Only one more thing and then christmas can come :-)

dsc_0020-13

We slept all night once again, I do hope the pattern of Albin waking us up in the middle of the night is broken now. It had been a bit chilly during the night, I could see how the ground was covered in a thin layer of frost and the front window of my car was covered in ice.

 

There grows almost only deciduous trees in Forentorp, just like it did here in this village several hundred years ago. Spruces aren't natural this far south in Sweden but since they grow rather well here they are planted everywhere. Too bad because they can't take a storm to be honest. We wouldn't have so much forest damages if when storms pass by if they hadn't planted spruces everywhere.
It grows almost only deciduous trees in Forentorp, just like it did here in this village several hundred years ago. Spruces aren’t natural this far south in Sweden but since they grow rather well here they are planted everywhere. Too bad because they can’t take a storm to be honest. We wouldn’t have so much forest damages if when storms pass by if they hadn’t planted spruces everywhere.

dsc_0022-13

dsc_0023-12

dsc_0024-13

It still hadn’t melted away when I was about to drive in to Falköping. I had two things to do this morning. The first thing was to buy some fire log packages. They say a storm will hit tomorrow, only the gusts will be strong here though but then again it is the gusts that destroys most when it comes to storms. I thought it best to have some packages here at home just in case the power would break down.

 

dsc_0029-13

dsc_0031-10

dsc_0032-11

dsc_0034-11

The next stop was at the grocery store in Gudhem. I had written down what I needed but as soon as I came home I realised that I wanted more things than I had bought 🙂 I can go there on Christmas day instead if I feel I still want it 🙂 I drove to Forentorp ängar (Forentorp meadows) after that so the dogs would get a nice walk. Unfortunately the parking lot is placed just beside the big road and it is way too easy for a crook to stop and take what ever they want out of the cars that is parked there so I really couldn’t relax but the dogs liked walking there 🙂

 

dsc_0036-9

dsc_0039-12

dsc_0041-11

dsc_0042-8

All I need to do now is perhaps some laundry but after that christmas can come 🙂

Have a great day!

4 thoughts on “Only one more thing and then christmas can come :-)

  1. Hi Christer! I too have a list as long as my arm! And it all starts when I get home from work tonight!!! 🙂

    I know what you mean – this time of year its not good to leave any packages in your car, even if they are not gifts. A crook would take anything just to take it. Very sad indeed.

    Hunter has started waking up a few times during the night now. I knew it was too good to last!! I know when we got Karma it was a few good months before she slept right through. We even are stopping his water intake a couple hours before bed to see if that makes a difference. Nope!! Not one bit 🙂

    Well, our professionals are still predicting a Christmas storm. So we now just wait and see. I am making up a Plan B just in case. So now I have to go to the store to get something for Christmas dinner otherwise it will be soup and toast! 🙂

    I will likely be in and out over the next few days but wish you all the best of the holiday season and will catch up once this crazy rush dies down!!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      My list wasn’t that big to be honest 🙂 I had already bought most of what I think I’ll need during christmas. Still out and shop I had to go 🙂

      It’s never good to leave any packages in the car if one is away for more than a few minutes. The only good thing this time of year is that all people are so stressed now that even thiefs would have problems taking the time to rob a car 🙂 🙂

      Albin slept all night for quite some time and then when he suddenly became allergic to most food he started to wake up at night. I do hope that pattern is broken now. I’ve been so tired at work since that started 🙂 Still it is better that he wakes me up than that I have to clean it up from the floors 🙂 I tried that taking away the water with my first dog and like You I realised it doesn’t help at all 🙂

      I can hear the wind roar outside now but don’t feel it at all if I open the door, I do like it when storms comes from the right directions 🙂 I do hope You won’t get any snow but it’s a good thing You’re preparing for the worst. Better to be prepared and not have to stay at home than the opposite.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer,
    I have a few final things to do today. I’ve got to go to the grocery store, a local sushi restaurant, the post office and Walgreen’s which is a pharmacy which sells everything else, too. In olden days, they would have called it a General Store. After that, I’m done.

    Today is sunny and relatively warm though the snow hasn’t completely melted in some places. Rocky still has a biggish pile upon which to stand when he poops. I don’t know why he prefers to do that on the snow but he always has ever since his first winter here. In the spring he desperately searches for the last patches of snow.

    Here’s to Albin sleeping through the night.

    I love the fourth photo with the glowing tree trunk. It looks like a fantastic monster but not a bad one. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      Just a few years ago, not more than five, pharmacies only sold medicine here because it was a state monopoly. Then they stopped the monopoly and prices flew high up in the sky and suddenly one could buy candy in the pharmacy, very odd for us Swedes. Back then we knew we would get our medicine, now we might have to wait a week or so to get it and for a price that is much higher than it used to be. We don’t like it!

      The wind has started to roar now, a nice sound when the wind doesn’t hit the cottage 🙂 Cold snow spread scents less good so that could be a reason but since he does it on top of a pile I guess he wants the smell to spread far. He sort of gives mixed signals 🙂

      I do hope Albin continues that way 🙂

      I do like that photo but as soon as I saw that tree I came to think of Snow White (Disney version) when she was running in the forest and the btrees tried to stop her 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

