice of that ham but it could also be because he’s bored πŸ™‚

 

dsc_0039-13

dsc_0041-12

dsc_0042-9

dsc_0043-10

The ham is ready and now it’s only an hour before they show Donald Duck and his friends again. It is more or less the exact same program they have shown for over years now but we still sit down and watch it every Christmas πŸ™‚ I better stop now because I still have a few sausages and meatballs to cook before I can sit down and watch Donald πŸ™‚

 

dsc_0044-11

dsc_0046-9

dsc_0047-7

dsc_0048-8

Have a Very Merry Christmas or as we say here a Good Yule!

14 thoughts on “The ham is done.

  1. Hi Christer,
    The Wow Trees are looking a bit odd but lovely in the sunrise.

    Joyce’s boxes are so much fun to see photos of. As I said before, it’s almost as much fun as getting a Joyce Box. The shiny mirror thing is probably a Suncatcher. You hang it the window where it can catch the light and reflect it around the room. Years ago we used to make them out of discarded CD’s.
    That’s a lovely piece of Wheat Weaving, too. I like to see what edible treats she included. She finds the most interesting stuff. Like Mushroom Popcorn. I’m not sure about that one but I’d eat it. πŸ™‚

    Albin has gotten much bigger. It looks like he is almost as big as the other two. When does the cone come off? He looks like a mobile radar unit. πŸ˜€

    The weather here is dull and damp with a light breeze. The dampness and the breeze make it feel colder than it is. It sinks in better, for some reason.

    Time to get out the door and do my last minute errands for tomorrow.
    Enjoy the ham and sausages and Donald Duck.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      They do and I guess that’s because I stand too close to them but it could be the fact that we actually have sunshine for once πŸ™‚

      Yes Suncatcher! I just couldn’t get it out from my head πŸ™‚ Thank You πŸ™‚ I’ll hang it by the kitchen door, they say reflections scare flies away and it is worth trying with this one πŸ™‚

      That wheat weaving is so beautiful! I got a smaller one last year and everyone that has seen it likes it a lot so this one will be just as liked! The flavors on the hard candy is hard to get here unless one can find some old time candy. My favorite is sassafras and I just found out that the plant sassafras actually is slightly toxic πŸ™‚ Well people all around the world have survived this far so I’m not the least worried πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I am looking forward to that popcorn! I am especially happy that it says no GMO on the package since I know that no matter how science hostile the Amish might be they don’t hesitate for a second to grow GMO πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ We are very, very sceptical towards gmo here in Europe and even more so here in Sweden.

      He has and he is as high as Sune now. Doesn’t weigh enough yet though, I have had problems to get him to gain weight now when he only eats rice and chicken. I was supposed to remove the stitches and the cone tomorrow but I figured that since we are not going anywhere tonight I might as well do it today. He had already removed at least one, perhaps two stitches himself anyway πŸ™‚
      Albin isn’t flexible at all but that he managed to do anyway πŸ™‚ I think he actually used the cone as a radar πŸ™‚ He heard things none of us could πŸ™‚

      I can hear the wind but like always the neighbors cottage and garage take all the wind πŸ™‚

      The ham came out perfect πŸ™‚ and Donald Duck is always great no matter how crappy that show actually is πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer! Good Yule to you! What a lovely gift you received! We are bracing for our winter storm/blizzard tomorrow. I went and bought a fresh turkey in case we cannot travel out of town. Today everyone is coming to ours for dinner. We order Chinese food every year. The kids are all excited! Both young and old I should say πŸ™‚

    Have a good evening and hope your ham was delicious!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      I always look forward to that package πŸ™‚
      We did actually get some snow yesterday evening but I think it all melted away as soon as it hit the ground. Can’t say I’m sorry about it melting πŸ™‚

      I would love Cinese food as christmas dinner! Too bad the nearest restaurant is sop far away.

      The ham turned out quite delicious πŸ™‚

      Have a Happy Christmas!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. God jul och gott nytt Γ₯r, Christer!
    Like you we celebrate on Christmas Eve and Santa or the Christchild were already here and brought some nice gifts and cookies. No snow yet.
    Enjoy your ham and holidays and thanks for your blog and great pictures and also Albin adventures, it’s nice to see him grow up. Your new old VoigtlΓ€nder looks interesting and I’m looking forward to see some photos.
    Also thanks for flying Swedish swans on my computer desktop πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Hi Birgit!

      Do You know why we celebrate the 24th but the rest of the world the 25th? I have absolutely no idea πŸ™‚
      We did get some snow yesterday bt thankfully it all melted away as soon as it hit the ground. The night was cold so there might be some remnants of it in the forest. I really don’t want any more to fall though πŸ™‚

      I have already taken several photos with the VoigtlΓ€nder and the times seems to be right. The rangefinder however leaves a lot to wish for πŸ™‚ It does work as it is supposed to but it’s so hard to see that little odd colored dot so I’m never quite sure I’ve managed to focus properly πŸ™‚

      I’m glad the flying swans found a home on Your desktop πŸ™‚

      I tend top forget that all of You also see how Albin grows πŸ™‚ Perhaps You see it better than I do because in my eyes he’s still a tiny puppy πŸ™‚

      Have a good continuing of Christmas!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. No idea, perhaps Jultomten wants to celebrate Christmas Day with his friends and family and the Christchild doesn’t want to work on his birthday πŸ˜‰
        Please send ‘vertical snow’ southwards, I miss this white stuff.

        Like

  4. hi christer! i’ve been so busy that i didn’t even notice that your posts were not showing up on my sidebar. now i must figure out why? glad you like your box. i fit in as much as i could. i painted that box and the mirror chain is one of the ones i make to hang in my garden. when the sun hits it, it looks like fairies are dancing! and yes, those potholders do have ramps on them! i’m so glad the ornament didn’t break! joyce

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      I have huge problems to comment on Blogger blogs now so it can be a related problem.

      I love these packages πŸ™‚
      So it is You who painted it! It is beautiful! I’ll hang the morror chain so the sun hits it almost all day on the south side of the cottage.

      They had handeled the package nicer than last year thankfully, otherwise I’m pretty sure the black dog had been broken. I will get a bigger tree next year so I can hang real ornaments in it.

      Have a good continuing of Christmas πŸ™‚

      Christer.

      Like

  5. Hi Christer, the ham sounded like it would be delicious aftr reading about the toppings you included. It is always fun thisntime of year to see what’s in the package from Joyce! She does include some unusual and fun items, plus those treats you enjoy!
    I really liked the second photo of the sunrise. It was beautiful. Sorry that you have problems commenting on blogs that are on Blogger as we do miss reading your comments on our posts there. We have been thinking about starting a new blog on WordPress, and still keeping the Frog and Penguinn on blogger. Inwill be sure to let you know if we make any changes.
    This comment is being made after Christmas and hope yours was a good one & best wishes for a happy New Year too.

    Like

    1. Hi Beatrice!

      It’s a traditional topping and it does go well with the brined ham.

      She sure does and the black dog ornament demands me to buy a bigger tree next year so I can use it!

      Yes I have tried to comment in Your blog lately but I have problems with many Blogger blog but not all?! WordPress usually works fine for all of us but especially good for me who puts in lots pf photos. I’ve only had problems with that once since I moved here. Takes some time to get used to though πŸ™‚

      I can’t complain about my christmas, it was more or less just like I wanted it, the only thing that I didn’t like was how many crappy programs they showed on tv πŸ™‚ The only channel that actually showed christmas movies is the one where I don’t have any sound πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a good continuing of Christmas!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

