Folklore.

I'll start today with some foggy photos since I feel those go better with folklore stories :-)
I’ll start today with some foggy photos since I feel those go better with folklore stories 🙂

Skråen dances with the Easter hags at Ränneshögen.

One should keep away from the easter fire because the evil one is there too. There were a few here in Hornborga who fired up an easter fire by the Rännehöjden (a place nearby). And they drank there and behaved badly and when there was almost nothing there to burn they started to leave and when they were about to separate they looked back towards Rännehöjden. Then they saw how the fire started to burn as it was as best before. Then they saw how Skråen (the devil) danced around the fire with the Easter hags.

This was told and written down 1901 if I understand things right.

 

dsc_0040-4

dsc_0043-7

dsc_0046-6

 

The man who was supposed to do as the Easter hag.

An Easter hag came to a man to borrow house (I think this means she wanted to sleep in his house during that night) and he allowed her to. The hag however never went to bed. The man in the house stayed awake to see what the hag was about to do. After a while the hag asked him:

When he slept as best?

When my eyes are as most open, he told her.

Then she put her things to order placed herself over the broom and said:

Here and up, here and out all the way to hells corner (well she used another word that means the corner of a house)  and out the chimney she went.

The man was supposed to do the same but he said:

Here up and here down

and all he did was to go up the chimney and then down again.

Told and written down 1906.

dsc_0023-8

dsc_0047-5

dsc_0051-5  

The Lady of the lake in Hornborgarsjön.

The Sjöfrua (a lake nymph that I translated to Lady of the Lake here) often came to the fishermen who stayed at Almeö ( a peninsula by the lake) during nights. And she was so beautiful and beautifully clothed too but when she turned around she was hollow as a kneading trough. And she offered them both food and drinks but they never dared to take anything.

A soldier called Sätterbärj  and who knew more than the others was a good friend of her. One night when some of the men were out fishing with blus (which I think is a torch) he came to them and they had catched much fish there before.

Keep away from this place, one of the men told Sätterbärj. But he didn’t go because it was a good place to fish.

Go away or else…..

He then left but told the men:

You won’t get a fish if You so sit here all night.

After that they didn’t catch a fish. Then they saw Bjällekona (I’m actually not quite sure what that is but I’m guessing it is another name for the Lady of the Lake or perhaps more likely her cattle that sometimes comes up from the water to grace on land. They are striped like a tiger or zebra and if one should catch an unusually big pike it is advised to put it back because it is most likely one of her cattle) and then they understood  it was best to go home again.

Written down and told 1901.

 

dsc_0060-2

dsc_0061-2

dsc_0067-2

I know that two of these folklore stories are about Easter but I wanted to write them down here now anyway. It was actually harder to translate it from old Swedish to new Swedish than it was to translate it from Swedish to English 🙂 A good friend gave these stories to me and while trying to figure out what a Bjellekona is I found a lot of old folklore from this area, I’ll write some of it down here later on.

 

dsc_0022-12

dsc_0023-11

dsc_0024-12

dsc_0025-10

I had a clear blue sky above me when we went out for our morning walk but thick big clouds had placed themselves just where the sun was about to rise above the horizon. I don’t know how they managed to do it but they kept on covering the sun (but nothing else) until we were almost home again 🙂 Today the sun rose at 8:53 am and it will go down at 3:17 pm. Tomorrow it will stay up for a whole minute longer 🙂 Finally it has turned and if spring just could come three months early I wouldn’t complain at all 🙂

 

dsc_0032-10

dsc_0034-10

dsc_0035-12

Finally the sun started to shine through the clouds.
Finally the sun started to shine through the clouds.

It’s time to have a pot of tea and after that I think I’ll do some cleaning of the floors. I think it will be enough with a brush and perhaps I’ll scrub them too.

 

dsc_0039-11

dsc_0041-10

Yes I can hear You but I really don't give a crap.
Yes I can hear You but I really don’t give a crap.

dsc_0045-7

Have a great day!

