Some disturbing news.

dsc_0052-2

I’ve just started a fire in the stove and for once I didn’t get a back draft. Normally I fill the entire cottage with smoke and the fire alarm signals like crazy 🙂 but as I say, there can’t be a living bedbug or other pest in the cottage after that 🙂 I have two different kinds of fire logs at home. I bought one kind at the chimney sweepers office and I bought one kind in the supermarket on my way home today.

 

dsc_0021-3

dsc_0022-5
It almost looks like the bushes are covered in frost but it is actually tiny hairs shining in the sun.

dsc_0024-4

They have a new kind in the super market so it will be interesting to see how different it burns compared to the old one. The old one was more or less sawdust compressed to a cube, the new one is more like small woodchips compressed to a similar cube. The good thing with the old ones were that they started to burn easily, the bad thing was that there never was any bed of embers after them. The one I bought from the chimney sweeper is most likely hard to set on fire but leaves a good bed of embers so I can grill a few sausages over it if I so wish 🙂 The embers did also give away lots of heat for quite some time which is a good thing.

 

dsc_0028-5

dsc_0029-4

dsc_0030-2

I can now tell You that the new kind started to burn very easily too so I guess no embers are to be expected. At the moment I don’t care about embers, I’m just happy that I finally can use my stove again 🙂 It didn’t take more than five minutes for the heat to spread from the stove to the other side of the kitchen where I sit right now and I’m enjoying it to the fullest 🙂 Albin is a bit curious about the stove, it has never before i his life been warm there 🙂 By the way, I’ve gotten a bit of worrying info about where he comes from. It seems that even if the breeder only have one female and one male dog they keep pushing out puppies from them, more or less like a puppy mill.

 

dsc_0026-5

dsc_0032-5

dsc_0033-5

It also seems that they know one of their dogs might carry a disease called Ataxia. It gives the dog problems with the balance and the legs can start to move  uncontrollably. There is one early kind that shows already in the beginning, one that comes when the dog is six months to one year old and if I understood things right one that shows when the dog is three to five years old. If a dog gets it there’s no cure, it will only go downhill after the first symptoms show and most owners put their dogs to sleep within two years after it showed. Thankfully it seems that both parents need the defective gene if a dog will be able to get the disease so I’m not that worried. I know however that I from now on never will be able to relax and I will check how he’s walking constantly imagining that something is wrong.

 

dsc_0039-4

dsc_0042-1

dsc_0043-3

 

It has been warm and sunny again today but the clouds showed as soon as I left the supermarket on my way home after work. We did manage to get some sunshine when we were out walking though and now it looks like the sky is a bit hazy, I can see the moon but it is sort of dimmed. Bothe the Swedish and Norwegian weather sites promise fog tomorrow. Sun would have been nice but since it will be cloudy anyway the rest of the day (and rainy too) I’m more than happy if we’ll get fog. There was still ice on the ground today even if we’ve had days up to 10C (50F) so we might be able to walk out on the bog tomorrow if we’re lucky.

 

dsc_0034-5

dsc_0046-2

dsc_0048-3

It is time to get something to eat. I would like a cup of tea but even if it is Saturday tomorrow and I can sleep for as long as I wish, which I won’t since I always wake up at around 5am, I still want to be able to fall asleep tonight 🙂 X Files is on tonight and I have bought two dvd’s today. One is The secret life of pets and the other one is Star Treck Beyond.

 

Three photographs taken with the Balda.
Three photographs taken with the Balda.

a20114_011

a20114_013

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “Some disturbing news.

  1. Hi Christer,
    That is disturbing news. From what I understand, if a dog has one copy of the defective gene, it will not get the disease but, statistically, 50% of its offspring will. If these people are cranking out puppies irresponsibly, that’s a lot of dogs with shortened lives and a lot of heartbroken owners. Shame on them. They should be reported to the humane society and the breed registry, if there is one.
    Antagene, a lab in France, has a commercial DNA test for cerebellar ataxia in AmStaffs and American Pit Bull Terriers. That’s the form which shows up between ages 3 and 5 years. They might have an agent acting for them in Sweden and you can google it or your veterinarian might even know. I don’t know how expensive it would be. The test takes 3 to 4 weeks to get results.

    If you want embers, you could throw a few wood chips on to the fire logs. They sell wood chips on the internet for people who like to smoke food on their grills but who don’t want to go outside and make their own chips. 🙂
    Life is so easy nowadays, right? 😉

    Today is bright, sunny, windy and really cold. The front porch is vey warm so the door is open to let the heat in. 🙂 Rocky was out there sleeping in his sunny spot on the mat. Now they’re both curled up on the couch with me. We’re waiting for the grocery delivery. Yay, food. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      Yes both parents need that defective gene if the puppy will have a risk of getting the disease. The risk of both having it is little though but still these people must be stopped and they are now reported to the authorities. If one take that test it will be sent to France but since nothing can be done about it if he would have it I’ll not take it. He will also be neutered next Friday so there will be no risk that he will spread it if he has the gene. It is sad what people do for money!