6 thoughts on “Folklore.

  1. Hi Christer,
    More daylight and spring three months early. What a Christmas wish list. 🙂

    Those stories sound a lot like many other folk stories that were written down in the early 19th century. When I read them, I always feel like the ethnologists who collected them missed a huge piece of information that was left out of the telling and which would answer the big question: WHY? 🙂

    Some years ago, I read an abridged version of Sir James George Frazer’s book The Golden Bough. He collected hundreds and hundreds of myths, religious traditions, folk stories and folk traditions from all over Western Europe. The purpose of this exercise (which was published in 12 volumes!) was to prove the existence of a sacrificial priest in the Grove of Diana at Nemi, Italy and then to use that story to show how man moves from magical thinking, through religious thinking to scientific thinking. I would recommend reading the abridged version as 12 volumes is a bit much. (How many versions of the same fertility rite performed in the fields before planting does one need?) It’s a fascinating read, though not a light one, but it will take you on a wonderful journey through human thought and belief.

    I have grey, leaden, damp skies today. The clouds do not have to exercise any power at all to cover the sun. Even the dogs don’t want to go outside.
    I just now looked out the window and see that it is snowing. Wet, rainy snow, of course. :/

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      One can always hope 🙂

      I guess they are thje same stories, just changed slightly to fit in at the area where they are told. I guess those stories were ways to explain why things happened since they didn’t have any other explanations and some were most certainly created to scare people from doing wrong. One should for instance never leave a fire that isn’t totally dead.

      I’ll see if I can find that abridged version, I love reading but twelve volumes are a bit much for me too 🙂 🙂 I do like these old stories a lot but it must have been terrifying living back in the days when this was reality for most people. One can still find old coins beneath thresholds in old houses so the trolls wouldn’t be able to get in to the homes. I wouldn’t be surprised if there is in this cottage since it was built 1911.

      We had a rathger nice day here but now I can hear the wind outside. Windy weather will pass here during christmas, I hope we won’t remember it as the big christmas storm in the future 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. When a friend redid her 200 year old house and barn, her workmen found old liquor bottles in the walls and and old cast iron farm tool that my horse pulled off the wall and broke. She thought she had hung it far enough away from his stall but he had a very long neck.
        All I’ve found in my walls so far was folded up copies of the 1919 Boston Herald Traveler newspaper. They used folded up newspapers as insulation. That was new part of the house, too. But I’m sure the mice are really, really grateful. 😀

        Like

      2. Animals reach things no matter how far away they might be 🙂 🙂

        I have found old newspapers too when I renovated the kitchen in my previous home, this one was however totally renovated in the late 80’s so I’m not sure how much they left, most likely they did leave something like a small coin or even a knife it it was made from steel. Superstitions sit hard in peoples minds 🙂

        Like

  2. Hi Christer! Fantastic stories! I love hearing folklore from other countries! 🙂

    Well. We are to be had a Christmas snow storm apparently. Now this might miss us totally but they are telling us to brace ourselves. A bit too early to tell, but would that not be the icing on the cake? We are to go to my brother’s for the Christmas feast and if we cannot, I have nothing really to cook for dinner if we stay in the city. Guess I’d best get something for the freezer just in case!

    Oh look at Albin with his cone! 🙂 🙂 🙂 In a few months time Hunter will likely need a cone too once he goes for his “tutoring” 🙂

    Off to do some work as I have just finished lunch. Have a good evening!!!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      Folklore is always interesting!

      The predictions still sy nasty gusts here and the wind has started to blow a bit harder already. Western winds though so I won’t be bothered by them but my neighbors will 🙂 No snow here though but I did buy fire logs just in case it gets worse than predicted.
      Always a good thing to have something in the freezer, if nothing else I can always have some of Albin’s chicken, plenty of that in my freezer 🙂

      I hope Hunter will get those “inside” stitches that isn’t necessary to remove, the body will take care of that.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