      I was right, the kind of firelog I bought from the chimney sweeper leaves ember, so next week I’ll buy som sausages 🙂 I guess that if I wanted a special kind of smoke, like for instance from pecan tree I would buy it but it is so easy to make wood chips so why pay for something one can get for free 🙂 🙂

      I wish I had a porch, I wouldn’t mind if it was on the north side of the cottage, summer evenings when the sun would be shining in there would be so nice 🙂 Well I have my stove and that’s quite nice too 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. Lots of people don’t live where they can make wood chips of any kind so they have to buy them. All I can make is maple and black walnut. I’m not sure that black walnut smoked things would be healthy eating. 🙂

        Like

  2. Hi Christer!! That is concerning news about the parents. Is there a way you can report this to some animal services so they can check? We hear about puppy mills from time to time on our news. So sad. So incredibly sad. That poor mama dog. I hope Albin will not develop ataxia. People can get that too. Wonder if there is some sort of pill they can take?

    Your last photos look like our city currently. We got 30 mm of snow in our city, the surrounding areas got more. Lots and lots of snow. Now we are bitter cold 🙂 Of course we are!! Tomorrow night we are to go to -30 with a wind chill making it colder than that. So typical. A week ago we were +2. Sheesh.

    I am going to try and finish everything this weekend from shopping to wrapping. Baking is next weekend. I had ordered some stuff online and it is way overdue for arrival. I got mad at them when I sent an email enquiring and they told me to just wait until December 18th and then enquire again. That’s when I really got mad!! I told them its gifts for Christmas and how can I wait until a week before!!!! I then received another email saying they are shipping out the same item at expedited shipping. I will not comment further until I receive said item 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Hope your evening goes well and enjoy the X Files!!!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      It is already reported to the authorities and I do hope they’ll do something about it. These people only have these two dogs so I couldn’t understand that they just pushed out puppies from the poor dog just tio make money. Puppie mills in my eyes are places with loads of dogs in crates. The risk of Albin getting it is small but one never knows. If he would get it there’s nothing one can do about it, it is the end.

      I’m so glad we don’t have any snow here 🙂 We will however get rain instead and today on the news trhey said we’ll most likely get fog all over southern Sweden 🙂 on Sunday as well 🙂 -30 isn’t nice! Well it can be if the sun shines, the trees are covered in thick rime and that there is no wind at all blowing. We used to have it like that here when I moved here 16 years ago, very rare now days.

      Sometimes I wonder how they think in some businesses! If it already is very late why on earth should one wait another week to see if one gets it?? I’m glad they You made them change their mind and I do hope the things comes soon! I’m holding my thumb for good luck!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Har aldrig hört talas om Ataxia, men det finns så mycket skit som kan drabba både människor och djur som man inte vet om – innan! Fruktansvärt dock om det skulle hända!! 😦 😦 😦
    Det låter jättebra att “veden” du köpt fungerar bra, så nu ska det väl inte göra dig något om vintern slog till ordentligt. Men det får vi verkligen inte hoppas, det är så otroligt varmt och skönt just nu. Igår var vi en till sudret (längst söderut) och tog en prommis bland raukarna med vår gäst från fastlandet. Det var strålande sol och +9 grader så både Santos och vi var riktigt nöjda!
    KRAM – Susie

    Like

    1. Hejsan Susie!

      Risken är ju liten att bägge föräldrarna skulle bära på den defekta genen men inte kan jag slappna av nu. Skönt att de blivit anmälda och hoppas nu att de inte får fortsätta med valpuppfödning.

      Jag hoppas ju också på en mild vinter även om det skulle innebära mer fästingar nästa år. Fast det var ju så torrt i år att det inte var så många i somras som jag trodde det skulle vara. Men bara det att jag kan elda igen är ju trevligt 🙂 Dimmigt och varmt här nu på morgonen, kunde inte annat än njuta 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      Like

  4. Christer,
    Two of my boxers died when they were 8. The average life for a boxer is 8 to 10. When Gracie turned 8, I watched her all the time. She got through that year so every year is a plus.

    Boxers are prone to cardiomyopathy . Some breeders are working with vet cardiologists to monitor their dogs. The breeder from whom I got Gracie had both parents, but she is a licensed breeder so she is cautious with her dogs. She had given both her dogs all the heart tests, and they were fine.

    I like the pictures from the other camera. They give the world a wonderful look.

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      There are some dog breeds that have something that kill them early in life. Bernese Mountaindog for instance usually dies at the age of 7-8 because of cancer. I do hope it Sune doesn’t have that in his body, I’m counting on him becoming a grumpy old spaniel mix 🙂

      These breeders seems to be anythig but good, I wouldn’t trade Albin for anything but if I had realised what they were doing I wouldn’t have bought him. I wouldn’t have said anything if they hadn’t known that one of the parents most likely is a carrier of this disease but they do this anyway!

      I do like that camera!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

